We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“So Much History” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of George Washington's Mount Vernon

George Washington's Mount Vernon
Book In Advance
$17.00*
and up
Mount Vernon Admission Ticket
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Come share the fascinating moments of America’s first family with yours at George Washington’s Mount Vernon. Explore the beautiful mansion and grounds and get to know the man, the ideas and the values that founded a nation. Dive into history through action-packed theaters, fascinating exhibits and meet characters from Washington’s world. Admire the view of the peaceful Potomac, or hop on board a sightseeing cruise. It’s a place where history truly comes to life.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“So Much History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

A day spent at Mount Vernon is well worth the trip. After buying our tickets, we took the trail to the mansion. The map they give you is very helpful. You can choose the time of your tour so you can decide what to see and do first. Once you get in line to get into the house, it goes fast. Lots of great information from the guides inside the house. We also took the boat tour which was nice and relaxing and provides a completely different perspective of the land and the house. The Slave Memorial and Washington's tomb were very historic. We ate at the restaurant and the food was great and the portions big. Be sure to look inside all of the outbuildings to get the whole picture of what life was like in Washington's day.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaMV, Public Relations Manager at George Washington's Mount Vernon, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thanks so much for your visit and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,356
    626
    177
    42
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dade City, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enriching detail of our nation's first President”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

I have done this tour at least three times over my life time, and the curators of this property just keep making it better and better. Many outlying buildings have been restored, and the modern museum provides rich detail of George Washington's life

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
95 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“We want to return!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

I recently took my grandchildren to DC for 4 days. Since we flew, I didn't think we would be able to get to Mount Vernon due to the logistics of getting there. But we picked up a bus tour that picked us up at our hotel and gave us the better part of a full day at Mount Vernon & Arlington National Cemetery. The only down side of a tour is that you are limited for time, etc, but the upside was that the tour guide gave us a lot of background and history that we would not have had otherwise. Mount Vernon is a beautiful property with so much history, I feel it is a "must-see" if you can possibly do it. We would like to return since we now know what we missed due to time constraints! We did not get to the distillery so that would be another place that we would like to see. There is a food court in the visitor's center and a regular "sit-down" restaurant. We opted for the sit-down restaurant and it was a treat for all of us! Good food & service and only slightly over-priced!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeD1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaMV, Public Relations Manager at George Washington's Mount Vernon, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Glad you were able to make it to Mount Vernon - and thank you for the kind words! Please do return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mt Vernon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Visited Mt Vernon with my two granddaughters, eight and five. They loved it. History comes alive when you walk through the plantation.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
196 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Like time travel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

It is so amazing to walk the same grounds that George and Martha Washington walked! The property is beautiful and the tour of the home very informative.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank suzywh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George Washington's Mount Vernon also viewed

 

Been to George Washington's Mount Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing