We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful Country Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mark Addy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Mark Addy
Ranked #1 of 1 Nellysford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Country Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Four of us enjoyed two days at the Mark Addy Inn while doing some wine tasting in the area. Our hosts, Leslie and Rafi, couldn't have been more accomodating. The house is full of wonderful antiques and each bedroom is well appointed, clean, and comfortable. The gourmet breakfasts by Chef Rafi were two of the best we have ever had at any B and B. From the spacious front porch, we enjoyed a glass of wine overlooking the beautiful grounds and great view if the mountains. A great mini vacation!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bye66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    72
    25
    10
    15
See reviews for
26
250
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We just spent 2 nights at the Mark Addy B&B and had a wonderful experience. Leslie was very warm and friendly and Rafael is a wonderful cook. Julia, who helps them was also very friendly and helpful. They sincerely seemed to want to do everything they could to make our time there enjoyable. Our room was nice and clean, the food delicious and the atmosphere relaxing ...what more could you want!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettie244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardtown
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Just back from our 17th visit to this B&B. We love the location and the warmth of the house and hosts. The area is developing into a packed venue of interests. We hike, bike, golf and visit the wineries and cidery that are nearby. Leslie and Rafi always make us feel welcome and like family. House-sitter, Julia did a great job as well. We have already made reservations for next year!

Room Tip: we have stayed in the 'Rue de Monet' the most and love it. Its not the largest, but the bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank watermelontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Mark Addy last weekend and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Rafael and Leslie were extremely warm and gracious and it was obvious that they worked tirelessly to keep their guests happy. I am a vegan, which can be tough on a chef, but Rafael prepared a fantastic breakfast that included fresh fruits and vegetables straight from their garden. We absolutely loved the location on the BREW Ridge trail and were so happy to have transportation provided by Tours for Tunes so we could drink responsibly. We loved going to Wintergreen Winery and sitting by the creek while enjoying wine and cheese with crackers - it was like a fairy tale picnic. I'm not sure what the other reviewers are talking about, but we sensed the place was well taken care of and VERY clean. The gardens, including the wedding path, were well weeded and full of seasonal flowers. The breakfasts were really good and there were PLENTY of muffins and croissants to go around... some people even had THIRDS! We will definitely tell our friends about the Mark Addy and plan to return.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jparker108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Leslie and Rafael are wonderful hosts. They made us feel like personal guests in their home (which is kinda the case) since they live there. It was our first time at the Mark Addy. We stayed in the Schloss for two nights. The room was beautifully arranged, and had a lovely private porch we wish we had taken more advantage of. Breakfast is delish––first morning we had eggs benedict, second morning a quiche, with plenty of treats and coffee refills. We also took advantage of the winery scavenger hunt package which was fun. The vineyards around are great. Nellysford, and the Mark Addy specifically, are a great destination if you want to get away from the city for a weekend. We highly recommend them!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsW0608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

The Mark Addy is a beautiful place to relax and reconnect with yourself, your family and your friends. My husband, 7 year old son and I enjoyed 2 nights here recently. We sat on the front porch and were mesmorized by the chaning mountain landscape while our son enjoyed playing in the sun and fresh air. The hosts were extremely accomdating to us and were delightful to talk to. Leslie told us about Wintergreen winery just down the road. My son and I went. I relaxed with some wine, cheese and crackers while he played in the creek and with the other children. The breakfasts were tasty and fresh. We had a wonderful quiche one morning and eggs benedict on the second morning. In the morning, when we were ready to leave, our vehicle wouldn't start. As soon as it was possible (we had to wait for other guests to leave as we were parked between the two other cars) Rafi brought his jumper cables and assisted us on our way. This was such a wonderful experience. We will definitely be going back. Try it out for yourself as well.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable. Some have semi private porches or balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We're not really B&B folks, but we had an expiring Living Social offer and so went there in late August. There's nothing really wrong with it... it just wasn't that memorable for us. It's definitely a quiet location and the service is friendly, so if you're a B&B type then maybe it's for you...?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nellysford
11.6 mi away
Residence Inn Waynesboro
Residence Inn Waynesboro
#2 of 9 in Waynesboro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Waynesboro / Stuarts Draft
11.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Waynesboro Inn & Suites Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Waynesboro
Comfort Inn Waynesboro
#4 of 9 in Waynesboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
5.3 mi away
Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast
11.3 mi away
Village Inn Motel
Village Inn Motel
#1 of 1 in Lovingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mark Addy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mark Addy

Property: The Mark Addy
Address: 56 Rodes Farm Dr, Nellysford, VA 22958
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Nellysford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Nellysford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mark Addy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 Guest room inn on Nelson 151 - Virginias vacation Destination - with 7 wineries, 3 craft breweries, a cidery and a distillery within 8 miles. Situated in Rockfish valley with views of The Blue Ridge Mountains. Fine Dining Restaurant on premises. All rates include a 3 course breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Mark Addy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Addy Hotel Nellysford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing