We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Experience”
Review of The Mark Addy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Mark Addy
Ranked #1 of 1 Nellysford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brooklyn
1 review
“A Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed January 3, 2009

We just returned from a week-long stay in the "Elena" room at The Mark Addy Inn. Our time there was terrific. The house is spacious, nicely appointed, and peaceful. The hosts were extremely gracious and warm and went out of their way to make sure that we were comfortable. One of the pluses is a guest kitchen with a refrigerator, mircrowave, and coffee maker. The grounds and surrounding countryside are truly magnificent. Make sure you have time to do some sight-seeing.

  • Liked — The owners, the house, and the grounds.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishGBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    74
    25
    11
    15
See reviews for
27
263
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2008

My Husband & I were in Virginia for a wedding & out of luck trying to find a place to stay due to such a popular weekend. The bride & groom had the Rehearsal Dinner at The Mark Addy Inn. The Dinner was delicious & exceeded everyone's expectations. The Innkeepers heard of our dilemma & accommodated us. They were friendly, had a great sense of humor & made our trip a wonderful memory. I enjoyed their love of history, nature & food. The house was elegant yet cozy. The property looked out into the peaceful misty Blue Ridge Mountains. I would recommend this B&B to all family & friends.

  • Liked — the innkeepers & food!
  • Disliked — we couldn't stay another night
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2Travel056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2008

Wow !!! What a trip ! This was the most amazing Bed & Breakfast at which I have ever stayed. The room was very well appointed and spacious, and most of all exceptionally comfortable. I was able to read throughout the house, watch TV, sit on the porch, play the piano, eat dinner, breakfast of course, and watch the clouds and mountains and gorgeous trees blooming. The property is on several acres overlooking the Wintergreen mountains. There is a huge front porch that is very comfortable to sit on and just relax. There were some deer at night. As I walked down the street and long driveway, I was just entranced in the old fashioned days of the Waltons, which was filmed just upthe street. I enjoyed my trip and wish I could live at this place. I felt like was was back home as a kid. What a trip !! The food was exceptional. The innkeepers were very friendly. I was happy !!!

  • Liked — Every room was so different and the food exceptional. The B&B is one big house with incredible rooms.
  • Disliked — I was alone.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank karaalash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2008

Stayed here for two nights in early October 2008. It's good quality bed and breakfast in a lovely locale about 30-45 minutes from downtown Charlottesville with easy access to the Blue Ridge Parkway. Several wineries are nearby.

It is an old house, with creaky floors. But it's not supposed to be like a hotel ... if you want a hotel, go stay in one.

The front part of the house is quite warm on a sunny day. The porches are lovely to sit on, if your room connects. The bed in our room was REALLY comfortable. The breakfast was ok, not wonderful.

The operators are very friendly. If we get a chance, we're likely to go back.

  • Liked — The lovely location and attractiveness of the house
  • Disliked — The creaky floors.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryKarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2008

An absolutely wonderful place! The inn is provincial with Victorian and French flair. The innkeepers were extremely gracious and helpful. The food served at breakfast and dinner is beyond words; inventive presentations of outstandingly delicious fare that makes you anxious to see what they offer next! We also took their "wine lovers scavenger hunt" and had a lot of fun touring the local wineries, sampling many varieties of wines, and looking for clues!

  • Liked — The amazing food
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pacmime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2008

We had the pleasure of staying at “The Mark Addy Inn” during August and could not have enjoyed it more.

The Inn keepers were extremely helpful with suggestions for things to do or see, gave great directions, and made us feel right at home.

After having dinner at the Inn (I highly recommend the lamb chops!) we sat on the front porch with the Blue Ridge Mountains as our view and simply relaxed while taking it all in.

With both the Blue Ridge and Shenandoah surrounding us, it was not so much a question of do we or don’t we go hiking, but rather which one to explore.

If you are looking for a centrally located, cozy B & B, look no further!

  • Liked — Loved being able to have an outstanding dinner right at the Inn.
  • Disliked — Nothing comes to mind.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsbernst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2008

Beautiful B&B situated at the foothills of the Blue Ridge mountains.
The views were gorgeous. The rooms were elegant and well equipped with attached porches for unwinding time.
We opted for the Romantic package that was offered which included wine, cheese, and dinner for two. The meal was definitely 5 star and the inkeepers, Leslie and Rafi were most gracious hosts.
I would definitely return.

  • Liked — Atmosphere and Food
  • Disliked — Nothind
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank VMRC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nellysford
21.8 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,696 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Waynesboro / Stuarts Draft
9.9 mi away
Iris Inn
Iris Inn
#1 of 6 in Waynesboro
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Orchard House Bed and Breakfast
16.8 mi away
The Inn at Sugar Hollow Farm
19.5 mi away
The Boar's Head
The Boar's Head
#9 of 35 in Charlottesville
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mark Addy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mark Addy

Property: The Mark Addy
Address: 56 Rodes Farm Dr, Nellysford, VA 22958-3011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Nellysford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Nellysford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mark Addy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 Guest room inn on Nelson 151 - Virginias vacation Destination - with 7 wineries, 3 craft breweries, a cidery and a distillery within 8 miles. Situated in Rockfish valley with views of The Blue Ridge Mountains. Fine Dining Restaurant on premises. All rates include a 3 course breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Mark Addy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Addy Hotel Nellysford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing