We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“An amazing and quaint B&B close to everything.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mark Addy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Mark Addy
Ranked #1 of 2 Nellysford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing and quaint B&B close to everything.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We loved this place. The room was great and very spacious. The staff was outstanding and saw to every need. Beautiful views of the mountains at sunset, loved having out own porch! Not enough nice things to say.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diguru01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    68
    20
    10
    14
See reviews for
23
236
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We just spent the weekend at the Mark Addy Inn, as a fabulous family event for a "BIG" Birthday celebration, complete with adult children, grandchild and granddog.

What a fabulous time!

Leslie was delightful helping me plan the weekend, including babysitting one night. Dinner at the inn was delicious-- the filet pronounced the best ever by two really serious meat eaters. Breakfasts were, as usual, so very, very tasty. "As usual?" you ask? Yes. We stayed here before, to "test it out" for the celebration. A lovey time then, and we EASILY and HAPPILY decided to return for this big birthday, resplendent with family!

Oh! I didn't even mention the views (superb) or the ambience ( warm and inviting) or the staff (friendly and very helpful). Why would one ever consider staying in a standard hotel chain when the Mark Addy Inn is so close to the vineyards, wineries, hiking, sights and trails? No way! Next time we in nearby, it is The Mark Addy Inn for Us!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The innkeepers, accommodations and dining at the Mark Addy Inn are as welcoming and relaxing as they appear to be in the Inn's promotional material. I needed a relaxing couple of days, and that was the experience I enjoyed. The breakfasts were delightful -- 3 filling courses beautifully presented and served by one of the innkeepers with great attention to keeping coffee cups filled -- and the view of the Blue Ridge on fall mornings was spectacular.
I stayed in Le Jardin room, which was spacious and superclean with a very good bed. My allergies to down and wool were accommodated with no fuss.
Numerous hiking opportunities are close by, and it would take way more than 2 days to visit all the nearby wineries and breweries.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

For a first time B&B experience things didn't go very smoothly, but that was a booking problem, not the fault of the Inn. We liked the staff. Exactly what was expected out of them. I'm going to be average on everything here, (except the location).
When I saw what I had to shell out for these 2 days (no online deals here) I was rather disappointed when we settled into the room. I'm not going to nitpick here, I just kind of feel ripped off.
So, if you're looking for above average B&B, do your homework first, and if you DO stay here, insist on the very best room at the cheapest price you can find and you should be happy.
If you do like we did and stay in a standard room it just isn't worth your bang for the buck.
To the Innkeepers, good luck with that place. Hope all goes well for the future travelers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This Inn has a great location overlooking the Shenandoah Mountains too bad the non-smokers of us could not use the front porch as the owners, smokers, tended to monopolize it. This Inn could do with a major redo-it is really worn down. We stayed 2 nights on a Groupon deal-our room was not cleaned between the two nights and there was a bunch of hair in the shower/bath the first morning (I wonder when it had last been cleaned). The dinner we had there the second night was good. At checkout the last day I inquired about the 10% discount included in the Voucher for dinning there. The clerk asked the owner about it, who was just round the corner from us. She said, loud enough for us to hear, if the couples ask for it give it to them but do NOT volunteer it to others on the same Living Social!!??!!

Room Tip: Don't go there! But, our room location was great, at the front of the house over top the front p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank billwa506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
141 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed for two nights in the room named "The Colonel." It is a large and comfortable space with a door onto a terrace. I saw several other rooms and they do vary in size quite a bit. (probably in price also...) There is lots of hiking in the area, but the weather was bad so we went into Charlottesville (about 30 min) and visited Monticello, which I definitely recommend. The breakfasts were large and inventive. The dinner was wonderful. My lamb chops were cooked to medium rare perfection. The chocolate cheesecake is the best I've ever tasted.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xpatsuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed at The Mark Addy in early October 2013 and it was truly delightful. Like most country inns, the owners set the tone, and Leslie and Rafi couldn't be nicer or more accommodating. I'm in a wheelchair (the inn has an accessible room on the first floor), and everyone was eager to provide assistance when needed without smothering. Rafi downplays his skills as a chef, but both dinner and breakfast were outstanding and expertly conceived and prepared. Although it was raining during my stay, the view of the Blue Ridge from the front porch (highlighted by a lovely fountain) was genuinely spectacular. It has ample seating options and is surrounded by a well-tended garden; obviously a great place to rest and linger over tea or coffee. Highly recommended as an alternative to a regular hotel when in the area.

Room Tip: The accessible Sundance room is obviously the choice for wheelchair-bound travelers, but is also bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nellysford
14.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Waynesboro / Stuarts Draft
5.3 mi away
Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast
17.0 mi away
Sugar Tree Inn
Sugar Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Vesuvius
4.5 of 5 stars 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Orchard House Bed and Breakfast
9.9 mi away
Iris Inn
Iris Inn
#1 of 6 in Waynesboro
5.0 of 5 stars 680 reviews
11.2 mi away
Belle Hearth Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mark Addy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mark Addy

Property: The Mark Addy
Address: 56 Rodes Farm Dr, Nellysford, VA 22958-3011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Nellysford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Nellysford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mark Addy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 Guest room inn on Nelson 151 - Virginias vacation Destination - with 7 wineries, 3 craft breweries, a cidery and a distillery within 8 miles. Situated in Rockfish valley with views of The Blue Ridge Mountains. Fine Dining Restaurant on premises. All rates include a 3 course breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Mark Addy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Addy Hotel Nellysford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing