We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Got excellent treatment here from owners” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Safi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Safi
Ranked #3 of 6 Safi B&B and Inns
San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
Level Contributor
137 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Got excellent treatment here from owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

I arrived at night without having eaten. The owner's wife prepared a tasty special supper for me that included the traditional bean soup. My room was attractively decorated in subtle gray, black and white tones with attention to textures. Other rooms had brighter colors combined tastefully. A breakfast of Moroccan-style crêpes, orange juice, fruit and good coffee was served on the roof terrace, from which there was a view of nearby buildings of the medina and the sea.
I felt quite at home here. Though the dark, narrow streets seemed sinister at first, after being greeted by the beguiling neighbor children and others from the nearby school in their quite good French, the place took on a friendly aura.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jollycrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    36
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
29
54
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

The most authentic Riad I have been in Morocco. Jean Michel and Hannan are so welcoming that makes you fell like home! It happens to stay there first time, 4 years ago and it end to be me and my family favorite place for vacation. We have already been back other 4 times. The rooms has a different theme and Jean Michel and Hannan have done a wonderful work to preserve the original structure of the old house. I recommend Safi and this Riad as real Marocco

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heliana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Rashid made my stay a memorbale one. Although a little difficult to find you are certainly in the cetner of things.

The rooms are full of charm and character although not modern in anyway. As long as you dont expect a 5star modern hotel then you will love it.

Rashid will do everything to make your stay enjoyable including getting his young apprentice to make some amazing food... ye sit really was amazing you dont need to eat anywhere else!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ikathrada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here two nights. Usually I just drive through Safi on my way to Essaouaria or Agadir. But this time we decided to check it out, and I'm so glad we did. The riad is centrally located and safe, convenient parking is near by. The rooms each have their own unique style. JM and Rachid were wonderful hosts. I would love to go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charli246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed seven night at the Riad Safi. The Riad Safi is located within the Medina. Riad Safi is really an oasis in the abounding, just about medieval environment. The Medina and the Souk shows the original Morocco and not a tourist version. Excellent food, pleasant room in Hotel Riad Safi, you can use the wifi network too. Jean Michel the French owner is very friendly and hospitable. Safi is a good centre for trips. We made excursions to Essaouria, Marrakech, Lalafatna - and Qualidia Beaches and El-Jadida. It worth seeing the local museum, the Ceramic museum in Safi and taste the authentic tajine foods of Chez Hosni.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Istvan_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

This Riad was everything we were looking for! The owner was very welcomming, the riad itself had a layd back feel and our room was very nice. It was easy to find and we received a key to the front door to be able to let ourselves back in.
We especially liked the terraced areas and the central location. On the top terrace there is a lovely view, great for watching the sun set. Reccommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wennme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Although this is the oldest riad in Safi, you wouldn't know it from the rooms. It's quite modern and comfortable. Jean-Michele, the owner, is very nice and helpful. I would recommend lunch in the town somewhere and dinner at the riad. The dinner there was excellent.

JM speaks some English, but communication was definitely easier in French.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Safi hotels
1.5 mi away
Abda Hotel
Abda Hotel
#1 of 9 in Safi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Riad Asfi
Hotel Riad Asfi
#3 of 9 in Safi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Assif
Hotel Assif
#2 of 9 in Safi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Riad du Pecheur Safi
2.3 mi away
Riad Le Cheval Blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Safi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Safi

Property: Riad Safi
Address: 14 Derb Kanissa, Safi 46000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Doukkala-Abda Region > Safi
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Safi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Safi 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic guesthouse dating from 1680 to SAFI If former residence of the Governor Ben Nacer750 M2 of happiness and pleasure where find anonymous as celebrities for beautiful evenings combining humor, culture, travel, good humor and fraternal joy to share without moderation ...Located 2 minutes walk from the hill potters, the harbor, the National Museum of Ceramics, souks ... The location :)We are an authentic guesthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Safi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Safi Hotel Safi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing