We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful location and great bird watching” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Hippocampe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Hippocampe
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Oualidia
Ironbridge
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful location and great bird watching”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

This hotel has a terrific position as it overlooks Oualidia Lagoon. The patio is literally yards from the beach. This location is wonderful for nature lovers and surfers. Try the beach for barbecued spider crab. The Hotel has basic rooms and a large restaurant / lounge / bar area. When we went it was somewhat cold and we were the only guests for the first part of our stay. I would recommend this hotel when the weather is warmer and the hotel more busy. The staff are helpful but one gets the impression of a lack of direction from the management. The food is excellent ( especially the fish !!! ) and very reasonably priced. You get served a large breakfast with pancakes, bread, cheese, eggs, fruit and preserves. I think that this hotel as the potential to be a terrific place with great opportunities for those interested in bird watching. Do go with the boatman for a lagoon trip around the time of high tide. Much praise should go to the gardener !!

Room Tip: In January there are loads of rooms. Take your pick. The ones at the top of the hotel grounds have v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    46
    24
    10
    10
See reviews for
48
35
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Check-in was very fast and we were given a room within 5 minutes. We can see the lagoon and ocean from our room and it was breath-taking. The room was simple but homely. The heater was wonderful! The bathroom was simple but clean and sensible. There was hot water. All in all, I love the room. There's no TV but you don't need TV. If you are bored, you can borrow a book from the restaurant. The hotel is at the lagoon itself and that was awesome. We ate at the restaurant and the food was superb. Service was wonderful with smiley staff all around. They lit a fire in the evening and it added much to the romantic atmosphere. We had tea at the sofa area in the restaurant and the staff offered to switch the TV on for us. They were very obliging. We had oysters there - for lunch and dinner and it was super delicious. The staff can speak English and were friendly.

Oualidia is very quiet during winter but we love it. It was romantic. It was a perfect place to unwind after 15 days around Morocco. The garden at the hotel was beautiful with roses and all sorts of flower. It's a really beautiful place. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_spinsterella_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolus-d'Oleron, France
Level Contributor
143 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

At this time of year Oualidia is practically in hibernation. We were the only guests in this small, but charming hideaway. We had actually stayed in the hotel 30 years ago, and it hasn't changed much except for more modern facilities. The view of the beach and the lagoon from the restaurant terrasse is still very attractive. The rooms are clean and the bed was good. It is rare these days to find rooms without TV and telephone, but then everyone bring alon their iPhones and iPads, so who needs TV???
So we relaxed on our way between Essaouira and Rabat. Oulalidia is a bustle in the summer and during school vacations. We enjoyed the quietness and the sunset. Oulaidia has always been famous for their oysters. Here they literally are taken out of the water just before being served. Probably safest to have them in Oualidia than elsewhere in Morocco.
Compared to prices elsewhere I think they may have to come down a little (unless they prefer to avoid the noisy crowd). There is a limit to how much you want to spend for quiet.

Room Tip: They do have two wonderful mini suites facing the beach. If you can negotiate the price down a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FHN21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus Beach
Level Contributor
150 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We overnighted here on the way from Casablanca to Essouira. The setting on the lagoon is fabulous (you can walk around along the beach) with a dining terrace overlooking the lagoon. The owner is very proud of his gardens, created on an English style with moorish tiled steps down to the dining building, and the blue climbing solanums were flowering very prettily against the salmon coloured walls (with purple accents) but the lawn outside our rooms had not been mown in quite a while. The rooms are extremely basic, but clean. It was part of a tour, and I suspect it would be very cheap. Included breakfasts were ok. If you are trying to save money it's a good option.

Room Tip: I think they'd all be pretty much the same - you walk in the open air to the dining area so the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussietraveller47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

This beachside hotel is a perfect spot because it has its own "private" beach away from the packed public beach. The restaurant was delicious and with breakfast plus lunch or dinner included it was worth the price. Rooms are a bit spare, but all you'll do is sleep there anyway. The bougainvillas and gardening was so gorgeous.

Room Tip: Try for numbers 1-12 for the best morning views over the lagoon or the honeymoon suites by the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanoi, vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

this hotel is located right next to the beach with beautiful garden surounded. But rooms are not good, too old. I personaly think its a excellent place for eating, not a good place for stay over night.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotmaori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oualidia hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

There did not seem to be a lot of choice in Oualidia. The Sultana looked in a different league to L'Hippocampe but then it was a good deal more expensive and with four children we needed three rooms.

We chose this hotel on the recommendation of a family member. It is right on the beach and so has excellent views over the lagoon. The children loved being on the beach for a bit.

Oualidia is clearly a very popular seaside destination for Moroccans and I guess the demand for accommodation pushes up the pricing.

There was something of a holiday camp feel to the place as the rooms seemed rather like stalls or beach huts. They were very basically furnished but clean and comfortable enough and with air conditioning that was effective. No frills at all.

The garden was beautiful and probably the highlight for the hotel. Sea water pool (cold!).

The staff were friendly and helpful but don't expect any help with your baggage.

The restaurant was fine. Not a wow culinary experience but well cooked.

The slight surprise was found later when comparing the cost of three nights in L'Hippocampe (albeit half board) with four nights in Riad Chabnate in Essouira with breakfast each day and dinner on two of those nights. L'Hippocampe was + 1500 Euros - Chabnate just over 1100 Euros! Of course, the hotels are chalk and cheese - one is on the beach with a pool the other is a Riad in town but in my starring L'Hippocampe scores two stars and Chabnate five.

Tip : A good thing to do is to make a deal with one of the water taxi men (We went with Captain Mustapha in Nigri) to take you off down the lagoon for lunch on the sands. Basically a barbeque with whatever fish you ask for - clams, razor clams, big crayfish, dorade etc. Delicious !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shoots30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oualidia hotels
0.8 mi away
La Sultana Oualidia
La Sultana Oualidia
#1 of 9 in Oualidia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Beldi
Dar Beldi
#2 of 9 in Oualidia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.6 mi away
L'Araignee Gourmande
L'Araignee Gourmande
#6 of 9 in Oualidia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
L'Initiale Hotel-Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Auberge Oualidia Dream
Auberge Oualidia Dream
#1 of 3 in Oualidia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Duccali
Dar Duccali
#1 of 2 in Oualidia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hippocampe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hippocampe

Property: L'Hippocampe
Address: 2 Rue du Palais, Oualidia, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Doukkala-Abda Region > Oualidia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Oualidia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your L'Hippocampe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Hippocampe Hotel Oualidia
l Hippocampe Oualidia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing