We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Araignee Gourmande

Araignee Gourmande
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Oualidia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
NSW
Level Contributor
121 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lots of seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We just ordered the Paella, but they must have had lots of seafood to use up because they kept bringing out stuff for us, complimentary...two types of cockles, mussels, harira,etc. By the time our paella arrived we were already full!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelnblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    109
    29
    20
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fresh fish and great dessert”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

8 o'clock on a Monday evening in early July but we were the only diners in this large,spartan restaurant (two tables arrived later) which affected the ambience somewhat.We sat on the covered terrace on the beachside which was pleasant enough.We ordered the 140 dirham (less than £12) menu -salad/fried fish fillets/grilled fish/dessert.Salad was decent, the fillets plentiful and not greasy and the whole grilled fish of seabass size (2 each)and very fresh. A free un-ordered dish of a large plate of sea urchins was a nice surprise. We were asked if we wanted more fish but were happy with what we had.The orange tart was excellent-slices of orange in syrup on puff pastry had an intense sweet marmalade flavour.
Service was friendly and helpful. On our way out I pointed out some large seashells in a fish tank(otherwise empty) and a waiter noticed and presented us with a couple-nice touch.
Food was well done and good value,although the interior is a little shabby and spartan-recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fruits De Nightmare...!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We ate dinner here last night on hearing that this was the place to eat sea food in ouailidia, how wrong our recommendations were.
From the outside the place looks nice & appealing, however, once we were seated the restaurant is dirty & shabby & in desperate need of modernisation.
We ordered two "fruits de mer" which worryingly took no longer than five minutes to reach our table. The content of the platter was shocking, apart from the oysters which tasted nice & fresh. The lobsters was tiny & resembled the texture of a rubber band, the spider crab was dirty & covered in barnacles, again over cooked & had to asked for utensils to be able to eat the crab. King prawns were nice & large but were like bullets to eat. Mussels & clams were raw, & I mean not cooked at all! Sea urchins were so small there was nothing to eat. Condiments arrived after the platter was eaten. We were also presented with a bowl of moules which were filthy, covered in barnacles & the lazy chef hasn't even bothered to remove the beards...! As being a chef myself of 16 years I have never known food like this to leave a professional kitchen.
Maybe this restaurant is operating on its passed high reviews but there is dyer need for mass inprovement across the board.....

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Littlechef77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
198 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A must if you are travelling along the coast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

When you drive down to Oualidia and walk into this restaurant you will be amazed by the view of the lagoon. Wonderful sandy enclosed bay. L'Araignee Gourmande is fairly basic but has some of the best seafood anywhere. The cold Atlantic provides superb oysters, lobsters, king crab, and as a delicacy...sea urchins...not easy to find anywhere. Grilled fish and salads complemented a magnificent lunch.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Perrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
135 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“First-class fish and seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

The setting is magnificent, with a view over the sea. We were there completely off-season but it was reasonably busy (both tourists and Moroccans) even so - in summer it must be as packed as the rest of Oualidia - and perhaps the waiters under more stress.

As it was, the service was fine, and at both meals we ate there we were given extras "on the house" - mussels, some calamari, some baby clams.

The "araignée" crab is absolutely wonderful, as is their fish (which they show you before they cook it if it's a biggish one; we had a sea bass that was just perfect).

One slight irritation was the extremely mediocre, tasteless salad for the starter - thank goodness it improved after that. Even though it is a fish restaurant, and most people were eating seafood starters, improving the salad would be a good move!

The place also serves wine, which we also appreciated.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bren_KFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Araignee Gourmande also viewed

Oualidia, Doukkala-Abda Region
Oualidia, Doukkala-Abda Region
 
Oualidia, Doukkala-Abda Region
Oualidia, Doukkala-Abda Region
 

Been to Araignee Gourmande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing