We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic food good be better”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Tamarin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tamarin
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tamarin
westmidlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Basic food good be better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

Have stayed at this hotel on 2 long stay hols. The staff are fab and very helpfull. The rooms are very basic i.e bed table ketttle and phone ,. There is a tele but only french channels. If you are a suirfer then you will know this hotel . The beach is a big let down compared to most in Mauritius ,its dirty and watch out for broken glass. The area is very poor but if you want a base to tour the island then go for it but dont expect anything of a 4star . I would put it at a 2star.The biggest let down is the food. And unfortunatly there are not alot of restuarent`s in the area worth visting. May three now but again dont expect 5star restuarent`s.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marieWestmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    94
    35
    19
    18
See reviews for
52
104
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

The Hotel Tamarin is strategically placed at the Tamrarin beach at the mouth of backwaters and being the only hotel in the near vicinity, it presents a great option to stay. However, surprisingly, despite the Tamarin beach being known for surfing, the hotel itself did not attract too much of the younger crowd, who preferred to stay elsewhere. It was, however, with its calm and serene setting, the ideal place for older crowds and mos of the crowd at the resort had checked in to relax. The service was great though the food did not have too much variety of vegetarians. However, if you are looking to surf, best to use the Hotel Tamarin as a base. Otherwise, just stay at Flic en Flac

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AswinPalanivel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Tamarin for 5 nights last November. We did alot of research before coming away and chose this due to good reviews on Trip Advisor. Tamarin is a very quiet resort and is probably not for those who are seeking a crazy nightlife! The hotel is quiet and well-kept. We had a very pleasant stay here and the main reason for our few days here was to chill out and 'do not very much at all' and this place was great for that. The hotel staff were nice and pretty efficient. The food was of a good standard....breakfast and evening meals were included in our price. Breakfast was always nice with a good selection to choose from. Evening meals were of a buffet style and were satisfactory, some nights better than others. The evening entertainment was good and well worth watching. A nice beach a stones throw from the hotel. The only thing we noticed is that at aged almost 40, we were probably the youngest guests there! 75% of the guests were of the more mature variety, not that this was a problem but think the hotel probably have a connection with Saga maybe? On a positive though, if you are looking for a quiet break, then at least you can be assured that there will be no rowdy guests! All in all a very nice hotel. We had a warm welcome upon arrival and the rooms were of a basic but good standard and regularly cleaned. We would recommend this hotel for a good mid-range place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank becksters71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2011

Rooms are very basic. No fridge unless you pay extra for it. No little luxuries at all. Although only a 3Q thought it would be better than it was.
Rooms were kept clean and air conditioning worked well. There is nothing at Tamarin Bay. Nowhere to walk, unless you are prepared to risk walking through the river where it meets the sea, which looked a tad dangerous to me.
Food extremely disappointing. Some people were saying it was acceptable, but didn't agree;guess its what you are used to. No fresh fish. Very few good salads. Very rarely saw a tomato. Mostly pasta or casserole type cooking.
Staff were friendly, although not always efficient. We didn't get our alarm call for 4.30 a.m. the day we were leaving; luckily woke up.
Jazz was good most evenings.
Taxis were very good, reliable and inexpensive. You needed to use them.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirlh1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginie25, Front Office Manager at Hotel Tamarin, responded to this review, February 21, 2011
dear Sir,

i can really explain to you that in all our room there is no fridge as stipulated in the brochure but you have the oppotunity to hire one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tamarin hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2011

We have recently returned from a 2 week stay in the Tamarin Hotel and would recommend it thoroughly.this hotel is a great place to stay in sub tropical Mauritius.It is set back from the beach and just by a local fishing village.The rooms are most comfortable,well lit and each has a patio or balcony.The athmosphere is extremely friendly and the staff delightful.the Food is delicious and varied.There is plenty to do a brillant swimming pool ,cleaned every day,with towels without charge,tennis,snorkling,kayaking
and easy accessible trips to other parts of the island.There is entertainment provided every night .Free computer access,a reading room with plenty of books ,also a safe without charge in each room.The Management keep a careful eye on everything with a very helpful reception desk to suport their guests.We look forward to returning to Mauritius and staying at the Tamarin Hotel

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spencer094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2011

Retro bedrooms and bathrooms still have original fittings. Beds dreadful. Very noisy. Whole hotel needs a good clean especially the pool which is filthy.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank coolnan027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginie25, Front Office Manager at Hotel Tamarin, responded to this review, February 21, 2011
dear Sir,

thanks for your response.

i kindly confirm that since the hotel has been bought 6 years ago, the bathrooms have been renovated keeping the 1970's style which is in trend actually.

for the swimming pool exactly during this period we had algus in the pool which has been resolved 3 days after.

you can check on trip advisor for the guests who were previously at the hotel and you will see the results.

i remain at your entire disposal if you need more information about the Tamarin hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2010

As a previous reviewer mentioned this hotel is not simply retro - most of the fittings in the bedrooms are the original 70's fittings. The taps in our bathroom were ancient and rotated through 200 degrees, leaking constantly. Maintenance staff who tried to repair them said they were beyond repair. The room safe was,inexplicably on the floor of the wardrobe making access difficult and the aircon did not work with any degree of efficiency. The saving grace of this hotel is its staff who go out of their way to be pleasant and helpful, but the whole hotel lacks cohesive management. The evening entrtainment is horrendously loud making conversation at dinner impossible without shouting. Even sitting at the furthest point away by the pool meant we had to shout at one another. Music it is not - it is just noise - played for the most part for the benefit of staff. Don't dare to ask the chap in charge to turn down the amplifier - he is the one exeption to my comment about staff - about the rudest and crass I have come across. Did we enjoy our Mauritian stay? Yes but mainly because of the island and its people - not because of this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dottybun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamarin
0.4 mi away
Tamarina Golf & Spa Boutique Hotel
2.0 mi away
The Bay
The Bay
#1 of 2 in Riviere Noire
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Aanari Hotel & Spa
Aanari Hotel & Spa
#9 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
3.8 mi away
Anelia Resort & Spa
Anelia Resort & Spa
#6 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#5 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tamarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamarin

Property: Hotel Tamarin
Address: Tamarin Bay, Tamarin, Mauritius 90921
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Tamarin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tamarin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tamarin 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tamarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarin Hotel
Hotel Tamarin Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing