We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step back in time !”

George Washington's Distillery & Gristmill
Book In Advance
More Info
$18.00*
and up
Mount Vernon Admission Ticket
More Info
$54.38*
and up
Private Tour: George Washington's Mount Vernon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: After nearly a 200-year hiatus and a multi-million dollar reconstruction, George Washington's Distillery & Gristmill is back in business - producing grain products powered by a 16-foot waterwheel and the same rye whiskey that made the Founding Father the nation's most successful whiskey producer in the years after his presidency. Located at the original site, George Washington's Gristmill highlights his vision for America's future as "granary of the world;" while his Distillery is the only site in North America that demonstrates 18th-century distilling from seed to barrel.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

If you visited the estate , make sure to stop in and see how George liked his whiskey. It's part of the admission price and fascinating !

Thank dutchboy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott D, Public Relations Assistant at George Washington's Distillery & Gristmill, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Thanks so much for the kind words in your review! So glad you were able to visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 182 of 236 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2014

George Washington's Distillery & Gristmill are a few miles from the main attraction of the museum and his home. There are lots of people walking his grounds, but few at the distillery and gristmill. The tour of these two sights is absolutely amazing. I highly recommend spending an additional hour visiting these two buildings that appear to be forgotten by the masses.

Thank Jacob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott D, Public Relations Assistant at George Washington's Distillery & Gristmill, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Thanks for your visit and review! Glad you were able to stop by this less visited, but still fascinating, site!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We visited the Distillery and Grist Mill after touring Mount Vernon. It was a mild and sunny April morning and this small but very interesting historic site was picture postcard pretty. Only a handful of other visitors were there at the time, so we had the place pretty much to ourselves. It was pure pleasure to stroll along in such tranquil and beautiful surroundings on such a gorgeous morning. Then we entered the distillery and got a bit of a shock. When I chatted with the costumed gentleman in charge it became apparent that we had inadvertently entered the historic site at the exit end of the path (not quite as stupid as it sounds) and had been walking the path in reverse. When asked if we had tickets, we simply said that we had not purchased admission tickets at this site. We were not asked if we had already visited the Mount Vernon Estate.

In very short order the three of us were scurrying to our car, too embarrassed to even think about buying tickets. More than a month later I finally learned that the tickets we had purchased when we visited Mount Vernon Estate earlier that morning entitled us to visit the Distillery and Grist Mill at no additional cost. Despite being “legal,” we had foregone the opportunity to explore the distillery and grist mill and learn about their functions and products. Sigh…….. Well, at least I got some great photos, another item for my personal Don't Do It Again list, and a good story to tell.

Thank Citallwic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott D, Public Relations Assistant at George Washington's Distillery & Gristmill, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Thank you for sharing your story with us! I'm glad that you enjoyed the beauty and tranquility of the site, but am so sorry about the confusion regarding your tickets! As you now know, the Distillery & Gristmill IS included in the cost of admission to Mount Vernon estate, and I hope you will be able to come back again and tour the buildings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

The distillery and gristmill were cool, but really only something to stop and see on your way leaving Mount Vernon after a tour.

Thank Corissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott D, Public Relations Assistant at George Washington's Distillery & Gristmill, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Thanks very much for your review! We hope that the Distillery & Gristmill provide our guests with a unique experience when visiting Mount Vernon. It is not only a great way to learn about what a true innovator George Washington was, but also to see how whiskey, cornmeal, grits and other items were made over 200 years ago. Glad you got to stop by and see it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Hearing and seeing how a gristmill works and how Washington used it along with the distillery was very educational -

Thank mammiepoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott D, Public Relations Manager at George Washington's Distillery & Gristmill, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Thanks very much for the visit and review! Glad that you enjoyed your time at Distillery & Gristmill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George Washington's Distillery & Gristmill also viewed

 

Been to George Washington's Distillery & Gristmill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing