We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a beautiful holiday oasis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garden and the Sea B&B Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden and the Sea B&B Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 New Church B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
1 review
“What a beautiful holiday oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

This B&B is very special and a great discovery for a romantic weekend or longer holiday stay for singles, couples and families. Even pets are welcome! What a treat!
The owners, Doro and Thomas, have put great attention and love for comfort and detail into their furnishing and ambience. You feel all stress and workload of the city fall off you the moment you step into this oasis-like garden and welcoming house.
The rooms, named after famous wine grapes, are very comfortable and beautifully decorated. And there is hardly a better way to start a day than with Doro´s home cooked breakfasts!
Both owners know the area very well and were so helpful with figuring out a great day plan.
I hope to be back as soon as possible to enjoy this soul spa again! Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moon3nity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    30
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
51
194
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Millbrook, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great B&B - excellent rooms, service and amenities. Lots of extras, and very Dog friendly. Would recommend and would stay again. Rooms clean and spacious, and very well appointed with antiques.Thomas and Dorothee and great hosts,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We like to spend every Thanksgiving weekend at a B&B. Garden and the Sea is definitely the loveliest one we've visited. Thomas and Dorothee are gracious hosts, and our suite, the Shiraz,
was beautiful, with a spacious bathroom and jacuzzi, comfy king bed and good TV and sitting area. Our dog even had her own fenced yard, right out the back door of the suite. We would like to return during the spring next year. Breakfast was German sausage and potatoes, and homemade yogurt. My husband is of German ancestry and birth so we enjoyed this treat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank treehousewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I Just finished a weekend stay (sans childrenn!) and couldn't have been happier. While New Church may not seem like a destination....it actually gives you a perfect central location for everything from Chincoteague and bay side attractions to some of the best restaurants on the Eastern Shore. The Inn itself was a fabulous value for the price and hosts were extremely friendly and accommodating. Our room (Chardonay) was spacious and a VERY comfortable bed! The bathroom with the skylights, stained glass, double jacuzzi and chandelier was PERFECT for a couple taking a pre holiday break from their kids. Breakfast both days was fresh, flavorful and friendly. If you happen there on a banana-pecan French toast day...feel very lucky! The hosts restaurant recommendation was perfect for a romantic dinner. (The Palette) and overall it was just the break that we needed. There is no doubt that we will return to this B&B....one of the best values on The Eastern Shore

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madelyn-Gabriella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

My girlfriend found this B&B and we came on down from New Jersey for her birthday last year. She has a Golden Retriever and we wanted to bring him too which was one of the attractions of the B&B. We stayed 3 nights and had a fantastic time. Thomas and Dorothee were fantastic hosts and so pleasant to be with. We had a fireplace and jacuzzi in our room and the room was very large. It was really 3 rooms, a living room, bedroom and bathroom and very comfortable. They had amenities for everyone, pets included. I enjoyed going over to the main room for a glass of sherry and a cookie. The breakfasts were great and they were not the expected breakfast either. We had a cherry/farina cake which I enjoyed so much I have made at home a few times. The other breakfasts we had were pumpkin pancakes and Dorothee's Eggs Benedict. The location was perfect, it was close to the national parks and bay but still extremely quiet and relaxing. We also enjoyed the other people we met there that weekend. It seems this B&B attracts nice people. We were talking about our stay last weekend and we both would love to come back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnre11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

The moment we first walked into the house, the first thing that immediately caught our attention was how gorgeous the house is. The very sweet and friendly owners, Thomas and Dorothee, really have great taste. You can't go wrong with any room.

They also made us delicious pancakes with homemade blueberry syrup and gave us some great insider info on what to do in the area.

This place is truly special. For anyone who is looking to spend a relaxing vacation in a beautiful location, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: All the rooms are really pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Just want to relate our wonderful stay at the Garden and the Sea B&B. My husband and I spent several nights there in order to be close to Chincoteague - but not pay the prices of Chincoteague. And what a pleasant stay. The rooms were attractive and comfortable (we even had a fireplace and jacuzzi tub) ... and breakfast was a delight. Not your typical breakfast fare - each morning a different treat (I particularly liked the Eggs Benadict with smoked salmon and asparagus). The owners had great suggestions on what to see and where to eat ... particularly helpful when the Eastern Shore is off-season. And the shore itself was only about 10 minutes away. We'll go again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PegathaVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Church
8.8 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
10.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
9.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
10.4 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pocomoke City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden and the Sea B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden and the Sea B&B Inn

Property: Garden and the Sea B&B Inn
Address: 4188 Nelson Road, New Church, VA 23415
Location: United States > Virginia > New Church
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in New Church
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden and the Sea B&B Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Victorian near Chincoteague Island! Escape to the Garden and Sea Inn for an elegant, yet casual respite. Enjoy our spacious rooms with large private bathrooms, mostly with jacuzzi. Visit the Eastern Shore's charming, quaint towns and marinas - we are ideally located for those who plan to visit not only Chincoteague Island, but also the rest of the Eastern Shore. Relax on one of our porches or at the heated outdoor pool. Pets welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Garden and the Sea B&B Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing