We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful nostalgic weekend at the MacArthur” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of MacArthur Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
MacArthur Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Narrows B&B and Inns
bassett va
1 review
“Wonderful nostalgic weekend at the MacArthur”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

I enjoyed socializing on the big front porch with former classmates, enjoyed Allen's homemade biscuits at the Blue Moon and loved my room #4. I enjoyed socializing and talking with Allens older brothers Jimbo and Tom. The staff was very helpful and also meet and chatted with Allen's cute daughter Patti. I plan to spend another weekend there in Sept with my classmates from 1963. Such a fun nostalgic weekend!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foxywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    4
    4
    2
    8
See reviews for
16
9
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

Had a wounderfull stay,great service, Next time in town I will stop in for the Ribs.
Arnold Vass -Newport News Va.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnold123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinton, West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

The owner and staff was wonerful. Every request was met with a smiling face. The breakfast was the BEST! There were 12 in our group who stayed here and not one of them had a complaint.
We highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Each room is unique. None are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa_mcbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

Basic accomodations with good breadkfast and friendly and accomadating staff!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hokieshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

Huge disappointment! Disgusting filthy room; bed sagging & falling apart; pillows flat, stained & matted; multiple types of bugs in bathroom; tub stained & moldy; walls crumbling; large pieces of floor tile missing; foul smell inside dresser drawers; nobody on staff available 10pm to 9am; phone calls to front desk went unanswered; manager Jeremy unfriendly & completely unwilling to correct problems; owner Allen acted sympathetic (said there would be no charge) then authorized charge anyway two days later; $90+ for one night; advertised as Bed & Breakfast, but no signs stating hours for breakfast or that it is served at diner across the street; housekeeping claimed she didn't work there.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gl0p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macarthur-inn, General Manager at MacArthur Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
you have to be the rudest guest we have ever had. we have never had one bad thing said about room 7 untill you came along and the people that went into room 7 right behind you loved it and were glad you left so they could have it. needless to say the people that were here and watched your behavior were shocked and found your actions amusing. what i cant understand is if you had such a problem with the room is why did you continue to stay? in this line of work we see people do this all the time. they stay untill time for checkout and then come up with all kinds of crazy problems, hopeing to get a free night stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

No towels, no hangers, broken toilets, dirty, not cleaned after three days, checked out early, no attendents

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank woody_43925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macarthur-inn, General Manager at MacArthur Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
you just can not please some people. you never one time put the maid sign outside your door and when someone came to you and asked if you wanted it cleaned you told them no, i was there i heared them ask you. then four hours latter you called me at home being very rude and demanding i come clean your toilet at ten at night. it is not our fault that you can not work a made sign.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wytheville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

Very nice place. Love the way you feel like you took a step back in time. A very nice place for our wedding. Staff was helpful and the rooms clean. There dining hall was a great place for our receptinon and The Blue Moon Cafe across the street hosted our party after. Great deal for all that was included, would recomend to anyone for any occasion.

Room Tip: Just call
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gizmo0780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narrows
15.2 mi away
Mountain Lake Lodge
Mountain Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Pembroke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
22.1 mi away
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
21.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Princeton
4.1 mi away
Holiday Motor Lodge Pearisburg
6.9 mi away
Inn at Riverbend
Inn at Riverbend
#1 of 2 in Pearisburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacArthur Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacArthur Inn

Property: MacArthur Inn
Address: 117 Macarthur Ln, Narrows, VA 24124-1326
Location: United States > Virginia > Narrows
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Narrows
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MacArthur Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your MacArthur Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MacArthur Inn Narrows, Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing