We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Heavenly.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sultana Oualidia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Sultana Oualidia
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Oualidia
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Heavenly.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Wonderful hospitality and we genuinely enjoyed our retreat. Amazing 4-hand massages, a wonderful boutique hotel experience on the coast. The waves did not allow for surf, but we did enjoy a boat trip and great Moroccan cuisine. Management was superb.

Room Tip: All rooms have their unique charm - can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    47
    12
    9
    8
See reviews for
85
271
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

As you drive down the hill towards the stunning lagoon you start to realise what a fantastic setting this fabulous hotel enjoys and as you are greeted by the ever courteous, friendly staff you know that the hotel more than lives up to its setting. The rooms are really comfortable, with thoughtful touches like the open fire, i-pod dock, straw hats and basket to use when you visit the beach and the hot sea water jacuzzi on your private terrace - bliss! The spa offers a range of treatments - the massage is a must have experience. We really enjoyed all our meals at the hotel, it was all delicious and reasonably priced and served by friendly, knowledgable staff. When sitting at the end of the boardwalk pier having a coffee, our very lovely waiter brought us some wool shawls as he realised the wind had strengthened and we could be cold, now that's service. We also took the opprtunity to have a Moroccan cooking lesson from the chef. We can't wait to return and although we would love to recommend La Sultana to everyone, we would be quite happy if it stayed our special secret!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We've been in many palace hotels in Morocco, but this place is the best ever seen. Service is excellent, people are attentive, helpful and very nice.
Our room (junior suite) was lovely with a fireplace and hot sea water jacuzzi on the terrace. Beds are large and confortable.
The Spa is beautifull, with the long blue swiming-pool (with very warm water) and the staff was efficient.
The restaurant was also very good (seafood was excellent) with a very nice point of view.
The garden was clean, with a lot of different plants and a nice green grass.
We've been for only 1 night, but would have stayed much more longer.

Alexandre

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is the most luxurious hotel I have ever stayed. It is not pretentious at all and the staff purely care to provide you with an amazing experience. Our young children were very welcomed and provided daily with buckets and spades for the beach!!

Very unlike us we did not leave the hotel for the 5 days we were there. Only 11 bedrooms and such a calm atmosphere. We were able to eat breakfast on the terrace, lunch on the beach decking and dinner in the restaurant.

We were there for New Year 2012 in their winter. But the sky was perfect blue every day and lots of sunshine. Our suite was huge, I think it was deluxe suite.

The food was lovely, not too expensive and served with first class service. Every detail is thought of in this hotel.

A nice touch is the manager who comes around every day and chats to each guest to check everything is okay with your stay.

We transferred from Marrakesh, do be aware it is a four hour drive. Interesting countryside on the way though.

It was a big treat for us but worth it. A really magical setting in the lagoon where you can hibernate from the world and truly recharge.

Room Tip: They are all amazing! They were in the middle of building a tree house for the 12th bedroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahManchester75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

La Sultana is truly a wonderful haven, which even when full over the New Year period, still managed to exude a peaceful and gracious atmosphere.
The excellent staff are charming, helpful and handsome, all of which adds to the special ambiance of the hotel. With only 11 rooms - but over 50 staff - a sense of warm Moroccan hospitality is prevalent at all times.
The extensive and varied choice of food is matched by the expertise of the chef, his staff and the waiters; dinner in the Berber tent, complete with wood fire and cushions for reclining, is not to be missed. Equally, take advantage of the champagne picnic on the beach, served by one of the delightful waiters.

Our large room had a huge four-poster bed and a log fire, which the staff thoughtfully lit for us when required. The spacious outside terrace, complete with jacuzzi, made us spend more time in the hotel than we usually do!
We look forward to returning to what is now one of our favourite finds in the world!!

Room Tip: Go for the suite Goulette
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stunjos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Overall:
We stayed here from 28th December to 2nd of January. The hotel is situated on a slope overlooking the lagoon, which extends into the Atlantic Ocean. The area around Oualidia is still very authentic Morocco. The Pirate apartment on the top floor is an absolute dream, with beautiful furniture, an air of mystique (indeed recalling pirates and buccaneers!), and sprawling views in all directions. From our terrace, we could see the splendid coastline with thundering waves, and thousands of birds. In contrast, the inland landscape is peaceful, with a couple of Sampan style boats carrying passengers to and fro. The hotel is perfectly set up for travellers who seek tranquility and seclusion; although we met other guests at dinner time, for the most part, it felt as if we were occupying the place all by ourselves.

Service:
Staff members are very friendly and helpful, and usually speak several languages. The New Year’s party was well organized, with delicious food and live Moroccan music, and showed very good taste. We were given very useful suggestions and information. We felt we were treated with the most gracious Moroccan hospitality, and the staff wanted to make sure we felt happy and at home.
Breakfast is a feast, and dinner is excellent, with a daily changing menu – exceptional seafood (arguably the best in Morocco) but also fantastic meat dishes and vegetables.
We swam in the beautiful indoor pool (outdoor too cold in winter!) but did not use the spa/hammam.

Sight-seeing:
We enjoyed scenic walks on the deserted beach just across the lagoon from the hotel. We had a great time exploring towns and cities and old ruins in the region of Doukkala (the province in which Oualidia is located), including El Jadida and Azemmour, and the Kasbah Boulaouane (not the easiest drive but highly recommended).

Room Tip: Pirate Apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc-Olivier C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Senegal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

How suprise we were when arrived at "LA SULTANA". The is located along a huge lagoon and surrounded by greenery. A very beautifull landscape, peacefull, really what we want to have a rest. The architecture is old moroccan style and the room have chimneys that can be used to heat the room. Very wonderfull in this winter, better than the electric heat. Daddy define the hotel very original that change from stays in the hotels located in popular and big town.
The hotel is very clean with all facilities and a very good restaurant. The staff is wondefull, very nice, highly available event the manager of the hotel. It seems that each client its own staff attention.
A romantic and peacefull place to be and to recommend to parents and friends. Really it's a very pleasant and relaxing place.

Daddy and Midou

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Midou_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oualidia
0.8 mi away
L'Hippocampe
L'Hippocampe
#7 of 9 in Oualidia
3.5 of 5 stars 104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Beldi
Dar Beldi
#2 of 9 in Oualidia
4.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
1.3 mi away
L'Araignee Gourmande
L'Araignee Gourmande
#5 of 9 in Oualidia
3.5 of 5 stars 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
L'Initiale Hotel-Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#17 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 722 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mira Palace
Hotel Mira Palace
#1 of 9 in Al Hoceima
4.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sultana Oualidia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sultana Oualidia

Property: La Sultana Oualidia
Address: No 3 Parc a Huitres, Oualidia 24252, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Doukkala-Abda Region > Oualidia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Oualidia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sultana Oualidia 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your La Sultana Oualidia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sultana Oualidia Hotel Oualidia
La Sultana Hotel Oualidia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing