We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Bed and Breakfast!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garden and the Sea B&B Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garden and the Sea B&B Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 New Church B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming Bed and Breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We have just returned from a two night stay at this lovely Bed and Breakfast. It is a hidden gem- everything is exactly as stated on the website, or better!
We hope to return again. The accommodations were excellent, the food superb, and the hosts were so welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FSCBaltimore_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    30
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
51
194
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Found this place because we needed a dog (grey hound) friendly place to stay near the NASA Wallops facility (near Chincoteague). The Garden and Sea Inn exceeded our expectations. The various accommodations for dogs (allowed in the room , have several acres for walking, and fenced area adjacent to pool) can't be beat. Though the facilities are very nice, its really the attention and effort put forth by the Inn owners that made us feel immediately comfortable. Lastly, if you stay here, don't miss the breakfast! We will definitely return the G&S Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank santa176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Already planning to return here next summer. The inn is beautiful, spacious, clean, and has many nice extra touches most b&bs don't even think of (port wine for sipping, bath salts, beach chairs, cold creamers in the fridge to go with your in-room coffeepot...) Innkeepers are nice and helpful - and the breakfast they served was gourmet. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sglake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

My husband and I had a great time - the innkeepers were really hospitable, the breakfast was amazing (fresh fruit, homemade yogurt, homemade bread and THEN a main course - we never had lunch after eating all that!), and the room was really charming. Great place for a romantic getaway!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CheeryTraveller30242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

I was looking to going to Chincoteague for a relaxing weekend and stumbled across this B&B online. I am so glad I decided to stay there! It was absolutely beautiful and well maintained. The gardens were fantastic and the rooms, and parlors were beautiful I wanted to take my dog and this is a pet friendly B&B which actually makes your pet feel wanted - provided dog dishes, treats and towels to clean them at the door if they got dirty. They even have a kennel right next to the pool so the dog can be in there while you swim. They thought of everything! I stayed in the Chantilly room which was decorated in a very romantic decor and had an amazing bathroom with 2 pediastal sinks and a 2 person whirlpool tub which I enjoyed both nights I was there! They will even prebook a boat trip around Assateague for you when you make your reservations. Their dining room is beautiful and I can't say enough about their delicious breakfasts. The couple who own the place are German and cook some German dishes which were very good. They were also very friendly, helpful and interesting to talk to! I have already referred several people to the B&B.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

This inn has a great location for visiting various locations on the Eastern Shore. It is about 15-20 minutes to Chincoteague Island and about one hour to the Assateague National Seashore (where they allow pets on the beach). We loved the Chardonnay room, which has a cathedral ceiling and skylights over the jacuzzi. It also had a handicapped accessible shower. The innkeepers provide everything for pets from blankets to towels and treats. Pets are not permitted in the pool area, so they have dog kennel/run outside that you can see from the pool. They provided excellent guidance on pet-friendly activities (restaurants, beaches, boat ride).

The breakfasts were fantastic--eggs benedict with smoked salmon and asparagus one day, then banana pancakes with homemade blueberry syrup the next, and individual bacon quiches on the last day with a buttermilk biscuit.

Another special feature of the inn was the dining room and small kitchen for guests in the Garden House. Since our dining options were limited with the dog, we were able to do take-out from Ray's Seafood Shack and eat in our inn's dining room that evening. It was the perfect solution!

Room Tip: We really liked the main Victorian House, specifically the Chardonnay Room on the first floor and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBugVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Last minute weekend getaway planned by my Sister. We had two rooms on the second floor across from each other. Owners are wonderful, treat you like old friends. Food was amazing. Easy to get to from the Tidewater area and the food in Chincoteague is outstanding. Highly recommend this property if you need to destress, unwind, find your inner peace, or just sit still. Perfect trip at the perfect Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sdlmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Church
8.8 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
10.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
9.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
10.4 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pocomoke City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden and the Sea B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden and the Sea B&B Inn

Property: Garden and the Sea B&B Inn
Address: 4188 Nelson Road, New Church, VA 23415
Location: United States > Virginia > New Church
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in New Church
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden and the Sea B&B Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Victorian near Chincoteague Island! Escape to the Garden and Sea Inn for an elegant, yet casual respite. Enjoy our spacious rooms with large private bathrooms, mostly with jacuzzi. Visit the Eastern Shore's charming, quaint towns and marinas - we are ideally located for those who plan to visit not only Chincoteague Island, but also the rest of the Eastern Shore. Relax on one of our porches or at the heated outdoor pool. Pets welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Garden and the Sea B&B Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing