We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Used to be much better”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ray's Shanty

Ray's Shanty
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in New Church
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wheaton, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Used to be much better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We started going to Ray's in 2005, and we loved it. Fresh seafood, good family run service and fun ambiance. Unfortunately, the last three years we have gone have not been so good, the fish is always fishy and the prices have gone way up and one grilled tuna I got made me sick as a dog. Tonight we spent $100 on four people, no appetizers, no alcohol. The flounder was super fishy and had the skin on, the tuna was fishy, the steamed shrimp was very bland and the "baked" potatoes were boiled. Do have to say the fried shrimp was excellent. The service is good, but they are ALWAYS busy, so your server is not going to be giving you their undivided attention. Next year we will save some time and money and look for a good seafood place that's actually on Chincoteague Island.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    43
    15
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glen Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good food but a bit pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

we stopped at rays for lunch at the recommendation of a native. located in what looks like an old warehouse Rays is filled with memorabilia of older days on the islands. That's always fun to look around. I'll say that the blackened mahi I had for lunch was the most succulent fish had in my eight days in the Chincoteague area. any tartar sauce or other toppings would certainly have ruined it, so I passed on them.
my wife had a dozen steam clams which she initially thought was just a tad over cooked but she almost cried when she dropped one on the floor.
french fries were good; Hush Puppies not so much.they were too big and a little mushy.
wifes meal was good, assorted shellfish, steamed and fried and she was happy with it.
my mahi platter, though delicious, was only my fish in filet, french fries, a couple hush puppies, coleslaw, pickle and a coke at 21 dollars. this would be in expensive place for lunch for a family of 4.
but if you're on your way in it's just a little bit down the road on 175 off of 13, and if you're before checkin time you might wanna stop here for lunch; the native highly recommended the prime rib.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HalibutOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“Best seafood so far”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

My family and I had eaten at this place in the past and had to try it again. Food was just as good the second time. It was the best seafood we had on our vacation so far. Service was just fair but food made up for it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smoothjazz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great food, cold beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We got a tip to come here from a local while staying on Chincoteague Island. The seafood was awesome ( mostly served fried) and the beer was served in frosted mugs.. Short drive from the hotels on the island just past nasa.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tellithowitis06111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice seafood!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We went to Ray's on their lobster night. We had a party of six and arrived around 6pm. We waited only about 15 min to be seated. We had the all you can eat shrimp, lobster, crab cakes, and two kid meals. Everything was very good, and we didn't have to wait long on our food. Shrimp refills were brought out quickly, and they were always steaming and fresh. One note, lobster night starts at 5, but at 6:30 there were only two left! If you want lobster, be sure to get there early.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jdwags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ray's Shanty also viewed

 
Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to Ray's Shanty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing