We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stop after tour of the Mansion”

Mount Vernon Inn Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Mount Vernon Inn Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: George Washington Memorial Parkway
Transit: There is a Metro Bus stop at the corner of the crosswalk directly in front of the Restaurant. The Metro Bus stops at Huntington Metro, the end of the Yellow Line.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

This place is very nice. The food was good and the prices reasonable. The service was quick. The food presentation was nicely done.

1  Thank Dee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (740)
There are newer reviews for Mount Vernon Inn Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

484 - 488 of 740 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2014

We decided to have late afternoon snack after touring the plantation. Highly recommend the Peanut Soup with water chestnuts, caprese salad with a balsamic reduction and string onion rings, and finished with their delicios bread pudding. We had a couple of draft beers on tap to finish off the day. The interior of the restaurant offers six different themes and are all elegantly decorated. The service was great and prices were reasonable.

Thank Jerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadja R, Manager at Mount Vernon Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thank you for the great review! We love hearing feedback from our customers and are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with us! We take great pride in providing top notch food and service; so we are proud to learn that you were pleased with all we have to offer! We look forward to seeing you again!

- Mount Vernon Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Do yourself a favor and try to get lunch here instead. The food is above average, but price wise is not too bad. The service is good.

Thank mrcfnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This restaurant on the grounds of Mount Vernon is cute in a historic way. We ordered two different sandwiches and the portions are huge. Definitely could have shared! Their homemade potato chips are great. The best thing ever was the vanilla bean honey butter they pile on top of the skillet cornbread. That butter alone was worth the trip.

1  Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadja R, Manager at Mount Vernon Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thank you for your kind review! We're so glad to hear that you loved our honey butter- it's a fan favorite! Your compliments are greatly appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again.

- Mount Vernon Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Arrived a bit after 12 noon on a Sunday with friends. We decided on lunch before continuing to Mt Vernon for the tour. We were told a 30 minute wait for a table. Fine, we will look through the shops and the return in 20 minutes. Just by accident I heard our party called for our table. Placed order for drinks which arrived in a few minutes, then we sat waiting to order the food. And waited... Food ordered, nothing extravagant, just sandwiches. We waited some more. 3 of the 4 orders arrived at the table, but one club sandwich was missing. I asked the waitress if the kitchen was challenged today. I received a nod that it was. Other tables waited similar to us. 2 hours later, a simple lunch was paid for and we left. Our out of town visitors went off to see the estate while my wife and I (who have seen it before) retreated to our car to read. I do not recommend this restaurant. I am so glad that they have unsuspecting tourists to keep them semi-busy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank TomMiddletown_DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadja R, Manager at Mount Vernon Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

We appreciate the time you've taken to share your review with us, and we apologize for your last experience with us. We want you to know we take your opinion very seriously and will be sure to bring it to the attention of our staff. We hope you give us another try.

Sincerely,

Mount Vernon Inn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Vernon Inn Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mount Vernon Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing