We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfeast & Wonderful Inn Keepers!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden and the Sea B&B Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 New Church B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
chesapeak, va
1 review
“Great Breakfeast & Wonderful Inn Keepers!!!”
Reviewed October 17, 2008

I took my husband, (and two dogs) here for our 1st Annvrsy. I loved the quaint atmosphere and the hospitality of Dorothee and Tom were OUTSTANDING!

New Castle does not have a lot of things to do, especially in October but that was the main reason I wanted to stay here, to get away from the hustle and bustle and force my husband to relax, which he had no choice but to do.

We were unable to use the swimming pool because it was too cold, but again..to be expected in October. I enjoyed relaxing on the hammock, and the rooms were very well maintained, and beautiful.

I wish that they had food accomdations for lunch and dinner, as the breakefeast was soo good I could not wait for the next day to arrive. It is a little of a drive to get to where you need to go, but Tom was very knowledable in places to go and directions to get there.

We visited the Assatageaue Island ($15.00 charge to enter park, not happy on that) and also the Chint. Island, had a good time, and would visit this locations again, maybe not the park, but def. the Chin. Island.

If you are looking for a lot of things to do, New Castle in the fall is not going to be your thing, but if you are looking to get some quality time in with your loved one, with a very pet friendly Inn, this is the place to go!!!

  • Liked — Breakfeast
  • Disliked — No lunch/dinner
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avapauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    30
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
51
194
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2008

What a wonderful place! The Garden & Sea Inn is a quaint Victorian bed and breakfast in the center of all the things to do at Chincoteague, VA and Ocean City, MD. Tom and Dorothee Renn have made an oasis where pet owners are welcome, the rooms comfy and there's a gourmet breakfast to die for. They go to great lengths to cater to each visitor and make their stay like coming home to the home you wish you had. I’m hooked! I’ll be back again.

Dr. Brad Lafferty

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank Moor-Laffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
summit Point, WV.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2008

We showed up about 10 at night. She shows us our room the minute we walked in the cat pee was sooo bad it was a terrible smell. This is a pet friendly place but I didn’t know the smell came with it. So needless to say our dog never settled down because the smell was burning our eyes what was it doing to our dog’s eyes. We were suppose to have a cottage off the main house thought that would be good for the dog so she didn’t hear any noises but it was a room attached to the owners house. We saw a washer a dryer behind a dividing door we asked is that for us to use they said know but it was right in our room that was very bad. Housekeepers came in our room while we were gone and strange people the dog sees in strange place with CAT PEE smell and she barks in the afternoon we were told. They told us that we need to take our dog with us or stay with her in around about way. The grounds are really run down grass needed mowed they need to invest in a weed eater the fountains were really dirty, houses around there are junky and the place is not quiet it is right off the main road. We asked for our money back the second day there and he told us they have 10-cancel policy, but he did give us one of the 2 days we had left there. Not good business, because they should not let anyone in that room the way it smells and have to pay $175.00 a night to stay in CAT PEE. Save yourself some money and do not stay here. A lot better places to stay for that kind of money. Room was clean besides the smell. Breakfast was good. Needless to say it wasn’t a vacation it was hell from the first night we step in to the CAT PEE room. Not a good bed-breakfast I would not recommend this place to a bum.

  • Liked — Room was clean if you could get by the smell of cat pee
  • Disliked — Grounds were very over grown
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whataboutzid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardenAndSea, owner at Garden and the Sea B&B Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2008
The guests didn’t mention a smell when we brought them into the room. They didn’t mention a smell the next morning, not even when I asked the usual questions “How was your night? Is the room okay? Is there anything you need?” Same thing the third day – not a single word about that alleged terrible smell. Again the message “everything is fine”.

After the breakfast I had to tell them, that their dog was barking the whole last day and they should please stop it for the sake of the other guests. We feel, this is not asked too much, since we are a B&B and not a kennel. We can’t accept that all other guests are bothered by a dog barking the whole day.

Some time later they came in and told us about their decision to leave. Because of that smell - this was the very first time they mentioned it. They said that smell was the reason why the dog kept barking all the time – so it was our fault. And they asked for their money back.

It is hard to believe in a smell that is brought up only at the very same time a guest leaves in bad mood and asks for a refund. It is hard to believe in a smell that is bad enough to make their eyes burn, but was not even mentioned in two nights and a whole days time. Not even mentioned, let alone complaining about it or asking for another room.
And it is hard to believe that a smell makes a dog bark endlessly and only after he was left alone.
But it is not uncommon that dogs start to panic and bark or whine when they are left alone in an unfamiliar place. THIS is in our opinion all that has happened. They had a very young dog that was not experienced in traveling and staying elsewhere.

We do not feel responsible or in the need to give a refund, just because a dog is not trained to stay alone and the owners prefer to leave instead of taking care of that. But, on a good will basis, we agreed to return 50%. The guests accepted and left.

Of course we checked the room immediately. We could not smell cat pee, our housekeepers could not smell it and none of all the other guests that have stayed in the same apartment before and after these guests have ever mentioned a smell. There is no cat pee smell in that room.

Now we have to read a review complaining not only about said smell, but also about not getting a cottage after having booked an apartment (we don’t even have cottages), about the lawn (it was raining for 10 days and was simply to wet to mow), a dirty fountain (don’t know, maybe with some foliage in it), about overgrown bushes (this is a question of taste, other guests like it and birds are nisting there), about having the housekeeping done when they were away (this is what every accommodation facility in the world does), about not having a washer in a B&B room (they found OUR private washer behind that door), about other houses in the neighborhood, about noise, …
Again – they did not complain about or even mention ANYTHING of the above during their stay. We are talking about that only after we declined a full refund.

We can not tell what the real problem was. These guests arrived already in a strange mood. Something was wrong, long before they even saw their room.
Maybe they didn’t like New Church and were disappointed not to be at a more fancy place. But this is a research the guest should do before he books a room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2008

We stayed at the Inn for our honeymoon and it was my husband's first time staying at a bed and breakfast, so I was nervous that he wouldn't like it.
The Inn was easy to find, it's conveniently located off route 13. We were met in the parking area by the innkeeper who took us to our room and gave us a tour of our building and the property. The Inn is made up of three buildings. Each building has guest rooms and there is even a lounge with drinks and snacks.
We stayed in the Chantilly room. The room was nicer than it looks in the pictures on their website. The bathroom included a Jacuzzi tub for two, two pedestal sinks and of course a toilet. Our room itself featured stained glass windows and antique furniture.
We arrived somewhat late on a Sunday night and the only place we could find open to eat was Friendly's which was about three miles up the road. There are also several other restaurants in that area, and the owners are happy to provide menus for several restaurants in the area.
Breakfast was amazing every single day. We were surprised by the several courses and didn't even eat lunch several days. We stayed four days and had a great gourmet meal every morning. We also had great chances to chat with the owners as well as enjoy the garden views from the dining room.
The Inn is located on the mainland and the drive to Assateague was about 30 mins, but its a very scenic, relaxing drive and even my usually tense husband didn't mind it.
We had a great experience and are looking for reasons to return. Staying at this Inn made is what made our honeymoon different than any other vacation. We recommend it to everyone.

  • Liked — The people!!
  • Disliked — We had to drive everywhere - but we expected that so it wasn't a big deal.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank genevievesusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2008

What a wonderful experience! This has got to be one of the best B&B's anywhere. The property was well kept and very clean. Our room, The Chardonnay Room, was very comfortable with everything we needed. Our Hosts were most gracious, making sure we had everything we could want. The food and atmosphere for breakfast were awesome and the pool was right on time for hot summers days. After some local touring, we decided to enjoy the property rather than the other local attractions, as the atmosphere of the Garden and Sea Inn just blew us away. I would highly recommend a stay in this little piece of paradise to everyone!

  • Liked — Very clean and comfortable
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank normondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2008

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Garden and Sea Inn over July 4th (2008) weekend. We found it totally relaxing, and within close proximity of Chincoteague, Assateague, and other sites. We initially wanted to find a B & B on Chincoteague, but the drive to the island from the Garden and Sea Inn is very short, and the location is very peaceful and quiet. The innkeepers were very friendly and helpful, and they prepared superb breakfasts that left us full enough that we did not eat lunch any of the three days that we stayed there. We left the inn very well rested. It is a pet-friendly inn, so our dog enjoyed her stay, as well.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank dewbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, VA
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2008

We only got to stay at the inn one night but wish we could have stayed longer. The grounds and house are beautiful and a real treat to explore. We stayed in the Garden House which is seperate from the main house. We very much enjoyed our room with a whirlpool and screned in porch. The room was very clean, no evidence of pets. It was a very nice surprize to find the parlor area had a little mini gym which I did not see advertised. Also, the port wine and snacks was a nice touch.
Breakfast was very good, blueberry pancakes with a delicious sauce. I'm pretty picky about my coffee and theirs was excellant! Thomas, the innkeeper, offered us a pack to take home which was very nice.
He and his wife Dorothy, are an enjoyable couple to talk with and run the place very well. Would definitely come back again and recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ladybug2714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Church
8.8 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
746 reviews
3.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 4 in Pocomoke City
134 reviews
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pocomoke City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
896 reviews
9.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,188 reviews
10.5 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden and the Sea B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden and the Sea B&B Inn

Property: Garden and the Sea B&B Inn
Address: 4188 Nelson Rd, New Church, VA 23415-3151
Location: United States > Virginia > New Church
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in New Church
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden and the Sea B&B Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Victorian near Chincoteague Island! Escape to the Garden and Sea Inn for an elegant, yet casual respite. Enjoy our spacious rooms with large private bathrooms, mostly with jacuzzi. Visit the Eastern Shore's charming, quaint towns and marinas - we are ideally located for those who plan to visit not only Chincoteague Island, but also the rest of the Eastern Shore. Relax on one of our porches or at the heated outdoor pool. Pets welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Garden and the Sea B&B Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing