We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shockingly expensive lunch”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skoura
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auberge Famille Benmoro
Ranked #17 of 25 Skoura B&B and Inns
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shockingly expensive lunch”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We just had lunch at the ben moro hotel. Quite difficult to find a restaurant during the day during ramadan, so we were happy that the hotel would serve us a small lunch. He only had one small salad (cucumber, tomato and onion mix) and one berber omelet. It came without bread as he had no bread. For drink we had one coffee (nescafe solution) and a bottle of water. We enjoyed the lunch as we were hungry, the views were wonderful and the host was friendly. However, he charged us 100 dirham for the lunch that would bot have costed more then 50 dirham anywhere else in morroco. Go here for the nice view but do not forget to negotiate the price before sitting down to have a meal.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melizze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    12
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
21
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We are a family of 5 (three kids aged 15, 13 & 9) and we loved this place - a great stop on the way to the Sahara. The view from the terrace was lovely and the pool was a huge added bonus, which we had to ourselves because it was so quiet. The rooms were comfortable and the food was delicious. Thank you to Driss and his family for a lovely stay and thanks too for showing us how you cook with the tagine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Tucked out the way, north of Ouarzazate and a stone's throw from the Sahara, Skoura is a traditional unspoilt place with a great palm oasis with random Kasbahs, some in ruins, others beautifully restored. One Kasbah is run by Driss Benmoro and is open for tourists who wish for a bit of real-life Morocco. Delicious food, lovely mint tea and a fine swimming pool, topped off with great views over the oasis to the snowy Atlas Mountains. The rooms are basic but that's all you need. It's best to have a car (although Driss does lend out his bike!)
Important note: if you are not keen on the long twisty (and entertaining) drive from Marrakech, fly to Ouarzazate airport and Driss can collect you (or you can rent a car there.)
Tips for tourists: Drive to the Sahara sand dunes of Merzouga - but you'll need more than a day to do it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunSkipper2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Made, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We so very much enjoyed our two night stay at this Kasbah and wished we would have stayed longer. The friendliness of the brothers Moro, the attentiveness, the great food, the Kasbah itself, the surroundings, the view and the silence are unforgettable. But mostly how must we felt at home, there. We would, and will, recommend this to anyone. When you go and stay there, ask to rent bikes and a guide and go through the valley with dade trees and the oldest Kasbah in the area; an awesome experience, which we will never forget.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jokewijker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We arrived here late on rainy day and had been upgraded to a suite.
We were traveling with another couple and we took the second floor suite and they took the top floor. Both were amazingly big but theirs was shocking. It had its own living room with fireplace and
two other rooms. The walls are thick and the windows small so it takes some getting use to but
very unique place. Dining was indoors ( rather dull and dark room) due to the weather. I was ill with cold so kitchen fixed me some soup and dessert to eat in room but my husband and our friends thought it was one of the
best meals of the trip even though after 8 days in Morocco we were at the end of our tagine
tolerance level. Pretty place and probably even more special in great weather. Be prepared to climb some steep steps. However, the staff does carry all the luggage for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mistravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Famille Ben Moro it's a splendid kasbah located in the beautiful palmeraie de Skoura. The family who owns and runs the auberge it's most kind and will provide you with everything you could need.
The swimming pool it's perfect for refreshing in a hot day, and it's beautiful to drink a glass of tea in front of the sunset on the terrace.

Most recommended:

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliverc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skoura hotels
0.0 mi away
Chez Talout
Chez Talout
#3 of 25 in Skoura
682 reviews
0.0 mi away
L'Ma Lodge
L'Ma Lodge
#1 of 25 in Skoura
351 reviews
0.0 mi away
Les Jardins de Skoura
Les Jardins de Skoura
#2 of 25 in Skoura
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sawadi
Sawadi
#4 of 25 in Skoura
630 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ksar Elkabbaba
Ksar Elkabbaba
#9 of 25 in Skoura
76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Ahlam
Dar Ahlam
#1 of 2 in Skoura
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Famille Benmoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Famille Benmoro

Property: Auberge Famille Benmoro
Address: Skoura, Skoura 45502, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Skoura
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Skoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very Nice Place And Frindly Person Good Rooms Calm And Good Cooking Good Vue For The Kasba And Palmers Thanks ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing