We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch at Chez Talout, Skoura, Morocco”
Review of Chez Talout

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chez Talout
Ranked #3 of 25 Skoura B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We arrived unannounced for lunch and was rewarded with the best food cooked there and then of our entire time in Morocco. Soufiane, the Manager, was fabulous - enthusiastic, amusing and exceptionally helpful. The hotel seemed to have everything that one would want and with a great view of Skoura, too. A perfect base for touring the area. We wished that we had stayed at Chez Talout and not somewhere else!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 313LMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soufiane T, Gérant at Chez Talout, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Thank you so much for your commont and for the best moments we shared with your familly and friends during your stay and we hop for you all the best.

Thanks again for everything and you have greetings from all the stuff .

Best regards,

Yours Soufiane Fawz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (685)
There are newer reviews for Chez Talout
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 685 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

Our experience at Chez Talout was not consistent with most of the other reviews. It is a nice property in a beautiful setting, however other factors made this less than a great choice for us.

First of all, the gentlemen who seems to be in charge is "overly friendly" to be point of being somewhat creepy.

Since the hotel is in a remote location, the only real choice for dinner is at the hotel. The cost per person was 10 euro, which is not unreasonable, but somewhat high for Morocco. The problem is, the food was not very good. They served a chicken tagine which was very dry with mushy vegetables. Overall, the dining experience was mediocre, at best.

When we pulled down the bed cover in our room, I noticed that there was hair on my pillowcase. Needless to say, we felt a general lack of cleanliness - unlike all other places we stayed in this wonderful country.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RetSuptTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taloutabde, Propriétaire at Chez Talout, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2017

Hello ;
We are sorry that your stay with us has not lived up to your expectations; My team is working every day for 15 years so far to welcome our guests in the best conditions, we are attentive to the smooth running of your stay in the region and I regret that you have misinterpreted our recommendations on this subject.
We remain at your disposal
Welcome
Abdou and the team at Talout

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

I absolutely love chez talout and its wonderful staff. I was at home from the moment I arrived! I wish I could have stayed longer. It is situated above the beautiful and fertile oasis of skoura. I walked to the fascinating kasbah amerdil through groves of olives, figs, pomegranate, mint. Its like the garden of eden! Next time Insha'allah!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonnygamstress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soufiane T, Gérant at Chez Talout, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you so much for your commont and for the best moments we shared with your familly and friends during your stay and we hop for you all the best.

Thanks again for everything and you have greetings from all the stuff .

Best regards,

Yours Soufiane Fawz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

As all the reviews before this have stated: stay here, stay here, stay here!
- It is a beautiful space in a beautiful land. The grounds are well kept with lots of little spaces to sit, read, enjoy company, admire the landscape. We had meals in multiple spots, each of which were lovely.
- The manager, Souffiene, went above and beyond to make our family feel like we were welcome. He and the whole staff were so great with our brood of children (we were two families traveling together with kids ages 1,2,3 and 5). Moroccan people really love children and we saw it in full play at Chez Talout. He set up a tour of the area on very, very short notice and tried to save us money by doing so.
- The food was AMAZING!

My 5 year old is already asking when we are going to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapitolMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soufiane T, Gérant at Chez Talout, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you so much for your commont and for the best moments we shared with your familly and friends during your stay and we hop for you all the best.

Thanks again for everything and you have greetings from all the stuff .

Best regards,

Yours Soufiane Fawz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I've never been more sure of the definition of "oasis"; Chez Talout is it. The food is as vibrant and welcoming as the staff, especially the bread they make fresh for breakfast (the perfect amount of chewiness with a touch of wood smoke). Each room is a unique burst of comfort and colour, but an even better option: bring a pillow up to the roof, stretch yourself out, and see stars like you've never seen them before.
We arrived to the place quite late at night, and we couldn't find it since it was in the middle of nowhere, our host (soufiane I think was his name) came to us on his motorcycle to show us the way. He was such an amazing host: super funny and extremely helpful. He washed our clothes (we were 8 of us) for 150 dirhams (16 US dollars)!! His washing machine broke at midnight, and he had to finish our clothes by HAND until 2am!!
The next morning we were extremely surprised by how BEAUTIFUL the surrounding was, we were in the middle of a gorgeous oasis. We had breakfast on the roof with a view on the valley. We had FRESH squeezed orange juice and other amazing Moroccan dishes.
Soufiane found a guide for us to show us the oasis (you also visit a beautiful kasbah), we payed 250 dirhams for the tour (8 of us) and it was TOTALLY worth it. I highly recommend it.
Conclusion: the food was out of this world, the view and the environment was quite outstanding and finally our host was the cherry on the cake. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Youssef B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soufiane T, Gérant at Chez Talout, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Hello Youssef and friends ,

Thank you so much for your commont and for the best moments we shared with you during your stay here . All what you wrote incourage us to go more and more better in this familly busniss. I hop we will met again inchalah .

Thanks again and you have greetings from all the stuff .

Best regards,

Yours Soufiane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

It was the best place to end our desert trip, great place and even more the service. I felt more comfortable and happy than being in a 7 star hotel. i do recommend any one to go there and relax by the pool. and the food is to die for

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zizolazizo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abdelouahab t, Propriétaire at Chez Talout, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2015
Google Translation

Soufiane Fawzi Gérant de chez talout, a répondu à cet avis

Bonjour ,

Nos étions trais heureux de vous accueillir et merci beaucoup pour votre avise et au plaisir de vous acceuillir de nouveau .

Bien cordialement ,

Soufiane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Beyond the good location,beautiful view and excellent facilities we mostly appreciate the kindness of the most friendly staff we meet while in Morocco with special thanks to Mr Sophian that really knows how to make you feel like home!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank dorin i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soufiane T, Gérant at Chez Talout, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you so much for your commont and for the best moments we shared with you during your stay and we hop meet again inchalah .

Thanks again for everything and you have greetings from all the stuff .

Best regards,

Yours Soufiane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skoura
9.2 mi away
Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
#7 of 40 in Ouarzazate
250 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kasbah Ait Ben Moro
Kasbah Ait Ben Moro
#3 of 40 in Ouarzazate
323 reviews
4.0 mi away
L'Ma Lodge
L'Ma Lodge
#1 of 25 in Skoura
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Les Jardins de Skoura
Les Jardins de Skoura
#2 of 25 in Skoura
470 reviews
4.9 mi away
Sawadi
Sawadi
#4 of 25 in Skoura
631 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ksar Elkabbaba
Ksar Elkabbaba
#9 of 25 in Skoura
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Talout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Talout

Address: Oulad Aarbiya | Skoura Ouarzazate, Skoura 45000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Skoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Skoura
Price Range: $67 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chez Talout 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a hilltop overlooking Skoura palm grove, this guest house features an outdoor swimming pool and a shaded terrace. The Amerhidil Kasbah is located 2 km away.The air-conditioned guest rooms offer views of the swimming pool or the palm trees. Each one features a traditional Berber decor and a private bathroom decorated with Tadelakt.Traditional Moroccan dishes are served on the rooftop terrace, with views of the valley. Breakfast is prepared every morning at the Auberge chez Talout.Free wired internet access is available and you can relax in the lounge, which features a fireplace.Ouarzazate Airport is 36 km from the guest house and the Dades River is a 15-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Chez Talout reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing