We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality, history and a great breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MacArthur Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MacArthur Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Narrows B&B and Inns
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hospitality, history and a great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Hospitality, history and a great breakfast, all in Narrows Virginia. I was hiking the App Trail and came off at Pearisburg to replenish and of course eat, shower and sleep. Finding all of the hotels in Pearisburg full due to an ongoing maintenance outage at a local plant I let google maps take me to the alternatives. The gentleman on the other end of the phone reflected that they did have a double and quoted a price In the conversation I mentioned I was hiking the trail, needed only one bed and would probably be on over. Before I could get another bite of my fajitas in and another swallow of beer my phone rings and its the deskman reporting they have a single bed room and a trail rate that beats AARP by 20 bucks. Guess where I slept that night. The GPS took me right to it and it look just as majestic in real life as on the google page. By the name you can guess it had some years on it but everything was in good shape and clean. It did take a bit of time for the hot water to get to the room but it was built in the time of central hot water heaters.
I parked around back without difficulty in the night, and was greeted by one of the friendliest guys you would want to meet. I will be surprised if he doesn't do reenactments or some sort of side hobby. As I filled out the check in card he walked down the hall to verify the heat was on an then gave me a brief rundown on the hotel history and who had slept there. I let you ask that question when you arrive. Very quiet, clean and just plain cozy like old small town hotels should be.
The best was yet to come the next morning: breakfast. The options I heard, no menu, were eggs anyway, ham, bacon or sausage and biscuits with or without gravy. It was better than home and I didn't have to wash the dishes. 6 bucks and all the coffee I could drink. I later found out that the cook/waitress is the daughter and the deskman is the owner. What a enjoyable pair.
I like to do bike rides as well as hike so I am going to make sure I route a ride through Narrows just so the wife and I can spend a night, enjoy breakfast and kick the tires another quaint Virginia town. I bet the area comes alive in the spring and fall.

Room Tip: My room fronted on the building and provided a better view than the parking lot out back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MacM54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    4
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
15
7
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stayed there several times, love it.... Allen Neely goes out of his way to please his guest... The people who wrote bad reviews are use to motel 6. This is a Country Inn, with very friendly, hospitable country folk who will take good care of you....

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tommyd1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our group of 3 couples was in the excursion area ringing in the 2013 New Year and we had the best time! Mr. Neeley was wonderfully friendly and helpful throughout our 3 night stay. He, along with housekeeping staff, asked multiple times what, if anything, we needed each day. We enjoyed breakfast at Blue Moon twice and ate phenomenally good food until we were stuffed blind - and the price was crazy reasonable! When we inquired about hiking trails, we got not only good directions, but also Mr. Neeley led us out there! The Inn, the owner, and the town all had a lot of character - clean, old, and real - rather than the cookie-cutter nature of the large chains. We'd come back in a heartbeat and will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shannon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrboro, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

After reading the positive reviews on trip advisor we decided to stay at the MacArthur Inn after our trip to the New River Gorge. We were excited to stay at the historic inn and to visit thr nearby cascades the following day. The room was lacking in simple amenities such as kleenex, usable pillows(they were flat as a pancake), cups and hand towels. In the morning we realized there was not any hot water in our room. We tried to contact the front desk but no one was there. We called the number listed on the note and watched the front desk phone ring in front of us. We then realized we were the only people in the building and decided it was best to just get on with our day. This was at 9am on a Sunday. I don't feel that is an unreasonable time to expect someone from the inn to be available. Maybe the innkeeper was out of town-we were checked in by his friend upon our arrival around 9pm.
The poor service combined with the lack of amenities that make a place comfortable to stay, we will not be returning to inn.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 614Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had to make a last minute trip because of a family emergency. Almost stayed 20 minutes away but saw a review that caught my eye for here. Thank goodness. This is a gem with character! We won't stay anywhere else. In fact we'll be back this weekend!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RNgypsy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

A great property with fascinating history and down-home hospitality. Allen Neely is a terrific host, and Patty and the staff are wonderful. Make sure you head across the street to the Blue Moon Cafe for the "Man Biscuit" and some exceptional coffee.

Room Tip: Rooms 25 or 32 are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarkhMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

I have stayed there on three different occasions since the opening. MY STAY HAS ALWAYS BEEN ENJOYABLE. Thanks to Allen and his staff. PS The food was great!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narrows
15.2 mi away
Mountain Lake Lodge
Mountain Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Pembroke
4.0 of 5 stars 258 reviews
13.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Princeton
12.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
23.1 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#5 of 8 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 stars 186 reviews
22.1 mi away
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacArthur Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacArthur Inn

Property: MacArthur Inn
Address: 117 Macarthur Ln, Narrows, VA 24124-1326
Location: United States > Virginia > Narrows
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Narrows
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MacArthur Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your MacArthur Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MacArthur Inn Narrows, Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing