We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit on President's Day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of George Washington's Mount Vernon

George Washington's Mount Vernon
Book In Advance
$17*
and up
Mount Vernon Admission Ticket
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Come share the fascinating moments of America’s first family with yours at George Washington’s Mount Vernon. Explore the beautiful mansion and grounds and get to know the man, the ideas and the values that founded a nation. Dive into history through action-packed theaters, fascinating exhibits and meet characters from Washington’s world. Admire the view of the peaceful Potomac, or hop on board a sightseeing cruise. It’s a place where history truly comes to life.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Visit on President's Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Went to this president's home few times. If you want to see action and reenactment, come on President's day, and admission is free on that day. There are museums, films, the tomb, and of course the main house for touring. It maybe a bit boring for kids not into history, otherwise, they can always roll on the back lawn of our first president's home. Lots of kids do that, sometimes, adults too.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank HaDa2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaMV, Public Relations Manager at George Washington's Mount Vernon, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thanks so much for your review! While we are happy to offer free admission in honor of George Washington's birthday, I would encourage you to visit again when the crowds are smaller. Even if visitors are not into history we hope we provide enough diverse, interactive exhibits and activities that they will be interested, entertained, and maybe even learn something!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,012 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,212
    587
    161
    40
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
600 reviews
295 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“A Musr See While In Washington DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Be prepared to allow a full day to tour this place because of the mass property and things to view. Only spent three hours here as we were busy touring other parts of Washington DC earlier in the day, What we did see gave us a sense what Washington was all about. For example, we viewed the film, saw the Mansion than walked some of the grounds. Besides being President, he appeared to be both a complex man plus well connected after being President. This is also one of those sites in Washington DC that people from around the world want to check out for themselves. Have a well stocked gift shop and Educational Centre to learn more about him. Highly recommended for touring purposes!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank b0b55russell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaMV, Public Relations Manager at George Washington's Mount Vernon, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for spending your day with us! So happy to hear that your visit gave you a better understanding and appreciation of George Washington. We appreciate the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Royal, New Jersey
Level Contributor
173 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A great piece of preserved history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The grounds are immaculately kept and provide a great informational perspective of Washington's life and legacy. The house tour was a bit rushed; not allowing for much time to really take in the rooms, but instead gave more of a abbreviated view. The indoor historical overview was very well put together and allowed for a self-paced opportunity to discover and learn more. As a retired military member, I was rather turned off that the discounts are only for active duty.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls
Level Contributor
525 reviews
322 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Better than ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Our last visit to Mt. Vernon was 12 years ago. A lot has changed! There is now a museum and hands on education center for the children. The tour provided by the Mount Vernon Ladies Association is incomparable. The grounds and other buildings, including Washington's tomb, are without peer. The work and effort that has gone into restoring and maintaining these landmarks are amazing. The staff is so helpful and kind. There are crafts projects for the 3-12 year group in the education center. There are numerous food choices in the food court including a marvelous deli where they make ingenious salads and wraps that are delicious and of course pizza and grill items in the other portion of this area.

We will visit again. This is a very lovely venue!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank journeymaid48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Authentic History on Gorgeous Grounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Mount Vernon was supposedly the thing not nearly enough people see when they visit DC, so as a history teacher I had to make sure we made the short trip into Virginia on our recent family vacation to the nation's capital.

I was so impressed.

First of all, as you may have heard, the Mount Vernon estate is beautiful. Even if every single building on the grounds were closed and all there was to do was stroll around, it would be worth the trip. Make sure you build in some extra time to see the gardens, pastures, hills, wharf/waterfront, woods, everything.

What's more, George Washington's estate has been remarkably preserved. Remarkably. There are numerous free tours with different themes offered throughout the day, there are guides and other helpful people around the estate in period costume, and all of them know an immense amount about the Washingtons, their lives, their era, the grounds, the buildings, everything.

For me, the history teacher, the really breathtaking thing was how much of the estate is authentic. These were George's actual wood floors, the harpsichord his step granddaughter played, the key to the Bastille given to him by the Marquis de Lafayette, the chair in which he wrote letters, the bed in which he passed. Nothing reminds you how young the United States really is than looking at the chair in which your first President sat while penning hundreds of letters. It is still covered with its original leather. I was blown away.

Mount Vernon also offeres a fantastic education center and museum, including several likenesses of George Washington (at different life stages) that took an immense amount of work and research to produce. You will learn (and be moved) without being buried in minutia. There is also a clean food court with good variety (very handy since you may be coming from DC) and a gift shop that offers some very nice products. Sadly we missed out on the George Washington rye by just a few days - it sells out fast.

If you're vacationing in DC, I highly encourage the (short) trip to Mount Vernon. Make sure you budget some time for it; you will be sorry if you have to leave too soon.

(One additional note - the manor house itself is in original condition, which means no wheelchair access to the upper floor(s).)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chicago_Mr_B_645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaMV, Public Relations Manager at George Washington's Mount Vernon, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words in your review. It means a lot. So happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George Washington's Mount Vernon also viewed

 

Been to George Washington's Mount Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing