We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for family and pets”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Garden and the Sea B&B Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 New Church B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, Virginia
1 review
“Great place for family and pets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

Initially I wasn't impressed with the location of this B&B. It is a 10-15 min drive from the beaches and tourist attractions at Chincoteague. Eventually, I decided that was an asset to this peaceful and quaint B&B. Mostly, I was impressed with how the Innkeepers sincerely welcomed my daughter and 60-lb dog with open arms. This is a great place for families and pets. The location is serene and peaceful and serves as an excellent springboard for trips to Chincoteague, the wildlife refuge and north Assateague Island where wild ponies run free on the beach. The food, service and rooms were all 4-star! Great accommodations really helped us relax after long days being a family of tourists. The breakfast was first class. We are already planning our next trip back! I want to re-emphasize pet friendly. They had biscuits at the front and dog towels at every door. They also provided directions to the nearby dog friendly beaches. If you want to bring your pet, this is the place to go!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smhopp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    30
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
51
194
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2010

For our purposes, the room was great, especially because they accept dogs and kids (we have very well-behaved ones, but not many hotels/b&bs accept both). I wish I had known about the tub/shower being a little difficult to get into and not having a shower curtain/door. I didn't have a difficult time getting in and out of the tub, but it would be tough for someone with a physical issue, and that was never disclosed. The breakfast was good - not necessarily what I expected, but not bad. We ate dinner there, and the crab cake was great - one of the best I've had. But the steak and the spaghetti w/ tomato sauce were below average. They did a very good job of serving us overall and keeping a very clean establishment, and we would certainly recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnut14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2010

This charming-restored Victorian B&B is a 20 minute drive from Chincoteague and Assateague. Located on a large property it features shade trees, porches, hammock, swing, garden with fountain, walking path and a nice swimming pool. It is also dog friendly - the owners even provide beach towels for your dog and directions to beaches that allow dogs. They give tips on nearby restaurants and go out of their way to make visitors comfortable. We really appreciated having a kitchen and dining room, complete with dishes and utensils, for the evening when we brought our carry-out seafood dinner back with us. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sailtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, VA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2010

Everything was excellent. We felt very comfortable. The room was large and having a coffee maker in the room was great for us. The food was excellent. We really enjoyed our stay at the Garden and the Sea B&B. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2010

This inn was perfect for us as we were looking for a place to end a somewhat stressful long road trip with 2 children and 2 dogs. It is difficult to find places that accept dogs, let alone welcome them with open arms. We had a studio with a separate entrance and a fenced yard (with doggie door) for the dogs. The kids enjoyed an afternoon at the pool as well. Breakfast was ample and quite tasty and the whole place, garden included, is beautiful, yet tranquil and relaxed. The inn owners are friendly and fun. I have no hesitation recommending this inn for families or couples...you must at least tolerate dogs, I suppose.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chezelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2010

We loved our stay at the Garden and the Sea Inn. The innkeepers Dorothee and Thomas Renn were incredibly attentive and wonderfully hospitable - we felt at home from the moment we arrived, and so did our dog. The location was perfect for us, as we wanted to stay away from holiday weekend crowds, but still be close enough to Chincoteague to wander in and around as we felt like it. Food was incredible and room was great. Highly recommended to folks that like to bring their furry babies with them when they travel!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMurphy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2010

17 family members( and 2 small dogs) stayed 3 nights at the Inn. The Innkeepers are friendly, fabulous and very accomodating. We rented every room they have. Rooms are nice, location is great, breakfast was very good and included healthy options. Pool and gardens were lovely. Enjoyed the experience from top to bottom. We had a wonderful time. Thank you Thomas and Dorothee.

Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Susan57955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Church
8.8 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
9.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
8.8 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#10 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
10.4 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pocomoke City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden and the Sea B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden and the Sea B&B Inn

Property: Garden and the Sea B&B Inn
Address: 4188 Nelson Road, New Church, VA 23415
Location: United States > Virginia > New Church
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in New Church
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden and the Sea B&B Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Victorian near Chincoteague Island! Escape to the Garden and Sea Inn for an elegant, yet casual respite. Enjoy our spacious rooms with large private bathrooms, mostly with jacuzzi. Visit the Eastern Shore's charming, quaint towns and marinas - we are ideally located for those who plan to visit not only Chincoteague Island, but also the rest of the Eastern Shore. Relax on one of our porches or at the heated outdoor pool. Pets welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden and the Sea B&B Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing