We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best scallops”

The Great Machipongo Clam Shack
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Nassawadox
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Best scallops”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My husband and I specially drove from our campground to eat at this restaurant twice during our stay in the area. It really has excellent seafood. The first time we shared the Macho Clam Shack Platter and the scallops were cooked to perfection. So often they can be rubbery. The second time we enjoyed sampler baskets of clam strips - lightly coated and lightly fried with slaw on the side. The staff are exceedingly friendly and helpful. There is a shop area with large coolers and freezers - I bought chowder and crab meat and took it back to camp. We will be back !!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosalind P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    123
    31
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dover, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Yes, fresh seafood!”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Wow! This little restaurant really surprised us. Home made chowders. The clam chowder had a clear broth with plenty of clams, was very good. My husband and I both had their fried oysters. They were caught locally. They were really great! We will definitely stop here on our way back home.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sadear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Service and Food”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had a sampler basket of scallops, oysters and clam strips. The price was reasonable and the food was very good - some of the best scallops I've ever had.

The owner was most gracious and friendly. I would stop there again for sure. Thanks.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hawkeye0428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Fresh Seafood & Hush Puppies!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stopped at the Great Machipongo Clam Shack today on our way home from NC to NJ and had a very good lunch - sampler basket and shrimp/sweet potato fries basket and she-crab soup. All of this came with wonderful hush puppies. We've been eating fresh seafood on the Outer Banks for over 25 years and this restaurant really knows how to cook fresh seafood well! The only minor comment my husband made was that there were a few tiny pieces of crab shell in the soup, but other than that...out of this world flavor. In addition, the employees of the restaurant are very friendly and helpful. Food was reasonably priced too. I recommend this restaurant as a must-stop if you are traveling on Rt 13 past the area of Nassawadox, VA.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanW29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant View, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great food great value”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

On my trek up the Eastern Shore I stopped at the Great Machipongo Clam Shack Restaurant. Mom and Pop operated, just an average looking restaurant on a lonely highway. The service was great and the seafood even better. If you want a moderate priced restaurant with good food, this is great. No bells or whistles, but I didn't care. The best food is usually where the locals eat. I wasn't disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Betty4697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Great Machipongo Clam Shack also viewed

 

Been to The Great Machipongo Clam Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing