We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“friendly and basic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of MacArthur Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MacArthur Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Narrows B&B and Inns
North East, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“friendly and basic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Basic accomodations with good breadkfast and friendly and accomadating staff!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hokieshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    4
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
15
7
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

Huge disappointment! Disgusting filthy room; bed sagging & falling apart; pillows flat, stained & matted; multiple types of bugs in bathroom; tub stained & moldy; walls crumbling; large pieces of floor tile missing; foul smell inside dresser drawers; nobody on staff available 10pm to 9am; phone calls to front desk went unanswered; manager Jeremy unfriendly & completely unwilling to correct problems; owner Allen acted sympathetic (said there would be no charge) then authorized charge anyway two days later; $90+ for one night; advertised as Bed & Breakfast, but no signs stating hours for breakfast or that it is served at diner across the street; housekeeping claimed she didn't work there.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gl0p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macarthur-inn, General Manager at MacArthur Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
you have to be the rudest guest we have ever had. we have never had one bad thing said about room 7 untill you came along and the people that went into room 7 right behind you loved it and were glad you left so they could have it. needless to say the people that were here and watched your behavior were shocked and found your actions amusing. what i cant understand is if you had such a problem with the room is why did you continue to stay? in this line of work we see people do this all the time. they stay untill time for checkout and then come up with all kinds of crazy problems, hopeing to get a free night stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

No towels, no hangers, broken toilets, dirty, not cleaned after three days, checked out early, no attendents

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank woody_43925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macarthur-inn, General Manager at MacArthur Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
you just can not please some people. you never one time put the maid sign outside your door and when someone came to you and asked if you wanted it cleaned you told them no, i was there i heared them ask you. then four hours latter you called me at home being very rude and demanding i come clean your toilet at ten at night. it is not our fault that you can not work a made sign.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wytheville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Very nice place. Love the way you feel like you took a step back in time. A very nice place for our wedding. Staff was helpful and the rooms clean. There dining hall was a great place for our receptinon and The Blue Moon Cafe across the street hosted our party after. Great deal for all that was included, would recomend to anyone for any occasion.

Room Tip: Just call
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gizmo0780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

This is a beautiful historic inn nestled in the center of the quaint little town of Narrows, Virginia. Anyone looking for a peaceful get-a-way would love this inn. I found this inn by chance and was thoroughly impressed. The room was spotlessly clean, charming and most of all, offered me a peaceful night's rest. I was also pleasantly surprised by the BBQ, music and carriage rides that the inn provided on the night I stayed. The carriage and horses were gorgeous and this would be a lovely venue for a wedding or anniversary! The breakfast was a country feast consisting of made to order eggs, gravy, biscuits, apples, jams, jellies and homemade apple butter. I would definitely recommend the MacArthur Inn to anyone wanting to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life or visiting Giles County.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelingsaleslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narrows
15.2 mi away
Mountain Lake Lodge
Mountain Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Pembroke
4.0 of 5 stars 293 reviews
12.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton
19.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
22.1 mi away
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
24.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacArthur Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacArthur Inn

Property: MacArthur Inn
Address: 117 Macarthur Ln, Narrows, VA 24124-1326
Location: United States > Virginia > Narrows
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Narrows
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MacArthur Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your MacArthur Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MacArthur Inn Narrows, Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing