We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exotic and relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Ahlam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Ahlam
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skoura
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exotic and relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

The oasis atmosphere is wonderful. Dinner somewhere different in the grounds each evening. Perfect. ! Lots of trips and picnics . Charming guides. It is worth going to the desert by helicopter if you can afford it. The picnic in a gorge by the river is aust too, as are walks through the oasis with its ruined kasbahs.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Majorian12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    9
    1
    4
    2
See reviews for
35
89
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Home away from home, in an unexpected place. Each room has its own personality. The property of the hotel is to dream for. Every meal was spectacular and served in a different location. The service of the staff was impeccably brilliant. Every little detail is amazingly cared for. It is laterally an oasis in the middle of a beautiful country.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Camila0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Family trip with 5 rooms in early January
The property is more of a luxury guesthouse than a hotel
It breaks a lot of the traditional codes of regular hotels
A lot of attention to details
the overnight in the desert was fantastic

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Indochine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2love2hike
Level Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Dar Ahlam is an enchanting property. The grounds are beautiful and immaculate. Our room was very spacious and although we had some trouble with the shower water temp, the managers made sure the problem was resolved. We didn't light a fire, I love to be a little chilly, but it would have been lovely if we had. Part of the Dar Ahlam experience is that all meals are taken with your party, Solo to 18, and they are always in a different location. They really take advantage of the personality of their establishment. The food, btw, was awesome. I would love the recipe for the chocolate dessert we had on our first night. That's all I want to say about the property, it's first class and so is the management. You absolutely cannot go wrong staying there.

I have traveled extensively throughout the world and many people have asked me if my trip was life changing. I don't think anyone has, but it was. It was because of the excursions we had that were part of the Dar Ahlam package. We were only able to spend two nights, a week would be better (this was our "splurge" stop). The guide for our excursions, Mohammed, was phenomenal. Mohammed is clearly a deep thinker, he reminds me a bit of Aristotle for some reason. He is a poet. At any rate, we were interested in learning more about the Berber Nomads in the region. Mohammed spent the afternoon with us searching along a mostly dried up river looking at caves that had been carved out of the high riverbank. These groupings of caves, usually about 8 house the families and livestock as they travel in search of good grazing. When we first found one he sent our driver to speak to them to see if we could visit their camp. He Los asked if we could take pictures. THAT IS AN EXTREMELY BIG DEAL. Moroccans by and large DO NOT like their pictures taken. There were two women and an infant in camp. The younger woman (22) agreed to speak with us and allowed photos. This woman touched my heart so profoundly, I doubt I will ever forget her. There were two families traveling together, hers and the other woman and her husband. The 2 men were out somewhere with the herd, 100 sheep and goats, as well as her two older children. She had her infant wrapped to her back. The caves were so primitive, they had a cooking cave, a sleeping cave for each family and caves for the livestock. They had 4 camels grazing nearby as well as donkeys. The young woman has had no education. That is the difficulty with the nomadic people, there is little opportunity for teachers/classrooms for people continually on the move. She was like the Madonna. Her beauty and happiness glowed.
For the rest of my trip and since I've been home all I can think is always be joyful. It was an incredible trip of a lifetime in many ways. However the Berber Nomad continues to warm my heart.

Room Tip: They are all different and all beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdventureForward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atherton, ca
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Dar Ahlam is a magical place in the middle of the land of 1000 kasbahs - Skoura, Morocco. It is a mix of the old (a refurbished kasbah from many centuries ago) and the new (beautiful newer gardens and rooms, modern furnishings that fit with the original spirit of the place). As soon as you arrive, you realize that you are in fact in the house of dreams. There is no timetable at Dar Ahlam - only what you choose to do when you choose to do it. There is no restaurant at Dar Ahlam - only your personal table in an unexpected and beautiful setting, different at every meal. The food is sublime - whether French or Moroccan, every meal is exquisitely prepared. The rooms are extremely inviting and comfortable, with large bathrooms and woodburning fireplaces. Beautiful gardens and an inviting pool area complete the picture. The only negative comment I have about Dar Ahlam is that there could be a better explanation of possible excursions; perhaps a written description of them would be useful. Also, our English speaking tour guide for our walk in the Palm groves was mostly silent until we started asking questions. I'm not sure he understood that we were looking for some background on the area in which we were walking. We visited Dar Ahlam in between touring Fes and Marakech, and it was a wonderful respite between those hectic places. I highly recommend a visit to Dar Ahlam during any longer visit to the country of Morocco. It is a wonderfully romantic spot, and you will never forget it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytraveler00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have travelled lots with our children and we love luxury hotels. Staying at Dar Ahlam taught us that the real luxe is not how comfortable the bed is, how good the food is etc (even if both were really good). They made us feel at home, a home of my dreams. Every meal, every excursion has been prepared with lots of attention. The service is not only good, you feel the staff's kindness and you know they are sincere. If they could do more, they would. My review is not to reveal the little surprises reserved by the hotel but to tell you that we felt so pampered and so taken cared of by everyone, it made us feel unique.

Room Tip: We had two deluxe suites connected by an internal terrace. Perfect for travelling with teen kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anebot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Dar ahlam which means house of dreams merits really its name. Everything is there to surprise us: walks in secluded places, tea in the middle of the desert, private lunch around a lake. The manager, his wife and all the staff have made our stay memorable.

This hotel is more than a hotel, it is an delightful experience.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skoura
11.6 mi away
Kasbah Ait Ben Moro
Kasbah Ait Ben Moro
#2 of 39 in Ouarzazate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
#3 of 39 in Ouarzazate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
#6 of 39 in Ouarzazate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Dar Chamaa
Dar Chamaa
#1 of 39 in Ouarzazate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
13.6 mi away
L'Ma Lodge
L'Ma Lodge
#1 of 25 in Skoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
11.0 mi away
Les Jardins de Skoura
Les Jardins de Skoura
#2 of 25 in Skoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Ahlam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Ahlam

Property: Dar Ahlam
Address: Douar Oulad Cheik Ali | Casbah Madihi, Skoura 33352, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Skoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skoura
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing