We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food much better than the service”
Review of Ostrea II

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oualidia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ostrea II
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Oualidia
Zuerich
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Food much better than the service”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Disclosure: We only had dinner here.
We came here on a cold and windy May evening, and were the only clients in the restaurant when we arrived - and the head waiter turned off the football on TV as we walked in... perhaps this was "our" first mistake. The football was quickly replaced by loud 90's ballads, which I asked the waiter to turn down (2nd?)...
We ordered Oysters and a saffron seafood soup as appetizers - both excellent! followed by Oyster Soupiere (very creamy - but flavorful), grilled Pulpo, and other fresh Oysters - all very nice, very fresh, and well prepared. It is clear that the chef is very well trained and really knows how to cook seafood.
The downside of the evening was the head waiter. His demeanor was not welcoming, he seemed distracted, and we ended up making all of our requests and interactions with the junior waiter... even though we were the only clients in the place until about 15min before we left. For a restaurant that tries to position itself as fine dining, this kind of service does not impress me or make me want to come back ...the food on the other hand did.
I do actually recommend the Ostrea II for the food, ...but perhaps NOT on a quiet evening where there is a football match on TV.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    33
    11
    7
    10
See reviews for
22
37
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nantes, France
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Great spot for lunch or dinner, the view is great during day time, fantastic fresh sea food, great value for money and friendly and efficient service! The oysters could not be more fresh than that, straight from the sea! Book ahead if you wish a crab or lobster to ensure they still have some left...

Room Tip: all 5 rooms face the lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IfuWeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Although we were the only ones as we arrived at 10h00 PM (we called them on the road to reserve) we had an excellent dinner of fresh seafood and fish. The grilled oysters with smoked salmon were particularly tasty. Te waiters were friendly and everything was perfect. Definitely one of the best seafood restaurants in Morocco.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Yves187147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almayate Bajo, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is a real restaurant. With a chef who knows how to cook, to grill, to surprise. Try the soupiere a huitres, des huitres gratinées, le plat royale avec langouste, langoustines, crevettes etc. We certainly come back as often as we can.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DULCEYSAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We've been coming here for years and find Ostrea II is still the best place to eat oysters and seafood in Oualidia. The cooked food is less appealing but we adored the new crustacean platter. It included crab, langoustine, shimp, langoustes, all perfectly cooked and fresh. The cooked fish and foods on the menu are less interesting. We come here primarily for the oysters. As to the hotel, the rooms are clean and modern with comfortable beds, but nothing special, except for the wonderful view over the lagoon. If you like to take a nap in the afternoon, stay away as you hear conversation and music from the restaurant below all afternoon. Breakfast coffee improved but we were disappointed that eggs were no longer available for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joyceheard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA, USA
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

On the recombination of the owner of our Essaouira riad we stopped by for this snack driving up to Casablanca and did not try other menu choices. We shared a dozen oysters and they were great, fresh tasty and free of shell debris.. Also had octopus salad and that was evidently over cooked to begin with and therefore tough. .But, ahhh, the oysters!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinstripe9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We went here because it is recommended in all the guide books. The evening was a disaster. We were the only clients, yet the waiter could not be bothered to serve us until called repeatedly by the chef. Our starters were acceptable, but nothing beyond that. One maim course, a soupiere of oysters, consisted of four shrivelled oysters (this is supposed to be an oyster farm!) in what apppeared to be luke warm cream. The other ish, spagettis aux fruits de mer, was on the verge of being off, greasy and just smelt off. At this stage we just left the dishes being too demoralised to complain to a waiter who had consistently demonstrated he ccouldn't be bothered. Incidently although the wine list sshowed four moroccan roses only an indifferent and overpriced french VDQS was offered.
When we told our hosts of our experience, they told us that two other sets of clients had voiced similar complaints.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloydChorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oualidia hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oualidia hotels
0.6 mi away
Dar Beldi
Dar Beldi
#2 of 9 in Oualidia
231 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel L'Hippocampe
Hotel L'Hippocampe
#7 of 9 in Oualidia
117 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Sultana Oualidia
La Sultana Oualidia
#1 of 9 in Oualidia
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
L'Initiale Hotel-Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Auberge Oualidia Dream
Auberge Oualidia Dream
#1 of 2 in Oualidia
71 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Manzar
El Manzar
#2 of 3 in Oualidia
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ostrea II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ostrea II

Property: Ostrea II
Address: Parc a Huitres et Coquillages 007, Oualidia, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Doukkala-Abda Region > Oualidia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Oualidia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing