We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience 2nd visit in 5 years”
Review of Divine Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Divine Resort
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Rishikesh
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great experience 2nd visit in 5 years”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

I last stayed here 5 years ago and have now just spent two weeks here, it is a great location with wonderful Ganga views, the staff are all very friendly and helpful, i stayed in the original section of the hotel room 305, which is a corner room with great views in both directions the tariff in this part of the hotel is around A$50 to $60' the newer section is more luxury accommodation, all very modern, the original rooms though had comfortable beds, reverse cycle A/C, plenty of hot water for the shower. The restaurant has great Ganga views and does wonderful Indian food.
Yoga: the hotel has a yoga room overlooking the Ganga, they can organise personal yoga tuition with Mr Ram Gupta, Ram is a very experienced yoga master, with excellent english, Ram is also a Naturopathic physician I would highly recommend him for some intensive personal training, Ram is suited to a beginner or more advanced student, he will concentrate on your particular needs.
The hotel also has a coffee shop with western style cakes pastries where you can get an espresso,
I could more highly recommend staying here returning after 5 years the director Mr Raj Kumar made me feel like a family member returning home.

Room Tip: Ask for Ganga facing room, for a cheaper room i liked 305 it has great veiws and a swing on the balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    167
    49
    10
    28
See reviews for
175
85
36
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We were a family of 6 with an infant on this particular visit to Divine Resort. We had booked 1 executive room and 2 standard deluxe rooms. All the rooms were in the new building with a beautiful view of the river.

Room : Very comfortable room with a beautiful view. The room and the bathroom were very clean and well maintained. The A/C wasn't very effective in one of the rooms. Apart from that, it was good. I would rate the room 4.5/5.

Service : The gentleman who was at the check in counter was friendly and quick. Unfortunately I cant say the same about the gentleman who was checking us out. He was extremely unfriendly and had an attitude. The worst part about him was that he would treat the foreigners with a smile and would treat Indians differently. I noticed this in two different occasions. Once when I visited the reception to check if the internet was working and the second time it happened to this other Indian couple and I happened to overhear them saying the same exact thing. My rating 3/5.

Restaurant Service : Mr. Sandeep Bhatt and his team were fantastic. They were extremely helpful, pleasant and cordial. They even offered to look after my niece while we were eating. They packed a good breakfast for all of us as we were leaving early the next morning. Kudos to their team. This is what customer service is all about. I would rate it 5/5.

Food : Food was pretty good. It was made to suit our palette. It was a little pricey though. A lunch / dinner for the 6 of us came to about 4000 Rs. And considering it is a vegetarian restaurant with no alcohol, that was a little steep. Food rating 4/5.

Other services : We booked for a rafting trip through the hotels booking office. The guide Suman and the kayaker Ayodhya were fantastic. We had a great time. The booking process was also relatively simple and easy. Rating = 4.5/5

Overall : Great hotel, good service, awesome view. Would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: The executive rooms have a beautiful balcony. But rooms 604 and 605 have the same view without the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madmits2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We were 3 adults and 2 children travelling to Rishikesh for 3 days. This place was highly recommended and a booking was made in advance.

The website showed some beautiful rooms and the location was also supposed to be wonderful.

We were surprised when the rooms we were shown were no better than a cheap guesthouse. The furniture was old and peeling, the walls had lots of dampness and were peeling paint and the bathrooms were so bad that even the thought of using them was difficult. We were shown 3 rooms and each one was worse than the other. For 2,500 per night, the least expectation was of a clean room with decently modern amenities.

After an hour of argument and calls, the manager {Have forgotten his name, but he's a tall chap and wears a hat all the time} took us to another wing of the hotel. This was what was shown in the photos. It was new, it was clean and ultimately he showed us a Suite. He claimed it was for 12000 per night and we could have it if we wanted. Obviously from paying 5000 per night to 12000 per night was not feasible. He magnanimously gave us a discount and asked for 7500 per night. We decided to take the room since there wasn't much option at the time.

The room was a large room with a small offshoot room attached. There were two double beds, but only one bathroom. There was a large sofa and a table with chairs as well. While it was newly made, the finishing lacked quite a bit. It had a balcony which was nice and from where the sunset was nice to watch. See the Pic

The bathroom was small but had a full size glass wall, which was jokingly called a Ganga Darshan Snaan... so you could see the river while bathing...However, the hot water didn't work and every day we had to remind the reception to ensure hot water. The shower curtain rod fell down on our son while he was bathing and seemed broken, but just put there for show.

The balcony was nice. However in the day there were lots of Lemurs around so you couldn't sit there or leave the door open.

The food was nice. The buffet breakfast was nothing to write home about but lunch/dinner were nice. They did customise a bit for us. However, by Rishikesh standards it was expensive.

Location wise it was good. However being on a hill made it a little difficult to walk around too much.

Room Tip: Ensure you get a room in the NEW part of the hotel. This is the part which is below the level of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed in Divine Resort for 2 nights and it is not more then 3 stars Indian hotel. The rooms are very basic. The breakfast had very small selection. The staff were helpful and the view from the shower is wonderful where you can see the Ganga river. I must mention that in our room the shower were dripping water and not more we called for service and they could not help. (Our friends in another room said the shower were great.

Room Tip: if you can get the larger suites and make sure the shower works fine and food is not important you m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ori14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Lovely setting (if you get a river facing room, if not most rooms have access to the balconys) Based in the laxman jahula part up the hill its quiet and peacefull which after 2 days in delhi was perfect. Didnt have dinner in the hotel was too bust exploring but breakfast was ok. Nice views from the restaurant too. Helpfull staff and very welcoming manager.

Room Tip: Ask for river facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SolihullJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had been to this resort during November 2012, enjoyed our stay but there were some problems as no hot water was available 24 hrs. food was nice. the staff at Restarunt & Reception was helpfull & courtous.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunil59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Divine Resort was great at hospitality and entertainment, however the warm welcome we received, did not extend to the accommodation or the meals. The rooms were old and outdated, and desperately in need of renovation. Bathrooms were an eyesore. Problems with geyser had us running out of hot water. The restaurant was over priced and the food was extremely bad and tasteless, which left us very hungry for 2 days. Breakfast was also not even worth a mention... The best part of this hotel tho, was the magnificent views of the Ganges, which were just splendid. We also enjoyed river rafting on the Ganges, which was an unforgettable experience. Its overall an OK place to stay if u are on a budget, or just passing thru. The spa was also a worthwhile visit. If u are a religious person, be prepared to be hugely disappointed at how the temples in the area have become a disgrace, a money making spectacle, where visitors are "forced " to pay in specified amounts of money to the temples...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShashReshal2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rishikesh hotels
0.4 mi away
Aloha On The Ganges by Leisure Hotels
2.6 mi away
EllBee Ganga View
EllBee Ganga View
#4 of 49 in Rishikesh
383 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ganga Kinare - A Riverside Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dewa Retreat - A Himalayan Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Aranyam River Retreat
Aranyam River Retreat
#5 of 49 in Rishikesh
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ganga Beach Resort
Ganga Beach Resort
#38 of 49 in Rishikesh
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divine Resort

Property: Divine Resort
Address: Laxman Jhula Road, Rishikesh 249137, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Rishikesh
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Rishikesh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Divine Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divine Resort is one of the most popular Economy Resort in Rishikesh. divine resort possesses all the qualities and equipments that are required to cater to the needs of a worldwide client base. Amongst all the Hotels in Rishikesh, the standards set by Laxman Jhula Divine Resorts can be compared to the standards set by any of the top Resort in Uttarakhand. Giving the view of screen, Turquoise Ganga.An awesome beauty of breathtaking, sun washed river complements the resort to provide you a real freshness cool and fresh air originating from mesmerizing Ganga refreshing your body and soul. Ravishing view of sunsets and an enchanting sound of water of holy ganga , refreshes the surroundings with its melody. Providing an exciting while water river. Rafting and jungle safari for Adventure lovers. Enjoy the resistance charm of Yoga and Meditation. Stimulate your body and rejuvenate your senses with Ayurvedic body Message. Enjoy the irresistible charm of the Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Divine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing