We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine - if a bit tired.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Header Hotel Baotou
Ranked #1 of 223 Hotels in Baotou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed a week at the Haide while visiting our son, who is teaching in Baotou. I booked through CTrip and got a business suite at a reasonable rate.
The hotel is, unsurprisingly, geared towards the business traveller rather than tourists. The staff were, on the whole, helpful and courteous, with enough English to enable us to communicate effectively (my Mandarin is all-but non-existent!). The room was spacious, comfortable and mercifully free of the "wildlife" one may find in Chinese hotels - though more attention to actually vacuuming the floor would have been appreciated. The very reasonably priced minibar was really useful - as was the free wifi available in the lobby area.
Breakfast was a little underwhelming - but we only sampled this once. We did, however, avail ourselves of the bar menu, and can recommend the Club Sandwich. Getting served, however, can take some time so be prepared for a substantial gap between ordering and receiving your drinks and/or food!

While not on a par with the Shangri-La, the Haide is a comfortable hotel, well located and reasonably quiet (if well away from the club floor - which we were) - and offers decent value for money in a city where decent hotels are surprisingly expensive.

One final note - the Great Spoon Fiasco. At breakfast I accidentally dropped a serving spoon, and the tip of the handle broke on impact. I thought no more of the matter until leaving the restaurant, when I was accosted and a demand made for 20Yuan to replace the broken spoon! I was flabbergasted. I have never been collared in this way before - in a supposedly 4 (or 5?) star hotel - and asked to pay for a trivial breakage. I have since found that this is considered par for the course in China - but for a country and culture that prides itself on its hospitality I think this is a most ungracious and inhospitable. I refused to pay - but expect it was added to my bill in any case. It's not the amount though - it's the principle.

Room Tip: Check out the business suites - and get as far above Floor 4 (?) as possible. Oh... and don't b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlKronos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 19 of 225 reviews

A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MichelleAM, 客户关系经理 at Header Hotel Baotou, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MichelleAM, 客户关系经理 at Header Hotel Baotou, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled solo
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MichelleAM, 客户关系经理 at Header Hotel Baotou, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MichelleAM, 客户关系经理 at Header Hotel Baotou, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed October 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MichelleAM, 客户关系经理 at Header Hotel Baotou, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed October 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MichelleAM, 客户关系经理 at Header Hotel Baotou, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baotou hotels
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La Baotou Hotel
Shangri-La Baotou Hotel
#2 of 223 in Baotou
198 reviews
2.9 mi away
Jinjiang Inn (Baotou Wenhua Road)
2.8 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
West Lake Hotel
West Lake Hotel
#4 of 41 in Baotou
7 reviews
1 mi away
Super 8 Baotou Ming Shi
Super 8 Baotou Ming Shi
#81 of 223 in Baotou
35 reviews
1.2 mi away
Longhua Business Hotel
Longhua Business Hotel
#9 of 223 in Baotou
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Header Hotel Baotou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Header Hotel Baotou

Address: No.56 Gangtie Avenue, Kundulun District, Baotou 014010, China
Location: China > Inner Mongolia > Baotou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 223 Hotels in Baotou
Price Range: $49 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Header Hotel Baotou 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Header Hotel Baotou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing