We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and romantic!”
Review of Garden and Sea Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden and Sea Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 New Church B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Garden and the Sea! Doro and Thomas were excellent, gracious hosts, and our room, The Merlot Room, was large, attractive, and comfortable. The dining room is lovely and the food excellent. We visited Smith Island, Chincoteague, and Assateague on this 3-day getaway. Walking the beach at Assateague was a highlight. It was fun to visit in October when the crowds were gone, and we had beautiful crisp, fall weather. Garden and the Sea? Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 291 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed for three nights in the Champagne room--very large, commodious, with comfortable and tasteful furniture and appointments, none of the frou-frou stuff one encounters at so many B&Bs. There's a little refrigerator and a coffee maker in the room, and the parlor downstairs is furbished with books, dvds, delicious snacks, and port, as well as biscuits for dogs (pet-friendly place). It's not far from Chincoteague, and it's much quieter. The hosts are very knowledgeable and fun to converse with.

Room Tip: Choose a room without a jacuzzi if you have trouble getting into a high tub. The Champagne room is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LibraPi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a great time staying at this B&B! We went for our 10th anniversary and it couldn't have been better. The food was amazing, and the owners were so sweet. I would definitely recommend staying here over staying on Chincoteague - it was much more relaxing to enjoy the beautiful grounds than to be right in town on a tiny plot of land. Did I mention the food was amazing?!? ;)

Room Tip: We stayed in the Merlot room in the main house - it was beautiful and spacious with a large bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler2740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Friendly and helpful innkeepers. Great breakfast and nice snacks provided. Lovely rooms. Close to Chincoteague, restaurants, and wineries. Stayed in the Chardonnay room with a comfortable king-sized bed and huge bathroom with jacuzzi tub and towel warmer.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeaLady55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Our first visit ever to a Bed & Breakfast, and it was very, very nice. The setting was comfortable beyond our expectations, the establishment was dog friendly, which was very important to us. The privacy was wonderful, and the owners are truly knowledgeable about the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Looking for a B&B in Chincoteague a few days before departing home left few choices and virtually none in Chincoteague. We selected Garden and Sea Inn in New Church based on the pictures shown and proximity to our destination. At first the 20 minute trip from New Church to Chincoteague and Assateague seemed liked it would be a hindrance. It was not. We planned accordingly and found this B&B to be a hidden gem. Thomas and Dorothee were wonderful hosts and the hotel was very clean, great furnishings, excellent size rooms, and extremely comfortable bed and room. We stayed in the Merlot Room. The room was extremely quiet. The bathroom was huge and very clean. Some rooms had fireplaces but ours did not. It did not matter in September. The morning breakfast was gourmet fare, prepared each day by Dorothee (served by Thomas), was excellent. Overall the ambiance of this B&B was just what my wife and I were looking for. The great weather cannot be ruled out as a factor! One must consider that the distance from New Church to Chincoteage and Assateague is not a trip you want to do more than once a day, so plan accordingly. Everything is very casual, but I can imagine if you had gone swimming at Assateague and then wanted to stay for dinner in Chincoteague you would need to get a shower and change. There were no such facilities on Assateague (that I am aware of) so a trip back to your hotel for that purpose would be needed. However, it you did not go swimming and wanted to dine while there, everything is very casual and you could certainly do so without an extra trip back to New Church. We would certainly stay here again, possibly with friends the next time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Garden and Sea 9/20-9/23/12. We stayed three nights and so enjoyed the accommodations as well as the wonderful food. The banana pecan French toast was amazing. I would highly recommend the inn for its charm and friendly service. I would highly recommend the garden house that comes complete with a screened in porch. My husband and I enjoyed more than a few hours on the porch reading and making new friends. I look forward to future trips to the inn! Try it for yourself--the owners work very hard to make their inn enjoyable for all their guest.

Room Tip: Hen I go back, I'm looking forward to staying in the Lighthouse room, in the garden house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Church
8.8 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
792 reviews
9.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,276 reviews
10.4 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#1 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#2 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,343 reviews
3.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 4 in Pocomoke City
138 reviews
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pocomoke City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden and Sea Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden and Sea Inn

Address: 4188 Nelson Rd, New Church, VA 23415-3151
Location: United States > Virginia > New Church
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in New Church
Price Range: $110 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden and Sea Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Victorian near Chincoteague Island! Escape to the Garden and Sea Inn for an elegant, yet casual respite. Enjoy our spacious rooms with large private bathrooms, mostly with jacuzzi. Visit the Eastern Shore's charming, quaint towns and marinas - we are ideally located for those who plan to visit not only Chincoteague Island, but also the rest of the Eastern Shore. Relax on one of our porches or at the outdoor pool. Pets welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Garden and Sea Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing