We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missed opportunity” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Appledore Ln, US 11 & 130, Natural Bridge, VA 24578-3602   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Natural Bridge
Norfolk, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Missed opportunity”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed in the "cottages" across from the main hotel, listed as "great for family reunions, Scout trips, etc." Of course, the cottages are old, but the courtyard style and picnic areas would lend nicely to just such occasions. We were in fact on a Girl Scout trip, so we expected to rough it a little bit. However, there were roaches in two of the four rooms we booked, and the management said they were sold out, so no other rooms were available. -we were left to spray the bugs or move to another hotel - (all sold out, and we had tickets for Natural Bridge and Zoo). We toughed it out, but I would not stay here again. Upon returning home, I would not allow any suitcases in our house until thoroughly cleaned. Very sad, because so much more could be done with those cottages.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    139
    138
    91
    118
See reviews for
226
234
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Since we planned to visit The Natural Bridge, this historic hotel is conveniently located across the street from the attraction. It has a very impressive exterior. We stayed in the main hotel. Our spacious, nicely furnished colonial style room was on the 3rd floor, with a view of the Blue Ridge Mountains. We did not eat in their Colonial Dining Room, but we did enjoy a cocktail in their Red Fox Tavern. The staff we came in contact with very friendly and accommodating. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malibufritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sulphur, Louisiana
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The room we had was spacious and had a great view of the mountains(3rd floor).The hotel is an old victorian, so it could use some updating but is very clean and the bed was comfortable.Ours came with free breakfast which was a buffet or you could order from a small menu.We ate in the restaurant for dinner and the food was fantastic and the staff was very friendly and knowledgable. Great location for visiting the bridge or a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snewfie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holyhead
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Abissmal service and over charged on the bill when leaving. We would not stay there again.
The waitress in the coloial dinning room was down right rude to us.
The food, when it arrived was cooked to a crisp, a burnt offering.
The duty manager had no idea when the manager would be attending the hotel for us to make a complaint. Nothing has been heard from the hotel managment, despite several letters and emails of complaint. We just found out today that the hotel is up for sale, no surprise there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Natural Bridge hotels

Monterey, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Although there were mixed reviews on here I really like the hotel. The only complaint I have was the parking. There was a wedding going on when we stayed so parking sucked. Apparently the wedding party stayed there to so parking was bad for the two nights will were there. We had a package deal which included breakfast as well as all the attractions. We got the breakfast buffet and it was amazing. Love all the attractions at Natural Bridge. I thought the hotel was very good. Room was very clean and spacious. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Natural Bridge.

Room Tip: we had a room with a view of the Natural Bridge and it was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wilsons1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poynton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Brochure reads "Hard to Forget" - Yes, for all the wrong reasons. Do not even think about going there. It is horrendous. Peeling walls, Balcony (yes we stupidly paid for the view). Couldn't see through the windows, roofing on it was rotting. Bath - I think pigs had swilled in it and then cattle used it as a urinal. Refused to pay for breakfast -it was terrible 26 USD - no way. Manager wouldn't face us. Left to staff to sort and they don't know their bottom from their elbow, we got there in the end and didn't pay for it. shouldn't have paid for the room either but put it down to a very, very bad experience. Anyone who rates this as excellent must come from another planet or completely nuts. I'd give it 0 stars but I don't think it's an option.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeteDen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed one night on a package deal that let us see all the associated touristy things for free and since kids 3 and under are free, we did everything there for the package priced for 2 people. It included breakfast, and they even fed the kids off the adult menu (2 kids split an entree) for free. We paid a few dollars more for the playground room. It's basically a tiny version of Chuck E. Cheese with a couple little slides that are free on the side. But as much as the attractions gave us a fun day with the kids, the room was a big disappointment. 2 beds, old and soft with pillows that felt ancient. Stained bedding (not just the sheets--the white comforters were stained). The wallpaper was peeling all over. Water pressure in the sinks was so high that the counter, you, everything got soaked when you turned it on and it splattered. Carpet felt a little damp. Room was like 50 degrees when we came in, so we turned it off, went to dinner and still didn't have to run it all night. That was actually nice because it made it quiet. The tub was full of mold and the black dirt-buildup that sticks to the bottom of tubs from people's feet. I'm really not a particular person and we're the types that stay in the $50/night places next to the freeway, but if I'm paying for a supposedly nicer place, then I can't help but be disappointed when it's in just as poor repair (and is dirtier) than the cheap places. I was surprised that they'd just had a wedding event there and that we saw couples honeymooning. The ice-maker didn't work on our floor. No fridge/microwave. Anyway, the front desk claimed they're replacing the bathtubs. I commented that maybe that's why they're not cleaning them and she said that the cleaners say that they do, but then when you go up they're not clean and she doesn't know why. What the heck? If the front desk knows the maids are lying about cleaning them (at least giving them a deep enough clean and then maintaining), then why aren't you doing something about it instead of just accepting that as the way it is. And no apology offered. In a tiny town like this, I suppose it's cuz the maids are your cousins. Worth a visit to the attractions, but I'd stay in Lexington and drive the 15 minutes down. Long drive to restaurants, by the way, unless you eat on property. And if your GPS sends you to Siler's Garage just down the road for auto repairs, they'll tell you it hasn't been a repair garage for 15 years. =) Drive a little further to the Exxon...they were great. =)

Room Tip: Several options available. The ones described as across the street were being redone (looked like t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mlkmnsgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Natural Bridge
11.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District
13.0 mi away
Peaks of Otter Lodge
Peaks of Otter Lodge
#1 of 4 in Bedford
4.5 of 5 stars 702 reviews
14.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Robert E Lee Hotel
Robert E Lee Hotel
#8 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
13.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
13.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 15 Appledore Ln, US 11 & 130, Natural Bridge, VA 24578-3602
Location: United States > Virginia > Natural Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Natural Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay on-site of The Natural Bridge of Virginia. Visit the monumental National Historic Landmark & discover why photos don't do it justice, nor words describe it, and why the awe-struck Thomas Jefferson bought it. Packages starting at $129 for 2 people, $169 for a family of 4, offer a great value on attractions, overnight accommodation & breakfast. Just 15 minutes from the Blue Ridge Parkway; off I-81, exits 175 & 180. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Natural Bridge Hotel And Conference Center
Natural Bridge Hotel Natural Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing