We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Surprise in the Middle of Nowhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden and the Sea B&B Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 New Church B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful Surprise in the Middle of Nowhere”
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I Just finished a weekend stay (sans childrenn!) and couldn't have been happier. While New Church may not seem like a destination....it actually gives you a perfect central location for everything from Chincoteague and bay side attractions to some of the best restaurants on the Eastern Shore. The Inn itself was a fabulous value for the price and hosts were extremely friendly and accommodating. Our room (Chardonay) was spacious and a VERY comfortable bed! The bathroom with the skylights, stained glass, double jacuzzi and chandelier was PERFECT for a couple taking a pre holiday break from their kids. Breakfast both days was fresh, flavorful and friendly. If you happen there on a banana-pecan French toast day...feel very lucky! The hosts restaurant recommendation was perfect for a romantic dinner. (The Palette) and overall it was just the break that we needed. There is no doubt that we will return to this B&B....one of the best values on The Eastern Shore

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madelyn-Gabriella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    30
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
51
194
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edison, New Jersey, USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

My girlfriend found this B&B and we came on down from New Jersey for her birthday last year. She has a Golden Retriever and we wanted to bring him too which was one of the attractions of the B&B. We stayed 3 nights and had a fantastic time. Thomas and Dorothee were fantastic hosts and so pleasant to be with. We had a fireplace and jacuzzi in our room and the room was very large. It was really 3 rooms, a living room, bedroom and bathroom and very comfortable. They had amenities for everyone, pets included. I enjoyed going over to the main room for a glass of sherry and a cookie. The breakfasts were great and they were not the expected breakfast either. We had a cherry/farina cake which I enjoyed so much I have made at home a few times. The other breakfasts we had were pumpkin pancakes and Dorothee's Eggs Benedict. The location was perfect, it was close to the national parks and bay but still extremely quiet and relaxing. We also enjoyed the other people we met there that weekend. It seems this B&B attracts nice people. We were talking about our stay last weekend and we both would love to come back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnre11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The moment we first walked into the house, the first thing that immediately caught our attention was how gorgeous the house is. The very sweet and friendly owners, Thomas and Dorothee, really have great taste. You can't go wrong with any room.

They also made us delicious pancakes with homemade blueberry syrup and gave us some great insider info on what to do in the area.

This place is truly special. For anyone who is looking to spend a relaxing vacation in a beautiful location, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: All the rooms are really pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Just want to relate our wonderful stay at the Garden and the Sea B&B. My husband and I spent several nights there in order to be close to Chincoteague - but not pay the prices of Chincoteague. And what a pleasant stay. The rooms were attractive and comfortable (we even had a fireplace and jacuzzi tub) ... and breakfast was a delight. Not your typical breakfast fare - each morning a different treat (I particularly liked the Eggs Benadict with smoked salmon and asparagus). The owners had great suggestions on what to see and where to eat ... particularly helpful when the Eastern Shore is off-season. And the shore itself was only about 10 minutes away. We'll go again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PegathaVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster, va
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We live on the water across the Bay from the Garden and Sea Inn but wanted a place for a special few days to celebrate my wife's birthday. the G&S Inn fit the bill exactly. We alsof wanted a place where we could bring our Chocolate Lab and The Shiraz Suite had a private fenced yard along with a beautifully maintained large yard where our retriever could get some added exercise. Our hosts' restaurant recommendations were spot on be they for a casual, local or slightly upscale restaurant. We thoroughly enjoyed our three nights at the Garden and Sea Inn

Room Tip: Select The Shiraz Suite if you are traveling with a dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Dorothee and Thomas graciously accomodated 30 of our friends and family for a rehearsal dinner on the night before our son's wedding. We were so pleased with the evening, and the food--and beverages--were enjoyed by all! Their hard work made the very special evening memorable and was greatly appreciated by my entire family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K_S_J90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felton, Delaware, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I've stayed in about 20 b and b's over the years and this was in my top 3 b and b's ever. The house is beautiful and so are the grounds. There are very few places like this that allow pets, and I took my cat with me because she's getting up there in years (18) and I don't know how much longer she'll be with me so I like to spend lots of time with her. The innkeepers are very happy to host guests with pets though most bring dogs. The room I stayed in (Nelson) was immaculate and very large compared to rooms I've stayed in elsewhere. Great bathroom too, with a clawfoot tub. The common area is really nice and there are lots of snacks and drinks available for guests any time of day, which I thought was a nice touch (and unusual). The breakfasts were nothing short of amazing. One could fill up on homemade granola and breads and fruit, but the main course of each breakfast was just terrific. The three days I was there they featured pancakes with blueberry syrup with bacon, a German dessert that was sort of like the consistency of cornbread with soft inside and crispy top that had cherries in it with some sort of cherry and I think vanilla glazes on it as well as sausage, and then today they served Eggs Benedict with smoked salmon. I don't eat eggs so they gave me my own breakfast which had pork tenderloin, veggies with a sauce, and an English muffin. I've never stayed anywhere that they gave you a whole different breakfast if there was something you didn't eat. Normally places just take what you don't eat off your plate. So this was really impressive! I would absolutely buy a cookbook if they ever come out with one. The place is located close (by car) to several cool places. I went to Chincoteague to the refuge and to this nice independent bookstore, and I went to Bloxom Winery which was really lovely. Most of the time I was there I was working on research and writing an essay for publication, and so I spent a fair amount of time in my room, but it was always very quiet there and I got a lot of work done. There was a rehearsal dinner in the dining room the one night and the innkeeper apologized in advance for potential noise between 6 and 9pm, but honestly I didn't hear anything from my room. Oh and one other thing...they will put extras in your room on request. At last minute I requested the chocolate cake and a bottle of wine. They accomodated me and I was really happy with the choice of wine, which was terrific, and the cake was HUGE and very decadent. I ended up bringing a lot of it home with me! The prices for the add-on amenities are really good. They just aren't jacking up the prices on this stuff the way a lot of places do. I've never added on things like that to my room simply because of the cost, but in this case, the cost is so reasonable that you feel compelled to add things. Overall I just was so happy with this place. I want to return often, and I definitely want to come in the summer so I can use the pool. The innkeepers have a wonderful place and really know how to run it very well. It was a terrific experience!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Church
8.8 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
764 reviews
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pocomoke City
3.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 4 in Pocomoke City
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
922 reviews
10.5 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,201 reviews
9.6 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#11 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden and the Sea B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden and the Sea B&B Inn

Property: Garden and the Sea B&B Inn
Address: 4188 Nelson Rd, New Church, VA 23415-3151
Location: United States > Virginia > New Church
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in New Church
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden and the Sea B&B Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Victorian near Chincoteague Island! Escape to the Garden and Sea Inn for an elegant, yet casual respite. Enjoy our spacious rooms with large private bathrooms, mostly with jacuzzi. Visit the Eastern Shore's charming, quaint towns and marinas - we are ideally located for those who plan to visit not only Chincoteague Island, but also the rest of the Eastern Shore. Relax on one of our porches or at the heated outdoor pool. Pets welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Garden and the Sea B&B Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing