We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very knowledgeable staff”

Hill Top Berry Farm & Winery
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on the Nelson 151 Trail, Hill Top Berry Farm and Winery is nestled in the rolling hills of the Rockfish River Valley. Mountain views abound in every direction and the farm is beautiful and well maintained. Hill Top offers a unique wine tasting experience with True to the Fruit Wines and Authentic Honey Meads. Established in the 1990's, Hill Top is a second generation family business.
Suffolk, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very knowledgeable staff”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The wine tasting was a treat and the staff knew their stuff. I highly recommend trying the meades and the Dragon Breath wine!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    29
    11
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unique and delicious”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

First time trying mead; we were pleasantly surprised. Loved the Middle Ages decor and history behind the mead-making. Lovely patio. Relaxed, inviting atmosphere. We felt very welcome. The owner was super personable and we loved talking with her. Try the lavender mead and (if they have it) the elderberry wine.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Punky9791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly P, Owner at Hill Top Berry Farm & Winery, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you so much for visiting and for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit as we take a lot of pride in our product and our farm. Your review is also very appreciated because it helps us get the word out about the unique wine and mead offerings that we have here. Come back to see us!

Kimberly Allen Pugh
Co-owner & Winemaker
Hill Top Berry Farm and Winery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, MD
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fruit Wines”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

If you like fruit wines this is a place to check out. The wines were all fruit or mead based. If you like that this is a must see. Customer service was fine.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ktpooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catonsville
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“An interesting change of pace.”
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

It was nice to sample some different beverages, even if not all of them suited our taste. The staff was pleasant, although we felt a bit rushed thru the tastings. A pretty spot, tucked away off the beaten path of Nelson 151.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank BmoreFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly P, Owner at Hill Top Berry Farm & Winery, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you so much for visiting and for your review on Trip Advisor. We definitely pride ourselves in being a change of pace. We decided a long time ago to offer wines made out of things other than grapes. I remember your visit and I'm sorry that you felt rushed. We try to match the tasting pace with how quickly you finish each taste so that you enjoy your visit while respecting the fact that there might be other things in the area you are planning to see. I hope you will visit again when you are in the area. Thank you again for visiting.

Kimberly Pugh
Winemaker
Co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, VA
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great winery”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This winery makes all of it's wines from berrys and fruit. There are no grapes involved. The tasting room is nice and the staff very friendly. They not only had the berry/fruit wines they had meads as well. All of the wines are more on the sweeter side but really great. Some of the meads were on the dry side. Overall a very nice selection.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank neal4212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hill Top Berry Farm & Winery also viewed

 

Been to Hill Top Berry Farm & Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing