We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience George Washington's Mount Vernon
from $56.00
More Info
from $18.00
More Info
from $60.00
More Info
from $78.99
More Info
Reviews (4,212)
Filter reviews
4,062 results
Traveler rating
2,967
784
232
59
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,967
784
232
59
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mansion tour education center food court slave quarters national treasure his life potomac river american history the main house grounds are beautiful third floor george washington gift shop washington's home ask questions back porch school groups
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 4,062 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

Four adults went to Mt. Vernon planning to spend a short time touring the house and leave. Little did we know that after 3 plus hours we would be sorry to leave so soon. Had we nothin to be at the airport to pick someone up we would have stayed longer.. I never realized how cool George Washington was. (Should have paid more attention in school). We did not see everything but my daughter and son-in-law are going to the DC area with our grandson over spring break and we told them this is a must see.

Thank betsyross62040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

A family trip to DC over Veteran's Day weekend brought us to Mount Vernon on Monday. We ordered tickets online (saved a couple bucks on each ticket) and reserved a time. It was a nice drive from where we were staying in Arlington and found parking at a nearby lot.

Arrived in plenty of time to check out the grounds before our reserved time and 2 of the grandchildren became 711 spies (have to have a smart phone to download the app, but they enjoyed listening to the clues and tracking down the items).

We were told to be in line 20 minutes before our reserved time but not really sure why because there were people arriving at their exact time. My only negative feedback was too many people went in at 1 time, which made it very crowded when we had to stand in a room and listen to the guide. Other than that, it was very cool checking out the house (not as big as what I thought it would be, but definitely would have been very grand back then).

We also enjoyed visiting the different vendors at the 'farmer's market'.

Definitely would recommend visiting Mount Vernon and think it's a good experience for school-age children.

Thank Brenda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

This is a very cool place to visit. You have to pay to get in but it is with the $20 to access. There was a market going on the day we came (veterans weekend). They had all kinds of different things for sale as well as the your of the house and wandering the grounds. Crazy to think of all the history there and what still remains there to this day. The drive to get here is easy and beautiful. Take the time visit Mt Vernon.

Thank muleyfever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

There is a lot to see and learn at this site. The home was very interesting to see and a great river views. Great place to walk around or just sit and watch the river.
We will go back next spring/summer to look at the trees and gardens in bloom.
Have to see the 4D movie on the revolutionary war with General Washington!

Thank KevinO906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

We had a great experience visiting Mount Vernon. It was busy, but not overcrowded, and we received good information about where to wait for the tour and what time to be there. I have read previous reviews, and I can say honestly that we did not have any negative experiences. We easily got a parking space in one of the parking lots. We had a very good tour guide and were given a detailed and interesting tour of the mansion. We toured the grounds on our own and also spent a good deal of time in the museum. I can confirm by observation that it is a challenging
place for someone who can’t walk well or who is in a wheelchair, as I have read in previous reviews.
This site is not operated by the government and it is a little pricey (especially compared to the free Smithsonian museums), but it is absolutely a historic treasure. The museum exhibits addressed the slavery issue with sensitivity and also provided an excellent glimpse into the life of our first president. Are you also interested in George Washington’s false teeth? You can find out about that issue, too.
Overall, I would highly recommend visiting Mount Vernon if you avail yourself of both the mansion and the museum.

Thank Lu-AnnR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

We are very fortunate to have such an unselfish and humble man as our General during the Revolutionary War and as our first President. The films on his life are excellent and the interactive movie was fun. I love finally settling the matter about his wooden teeth.

His and Martha's tomb was very beautiful and solemn. The house was small by our standards, but large for it's time. There is a military discount. We went on a weekday and there were no lines, but we arrived at opening time.

Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

Fantastic tour of the home of George Washington's home and the grounds. Tour guides are very knowledgeable and seem to love their job. Great gardens and water front!

Thank gwebb672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

While everyone is familiar (to some extent) with Washington, this is a great place to dig deep into the man, the history, the lore, and the myth of they key figure of America's founding. The museum is very interesting, but the highlights of this experience lie in exploring the property itself. The mansion itself is a focal point, but many of the smaller buildings have stories to tell as well. And be sure to leave enough time to sit in a rocking chair on the back deck and take in the views. Like most places, best to get here early - I arrived when it opened, and it was quite busy when I left around noon.

Thank tello999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

The birthplace of USA: seeing where it all started: in fact a small family mansion and a man with a vision and a mansion with a view that invites to explore more. Now I understand why Georges Washington and family wanted him to be buried here, and not at the Capitol.

Thank ludo001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited Mount Vernon with friends and had a great time learning about this historic site and about George Washington. The estate is beautiful and a great way to spend a morning walking through nature, while learning about George Washington and how they lived during the late 18th century. My tip... read as many of the informational signs that you can, you’ll learn more than you expect.

Thank GoodTurnDaily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews