We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best on island”
Review of Barry's Eco-Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Atauro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barry's Eco-Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Not much choice mind u . Food poor but accomodation and staff friendly and helpful.nice to get out of Dili for day trip/ few days. Getting there can b e bit of pain . Worth
Getting tuk tuk to other part of island - or walking if u have the time. Visit doll factory too

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dboyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 102 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

A gorgeous place to stay - beautiful traditional huts, very clean & well-appointed, and situated right on a fabulous beach for snorkelling and diving. Must admit my expectations were low, based on previous experience of "eco" accommodation, but this place is really lovely. The staff are great, friendly and obliging. Food is very good. Barry will help organise some trips if you want to do some exploring round the island, or get a taste of local culture. Or else, as we did, you can spend most of your time swinging in a hammock on your patio overlooking the beach, just chilling. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zydeco57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I totally enjoyed the stay at Barry's Eco-Lodge at Atauro Island. After some beautiful dives, it is best to relax at this place surrounded by beautiful scenery, nice food, especially the banana chips, and the wonderful host, Barry, who makes time to sit down and chat with his customers. This is definitely the best place to visit in Timor-Leste!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwenism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed there only one night since it was work-related. I would love to go back again, for a family holiday! Only 1 hour speed-boat ride away (longer if you take the ferry) but it's a great escape from Dili. The location of the lodge is perfect (right off where the speed boat docks; right in front of the beach), the food was great, the service good. Lots of information on the island and on the eco-lodge available. Free drinking water and coffee/tea served. As others have commented, the facilities are very basic, it would be nice to have a ceiling fan at least. Also there's no running water or hot water, so just make sure to take your mandi during the day! The only complaint I have is that the mosquito net was a bit small, it was OK for me since I'm short but if you're over 5' 3" you may want to ask for a bigger net!

I enjoyed my stay and wish I could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Try to get a room right by/on the beach, mine was a bit further in (though only about 30 m!) and I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlancaParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

We loved Barry's Eco lodge - the service was the best in Timor! Cabins were roomy, cool, private and clean. Snorkelling was amazing as was the food. Compost toilets did not smell at all. We would love to return one day.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed here for about 5 days to relax. Spend 2 nights in the tents which was cute and comfortable, and then moved into the 4 bedroom cabin which was great. Fantastic location with reef just off the beach, 3 good meals included, and friendly staff. Spent most days laying in hammocks and snorkelling. Barry organised a guide for us to climb the mountain on the island which was a good workout in the heat! Great spot.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank __Louis____M____11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We just spent nine wonderful days of blissful tranquility at Barry's Place on the island of Atauro. You can relax and go at the island pace, or you can get out there for cycling, snorkelling, diving, hiking or walking. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly, the drinks are cold and everyone tries their best to make your stay what you want it to be. The moonrise over the water was especially beautiful, and the enormous pod of dolphins we passed on the way back to Dili was a last minute highlight. We just loved it.

Room Tip: try to catch the breeze when it comes up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandDe-Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atauro
23.0 mi away
Hotel Esplanada
Hotel Esplanada
#2 of 19 in Dili
367 reviews
23.7 mi away
Timor Plaza Hotel & Apartments
23.2 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#1 of 19 in Dili
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Hotel The Ramelau
Hotel The Ramelau
#9 of 19 in Dili
34 reviews
22.7 mi away
Arbiru Beach Resort
Arbiru Beach Resort
#10 of 19 in Dili
18 reviews
23.9 mi away
Timor Lodge Hotel
Timor Lodge Hotel
#14 of 19 in Dili
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barry's Eco-Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barry's Eco-Lodge

Address: Beloi, Atauro, East Timor
Location: East Timor > Dili District > Atauro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Atauro
Price Range: $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing