We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

George Washington's Mount Vernon
Book In Advance
More Info
$18.00*
and up
Mount Vernon Admission Ticket
More Info
$78.98*
and up
Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC
More Info
$42.00*
and up
George Washington's Mount Vernon by Water Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Come share the fascinating moments of America’s first family with yours at George Washington’s Mount Vernon. Explore the beautiful mansion and grounds and get to know the man, the ideas and the values that founded a nation. Dive into history through action-packed theaters, fascinating exhibits and meet characters from Washington’s world. Admire the view of the peaceful Potomac, or hop on board a sightseeing cruise. It’s a place where history truly comes to life.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

An absolutely beautiful property befitting of the Father of our country. The staff was excellent, helpful knowledgeable and moved the crowds very well. We started in Jamestown, then Colonial Williamsburg, Mt. Vernon and DC. By Far the highlight of the trip was Mount Vernon. While you visit, do not miss the Grist Mill and Distillery. A Must see on any vacation in the area.

Visited April 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaMV, Public Relations Manager at George Washington's Mount Vernon, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thanks so much for your review! So happy that you got to visit Mount Vernon on your trip - and that you enjoyed it so much! Please come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,665 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,668
    724
    205
    52
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johnstown, PA
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wonderful day”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We (myself, husband, daughter, and friend) spent a wonderful full day at Mt. Vernon. The price was not that bad, especially with a coupon we got from an advertisement. It was easy to find and even the ride there was scenic. The day started well with an informative lady who suggested in what order to do things. The introductory movie was good, maybe even better than "the movie" at the museum. We arrived in the late morning on a Friday so there were some bus trips but not too bad. I understand why the house tour is done the way it is. But some of the guides did interact with the guests, including my daughter. I just took my time and listened to all their talks. Looking at the real rooms, paint colors, furnishings, etc and hearing about the lives of the Washington's at Mt. Vernon and General Washington at other places was fascinating. The grounds are beautiful. The story of why certain crops were planted, livestock maintained, fishing (who knew?), and other information about Mt. Vernon was very interesting. There are outbuildings, tombs, gardens, and other places to explore. There is also a museum with more artifacts. We spent about 6 hours there and I could go back and learn more (maybe the others in my group didn't feel that way). The only criticisms would be that I think some of the kids there didn't appreciate it and there were a couple of cheesy items in the gift shop. But overall, this was the highlight of my week in the Washington, DC area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Time_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Interesting tour.”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We took a boat tour to Mt Vernon and back. This made for a very enjoyable day. Both the ride and the landmark were interesting. Food at the home was really good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munford, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“George had a nice Pad!!!”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

This is a very beautiful piece of property and a major part of history. The grounds are kept so nicely and the home was amazing. The tour guides answered all of our questions and the house on the inside looks the way it did when George Washington lived there. You can walk down to the water and take a boat ride and even see an amazing replica 16 sided barn used to separate grain from stalk by treading. The entire Pioneer Farm was amazing! They have a great gift shop and even a place to eat if you’re hungry. This is an excellent stop for vacation or if you’re in the area. Highly recommend!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jody D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaMV, Public Relations Manager at George Washington's Mount Vernon, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thanks very much for your visit and review. So pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit. It sounds like you got to see a little of everything. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely place to visit”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Easy to find. Great place to visit. A lot of walking but they did have trams. Lovely day and we are already planning on going back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaMV, Public Relations Manager at George Washington's Mount Vernon, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thanks for the visit and review. Look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George Washington's Mount Vernon also viewed

 

Been to George Washington's Mount Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing