We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B in a great location”
Review of The River House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The River House
Ranked #1 of 7 Tamarin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Thank you to Angela for making this a special place.

We have stayed in Mauritius many times as the children have grown up and it has many happy memories for us.
We prefer this part of the island as it is less developed than the north. The location of the River House suggests a rental car is a good idea, although the village across the river does offer a supermarket, takeaway and nice restaurants.
The "street food" available for the local public beach on Sunday is a must do experience.

Angela is very knowledgeable and ensures all of here guests felt at home.

We loved it and will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SurreyImp2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for The River House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 121 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2014

Stayed at River House for four nights in January 2014 after having found the hotel website online. We had stayed in Mauritius several times but we didn't know of this gem, but now we've found it, we look forward to staying there again! For the first two nights of our stay we were the only guests, but even when at least two of the other rooms were occupied, it was very quiet and private and we felt like the only guests. Our spacious double room (at the side of the main house) was beautifully appointed, with a private veranda from where we could watch the various birds, jumping fish and giant fruit bats. Breakfast was served on the veranda of the main house with fresh fruit juices, bread, jams, yoghurts and fruit laid out each morning. Angela was a friendly and helpful hostess, and make our stay even more enjoyable. We will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samatee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

First we would like to say thank you to Angela for our lovely stay in Tamarin Mauritius. We arrived early after a long flight from the UK and received a lovely welcome from Angela and Lucky (the dog). River House is in a gorgeous setting with amazing views of the mountain and the river and only a two minute stroll to the beach. We stayed for 10 days and hired a car from Honey Rentals as recommended by Angela and managed in that time to see most of the Island. I would say that not all of Mauritius was as we expected the North is very commercialised but the South has some very beautiful quiet beaches and is still quite undeveloped. It takes about an hour to drive from The River House to the South and we would recommend The Morne Peninsular our favourite spot for swimming. We were lucky that during our time we were neighbour to a lovely lady from South Africa who was staying in the room next door for three months and this friendship added to our holiday. Tamarin village has a great supermarket and also a couple of good places to eat. Although we did not like Flic en Flac that much as a resort there are some lovely restaurants there and we would recommend Domain Anna. Driving around the island is easy although it does pay to invest in a good local map as some of the roads are new and not always shown on the tourist map they give you with the car. Angela who has lived on the Island for over 30 years will tell you where to go and how to get to places.
Our room was spacious and very clean with the most perfect view. The breakfast is lovely although I think Angela could add some new choices to her repertoire as if you are staying more than a couple of days you may want more. For us thought it was sufficient.
Overall we would highly recommend the River House as a excellent choice especially if like us you like to avoid the big resorts and prefer small individual accommodation. We hope we will return some day. Thank you Angela once again and we wish you good luck with your new enterprises we hope you will look us up in the UK soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 5 which had its own veranda and the most perfect view.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen_Suffolk210101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

First off all, thank you Angela for an amazing stay.
After a little search, because we got directions for coming out off the North, and we came out the South, we got a warm welcome from Angela, who made us feel immediately at home. We had the standard room, which is in the house, and we loved it. Beautiful woods and spacious bathroom. Luckely there was no other room available, because Angela was talking to upgrade us to the more spacious rooms, but we really adored the room. We also enjoyed our own cooked meal, because we were allowed to use the kitchen and everything in it. Nice envinroment, nice walk on a beautiful beach, shopping and good restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petrajacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

In October 2013 we stayed for several nights in this charming B&B. Our room, one of the "spacious double bedrooms", was indeed spacious, very clean and comfortable. Located at the riverbanks, we could enjoy the wonderful setting from our private veranda. Moreover, the rich breakfast, the friendly hostess as well as her courteous staff are quite remarkable. The River House is not difficult to find, however, its location suggests using a rental car. In this respect, we have used it as a basis for exploring most parts of Mauritius except for the north. All in all, we would stay there again and recommend it wholehearted.

Room Tip: Spacious double bedroom with veranda
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeneBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed at the River House at the end of September 2013 and it was just wonderful. The rooms were gorgeous, spacious and verrrrrrry clean. Lovely attention to detail with a fresh flower placed by the bathroom sink daily! With a hammock and verandah to watch the river go by, and a 3 minute walk down a sandy lane to the beach, it really was paradise. Angela was a gracious and friendly hostess, and the staff were all full of smiles. We can't recommend River House highly enough!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R_E_L77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

the owner and staff went all out to make our stay wonderful, the breakfast!wow! Nothing like the waking up to a beautiful riverside sunrise. We loved everything about the riverhouse,for 2 weeks it was our little piece of paradise!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Randy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamarin
0.8 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tamarina Golf & Spa Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
#3 of 18 in Flic En Flac
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Bay
The Bay
#1 of 2 in Riviere Noire
423 reviews
10.3 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,796 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River House

Address: Tamarin Bay, Tamarin, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Tamarin
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tamarin
Price Range: $123 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the West coast of Mauritius in Tamarin famous for its sunny climate, charming fishing village, magnificent sunsets and dolphins. The River House Bed and Breakfast is beside the river and yet next to the Indian Ocean with its waves splashing onto the sands of legendary Tamarin Bay beach. Enjoy surfing, swimming, fishing from a rowboat on the river or a round of golf on a professional 18-hole golf course just behind the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The River House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The River House Tamarin, Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing