We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Butterflies” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Butterflies at the Bridge

Butterflies at the Bridge
Attraction details
Summit Point, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Butterflies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Very nice exhibit and fun to be among such fragile creatures :) There were a vaiety of butterflies and the staff was knowledgable and friendly too!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carolynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    25
    30
    14
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Beautiful Butterflies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised at how nice this exhibit was and how well taken care of the butterflies were. They didn't have much variety the day we were there - mostly blue morpho butterflies (but they're so beautiful, I can look at them all day!). It was warm and humid inside and there were plenty of plants and fruit for them.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nymph74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Butterflies”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

No flowers for the poor things! Very false environment without natural light. Cruel, imo. Pretty butterflies, though.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank webteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
129 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Butterflies at the Bridge.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Where? Oh, there is , let's see: one, two......three.........
Very poor...I have been to many Butterfly Gardens and even the little one at Grand Isle, LA, was more inspiring! Skip it unless you are traveling with VERY young children.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Veriuska_vee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“This hardly qualifies as a Butterfly experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I love Butterfly Houses and butterflies. I've visited butterfly houses all over North America. So when I saw "butterflies at the bridge", I was in!

Unfortunately, the butterflies weren't in. Or at least not many of them. I think there were 2 species in an over-heated, windowless basement room. There were a few plants, but not enough - and not the correct species - for the butterflies to thrive and enjoy.

The young attendant smiled, but did not know the species nor how many there were. There were no posters or informational sheets within the room to help visitors' experience.

The experience would be enhanced with informed and passionate docents - even if they were volunteers - who could share their knowledge and love for butterflies.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank HersheyCultureSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butterflies at the Bridge also viewed

 
Natural Bridge, VA
 

Been to Butterflies at the Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing