We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Mount Vernon
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience George Washington's Mount Vernon
from $56.00
More Info
from $20.00
More Info
from $55.26
More Info
from $79.00
More Info
Reviews (4,589)
Filter reviews
4,589 results
Traveler rating
3,358
885
253
69
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,358
885
253
69
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mansion tour education center food court slave quarters national treasure potomac river his life american history the main house grounds are beautiful george washington gift shop washington's home ask questions school groups back porch pioneer farm
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
221 - 226 of 4,589 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2019

The grounds of Mount Vernon are wonderful, well maintained, staff is present as you walk the grounds if you have questions. The exterior of the house is currently being renovated so there were scaffolding around the entire facade. The most striking part of our visit was the crowds, I have never seen so many busses lined up. We choose the timing of our visit during one of the sites "less busy" days/times and it was still incredibly busy.

Date of experience: May 2019
2  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019

Haven't been back since the 70s, and I thoroughly enjoyed the return. They have become more historically accurate, and added things that make the trip even more worthwhile. The guides are superb

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank JohnnyB33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2019 via mobile

I did not expect the grounds to be so expansive and did not allot enough time to to it justice. The tour was informative and I came away with a greater appreciation of George Washington. The museum is newly renovated and excellent. We will be back!

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2019

Had a day to kill with friends on Realtor activity. The place is vast and endless. Sooooooo much history, just fascinating and something you need to experience to appreciate. Plan on 3-4 hours from the time you leave downtown DC.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2019

Really interesting historic site and quite rightly do not allow food to be taken onto the estate. The operators do however run a food court by the entrance which has a pretty captive client base as there is nothing else nearby. We popped in for a coffee and a wrap as advertised on the signage. The place was over-run with queues of school trips who seemed happy with the fast food burgers and fries. There was no coffee available and an assistant refused to make up wraps for us pointing us towards pre-packed sandwiches instead.

I did feed back to Mount Vernon about our experience and Anthony Cavallo, Head of Catering replied that we should maybe have booked a sit down lunch at the Inn instead!

As it was, we had actually pre-booked Dinner there but cancelled it due to the lunchtime saga.

So based on our experience my advice to visitors would be to grab a bite somewhere else before heading out to Mount Vernon.

Date of experience: May 2019
2  Thank ob1knbxtrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews