We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden and Sea Inn; July 2012”
Review of Garden and Sea Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden and Sea Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 New Church B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Found this place because we needed a dog (grey hound) friendly place to stay near the NASA Wallops facility (near Chincoteague). The Garden and Sea Inn exceeded our expectations. The various accommodations for dogs (allowed in the room , have several acres for walking, and fenced area adjacent to pool) can't be beat. Though the facilities are very nice, its really the attention and effort put forth by the Inn owners that made us feel immediately comfortable. Lastly, if you stay here, don't miss the breakfast! We will definitely return the G&S Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank santa176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 293 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Already planning to return here next summer. The inn is beautiful, spacious, clean, and has many nice extra touches most b&bs don't even think of (port wine for sipping, bath salts, beach chairs, cold creamers in the fridge to go with your in-room coffeepot...) Innkeepers are nice and helpful - and the breakfast they served was gourmet. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sglake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My husband and I had a great time - the innkeepers were really hospitable, the breakfast was amazing (fresh fruit, homemade yogurt, homemade bread and THEN a main course - we never had lunch after eating all that!), and the room was really charming. Great place for a romantic getaway!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CheeryTraveller30242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I was looking to going to Chincoteague for a relaxing weekend and stumbled across this B&B online. I am so glad I decided to stay there! It was absolutely beautiful and well maintained. The gardens were fantastic and the rooms, and parlors were beautiful I wanted to take my dog and this is a pet friendly B&B which actually makes your pet feel wanted - provided dog dishes, treats and towels to clean them at the door if they got dirty. They even have a kennel right next to the pool so the dog can be in there while you swim. They thought of everything! I stayed in the Chantilly room which was decorated in a very romantic decor and had an amazing bathroom with 2 pediastal sinks and a 2 person whirlpool tub which I enjoyed both nights I was there! They will even prebook a boat trip around Assateague for you when you make your reservations. Their dining room is beautiful and I can't say enough about their delicious breakfasts. The couple who own the place are German and cook some German dishes which were very good. They were also very friendly, helpful and interesting to talk to! I have already referred several people to the B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This inn has a great location for visiting various locations on the Eastern Shore. It is about 15-20 minutes to Chincoteague Island and about one hour to the Assateague National Seashore (where they allow pets on the beach). We loved the Chardonnay room, which has a cathedral ceiling and skylights over the jacuzzi. It also had a handicapped accessible shower. The innkeepers provide everything for pets from blankets to towels and treats. Pets are not permitted in the pool area, so they have dog kennel/run outside that you can see from the pool. They provided excellent guidance on pet-friendly activities (restaurants, beaches, boat ride).

The breakfasts were fantastic--eggs benedict with smoked salmon and asparagus one day, then banana pancakes with homemade blueberry syrup the next, and individual bacon quiches on the last day with a buttermilk biscuit.

Another special feature of the inn was the dining room and small kitchen for guests in the Garden House. Since our dining options were limited with the dog, we were able to do take-out from Ray's Seafood Shack and eat in our inn's dining room that evening. It was the perfect solution!

Room Tip: We really liked the main Victorian House, specifically the Chardonnay Room on the first floor and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelBugVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Last minute weekend getaway planned by my Sister. We had two rooms on the second floor across from each other. Owners are wonderful, treat you like old friends. Food was amazing. Easy to get to from the Tidewater area and the food in Chincoteague is outstanding. Highly recommend this property if you need to destress, unwind, find your inner peace, or just sit still. Perfect trip at the perfect Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdlmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Still one of the most charming and inviting places we've been! Thomas and Doro are the warmest innkeepers and really make you feel right at home. We have stayed in several different rooms and just love the grounds, the pool and all the lovely amenities. Love that they are pet friendly as well. Don't miss this gem!

Room Tip: Pick rooms with the king beds! They are sumptuous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyToGetAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Church
10.5 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#3 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,295 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#2 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,373 reviews
10.4 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#1 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
809 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Garden and Sea Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden and Sea Inn

Address: 4188 Nelson Rd, New Church, VA 23415-3151
Location: United States > Virginia > New Church
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in New Church
Price Range: $140 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden and Sea Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Victorian near Chincoteague Island! Escape to the Garden and Sea Inn for an elegant, yet casual respite. Enjoy our spacious rooms with large private bathrooms, mostly with jacuzzi. Visit the Eastern Shore's charming, quaint towns and marinas - we are ideally located for those who plan to visit not only Chincoteague Island, but also the rest of the Eastern Shore. Relax on one of our porches or at the outdoor pool. Pets welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Garden and Sea Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing