We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a wonderful experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Garden and the Sea B&B Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 New Church B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newark, Delaware
1 review
“What a wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Dorothee and Thomas graciously accomodated 30 of our friends and family for a rehearsal dinner on the night before our son's wedding. We were so pleased with the evening, and the food--and beverages--were enjoyed by all! Their hard work made the very special evening memorable and was greatly appreciated by my entire family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K_S_J90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    30
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
51
194
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Felton, Delaware, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I've stayed in about 20 b and b's over the years and this was in my top 3 b and b's ever. The house is beautiful and so are the grounds. There are very few places like this that allow pets, and I took my cat with me because she's getting up there in years (18) and I don't know how much longer she'll be with me so I like to spend lots of time with her. The innkeepers are very happy to host guests with pets though most bring dogs. The room I stayed in (Nelson) was immaculate and very large compared to rooms I've stayed in elsewhere. Great bathroom too, with a clawfoot tub. The common area is really nice and there are lots of snacks and drinks available for guests any time of day, which I thought was a nice touch (and unusual). The breakfasts were nothing short of amazing. One could fill up on homemade granola and breads and fruit, but the main course of each breakfast was just terrific. The three days I was there they featured pancakes with blueberry syrup with bacon, a German dessert that was sort of like the consistency of cornbread with soft inside and crispy top that had cherries in it with some sort of cherry and I think vanilla glazes on it as well as sausage, and then today they served Eggs Benedict with smoked salmon. I don't eat eggs so they gave me my own breakfast which had pork tenderloin, veggies with a sauce, and an English muffin. I've never stayed anywhere that they gave you a whole different breakfast if there was something you didn't eat. Normally places just take what you don't eat off your plate. So this was really impressive! I would absolutely buy a cookbook if they ever come out with one. The place is located close (by car) to several cool places. I went to Chincoteague to the refuge and to this nice independent bookstore, and I went to Bloxom Winery which was really lovely. Most of the time I was there I was working on research and writing an essay for publication, and so I spent a fair amount of time in my room, but it was always very quiet there and I got a lot of work done. There was a rehearsal dinner in the dining room the one night and the innkeeper apologized in advance for potential noise between 6 and 9pm, but honestly I didn't hear anything from my room. Oh and one other thing...they will put extras in your room on request. At last minute I requested the chocolate cake and a bottle of wine. They accomodated me and I was really happy with the choice of wine, which was terrific, and the cake was HUGE and very decadent. I ended up bringing a lot of it home with me! The prices for the add-on amenities are really good. They just aren't jacking up the prices on this stuff the way a lot of places do. I've never added on things like that to my room simply because of the cost, but in this case, the cost is so reasonable that you feel compelled to add things. Overall I just was so happy with this place. I want to return often, and I definitely want to come in the summer so I can use the pool. The innkeepers have a wonderful place and really know how to run it very well. It was a terrific experience!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Garden and the Sea! Doro and Thomas were excellent, gracious hosts, and our room, The Merlot Room, was large, attractive, and comfortable. The dining room is lovely and the food excellent. We visited Smith Island, Chincoteague, and Assateague on this 3-day getaway. Walking the beach at Assateague was a highlight. It was fun to visit in October when the crowds were gone, and we had beautiful crisp, fall weather. Garden and the Sea? Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed for three nights in the Champagne room--very large, commodious, with comfortable and tasteful furniture and appointments, none of the frou-frou stuff one encounters at so many B&Bs. There's a little refrigerator and a coffee maker in the room, and the parlor downstairs is furbished with books, dvds, delicious snacks, and port, as well as biscuits for dogs (pet-friendly place). It's not far from Chincoteague, and it's much quieter. The hosts are very knowledgeable and fun to converse with.

Room Tip: Choose a room without a jacuzzi if you have trouble getting into a high tub. The Champagne room is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LibraPi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a great time staying at this B&B! We went for our 10th anniversary and it couldn't have been better. The food was amazing, and the owners were so sweet. I would definitely recommend staying here over staying on Chincoteague - it was much more relaxing to enjoy the beautiful grounds than to be right in town on a tiny plot of land. Did I mention the food was amazing?!? ;)

Room Tip: We stayed in the Merlot room in the main house - it was beautiful and spacious with a large bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler2740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Market, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Friendly and helpful innkeepers. Great breakfast and nice snacks provided. Lovely rooms. Close to Chincoteague, restaurants, and wineries. Stayed in the Chardonnay room with a comfortable king-sized bed and huge bathroom with jacuzzi tub and towel warmer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeaLady55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Our first visit ever to a Bed & Breakfast, and it was very, very nice. The setting was comfortable beyond our expectations, the establishment was dog friendly, which was very important to us. The privacy was wonderful, and the owners are truly knowledgeable about the surrounding area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Church
8.8 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
9.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
8.8 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#10 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
10.4 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pocomoke City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden and the Sea B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden and the Sea B&B Inn

Property: Garden and the Sea B&B Inn
Address: 4188 Nelson Road, New Church, VA 23415
Location: United States > Virginia > New Church
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in New Church
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden and the Sea B&B Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Victorian near Chincoteague Island! Escape to the Garden and Sea Inn for an elegant, yet casual respite. Enjoy our spacious rooms with large private bathrooms, mostly with jacuzzi. Visit the Eastern Shore's charming, quaint towns and marinas - we are ideally located for those who plan to visit not only Chincoteague Island, but also the rest of the Eastern Shore. Relax on one of our porches or at the heated outdoor pool. Pets welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden and the Sea B&B Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing