We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Widow Kip's Country Inn
Nearby Hotels
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$51
Hotels.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
QualityInn
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
EconoLodge
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
Hampton.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Woodstock)(Great Value!)
$81
ComfortInn
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Good 3.5/5
    Reviews (66)
    Filter reviews
    66 results
    Traveler rating
    45
    13
    3
    1
    4
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    45
    13
    3
    1
    4
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsb bsow's earbed and breakfastbreakfast was deliciousevery morningcozy atmospherewildflower roomwafflesbobmtjacksonhighwayyardbatvirginia
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    43 - 48 of 66 reviews
    Reviewed January 1, 2013

    I rarely write reviews, but a recent posting relating to The Widow Kip's Country Inn quite simply left me speechless and requires a response. The review was replete with multiple errors and deliberate misrepresentations.

    My wife and I have spent the past 15 years celebrating Thanksgiving weekend at Widow Kip's, all in one of the cottages located next to the main building. On these visits we have also traveled with our dogs. We have never encountered anything close to the conditions described in this review. Quite the contrary, our cottage has always been extremely clean, comforting and welcoming. One can be assured that we would never have spent 15 years returning to the Widow Kip's if we had ever encountered a filthy carpet, "dust on all the furniture, no heat," or a broken toilet. The absurdity of the claims contained in the review is made manifest by the many favorable reviews by others who have stayed at the Inn, and who also return year after year.

    From the very beginning to the end, the review can be best characterized as a work of fiction. An example: ". . .the first warning signs were the Denny's and Walmart." Mt. Jackson does not have a Walmart, but it does have a Denny's (which does serve a fairly decent Thanksgiving dinner for the non-elitist). The "trailer park" contains a maximum of four trailers well off Route 11 (I guess you can make this up). Despite the review's contention, the main house and cottages are far from "run down." Indeed, Betty and Bob Luse, the Innkeepers, maintain the house and surrounding property in impeccable condition.

    One apparent area of contention is the dog-friendly "pasture" which turned out to be an open field. Apart from the fact that one definition of a pasture is an open field (one doesn't pasture cows in the woods), the adjacent field is extremely suitable for dogs. In the 15 years that we have stayed at the Inn, we have always availed ourselves of the field for our dogs. My wife and I have walked the perimeter of the pasture every single year, and throughout all that time we have never seen any holes in the fence surrounding the field which would allow dogs to escape. Our dogs are small dogs -- and very much alive and well.

    There are other points that could be made. Suffice it to say that The Widow Kip's is an excellent B&B. Bob and Betty Luse are fine people who are always warm and welcoming. It's always pleasant to spend time with them and share stories, especially after one of their very special breakfasts. My wife and I have enjoyed our experiences there, and we look forward to new experiences. We highly recommend The Widow Kip's.

    • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
    2  Thank Bill C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed December 26, 2012

    I stayed here for a few days before Christmas as a writer's retreat, bringing my dog Joey and staying in one of the cottages. It was great to have a pretty place where I could bring Joey and he enjoyed the grassy path that circled five acres of fenced-in hayfields. The Silk Purse cottage had a covered porch, a large bedroom with comfortable queen bed, small table, plenty of lamps, and full size antique dresser and two windows as well as a door with six window panes. The living room has a daybed, cable TV, rocking chairs, electric heater with "burning" logs and two windows; the bathroom is full size with full tub shower and large vanity sink, and a pretty window looking out into the yard. The kitchenette was outside the bathroom, and has range with oven, large sink, microwave and small refrigerator and cabinets with dishes. Windows looked out into the yard or across at the main house and the other cottage, all picturesque. Windows have blinds and pretty Priscilla curtains. All was warm and cozy. Breakfast was in the main house in the beautiful dining room, and Betty Luse and husband Bob couldn't be more friendly, gracious hosts. Betty has a talent for presenting a plate of homemade delectibles so beautiful you don't want to eat them, but you do, and all were delicious! It is also wonderful to visit the small towns and countryside in this area: Mount Jackson less than a half mile away, and Edinburg, seven miles, where you can get a superb meal at Sal's Italian Bistro. There's also a cafe and a coffeehouse in Mt. Jackson and a Food Lion north of town and a small Sav-a-lot in town on Main Street. This is a charming weekend getaway. I am so glad I went.

    Room Tip: If you don't have a pet, choose one of the gorgeous rooms in the main house. But if you want a lot of privacy, ability to make meals and/or have a pet to bring, choose one of the cottages.
    • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Deborah B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed November 25, 2012

    For the last three years in May and October we stay at Widow Kips with our Dog and Cat. The owners Bob & Betty are wonderful hosts, the Inn is clean, and our accommodations couldn't have been better. The grounds are beautiful, and we would definitely recommend staying there!

    • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Mayornaples
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed October 28, 2012

    There is nothing worse than thinking you are going to stay for a romantic weekend in a "Country Inn", as the Widow Kips described itself, and finding out instead you are in for a nightmare stay. It was old (not in the good way), run down, dirty (they never made the bed or changed the towels while we were there) and 100 yards from Interstate 81. The noise of the trucks all night was brutal as much as I tried to pretend it was the ocean.

    I don't know where to start- as we drove off Interstate 81 to Mt. Jackson (which was supposed to be a charming historic town in Shenandoah Valley, Virginia) the first warning signs were the Denny's and Walmart. Being optimistic we thought maybe it would get better as we headed a little out of town. We were wrong.

    Next scenic view was a trailer park (you can't make this stuff up) and then a half mile later the "Widow Kips Country Inn". It is a run down main house with two cottages that were even worse. It was billed as dog friendly with 5 acres of pasture in a "fenced in" area for the dogs to run in. The "pasture" was an open field within a stones throw of a major highway with holes in the fence so our dogs would have run onto the highway and died if we didn't keep them on a leash.

    The room in the cottage had not been cleaned perhaps ever. You could see layers of dirt on the windows, the carpet was filthy, dust on all the furniture, no heat, the toilet was broken and the shower was plastic (worse than Motel 6). And the decorations were horrendous.

    You know you are in trouble when you find yourself wishing you had booked a Red Roof Inn. At least at the Red Roof Inn they are dog friendly. the room would have been clean and they would have made the bed and changed the towels. They should have paid us to stay there.

    Room Tip: There are no good rooms. Run as fast as you can.
    • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank daltonarch
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Lusey, Owner at The Widow Kip's Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

    My husband and I both want to thank you for taking time to write your review about the Widow Kip's Country Inn. We are sorry to say that there is not a Walmart store in Mt. Jackson, VA - but,
    there is one in Woodstock, VA - which is 10 miles away. The motel at the I-81 exit has always had a restaurant as part of their establishment, and recently they converted it to a Denny's Res-
    taurant. People that are traveling, and not familiar with the area prefer to eat in a franchise restaurant. We do have several family owned restaurants in the area, and we do have a menu
    album in the living room for the guests. We do have a 5 acre pasture for the pets, and there is a
    path around the field for those that prefer to walk there animals - rather than let them run free. As
    for holes in the fence - the fence is state property - which we will bring to their attention - we were
    not aware of this problem. Every room is cleaned on the departure of our guests, and freshened
    before the arrival of each guest. Yes, we are close to the interstate - there are trees that buffer
    some of the sound - we are upfront with our guests when they feel that the noise will bother them,
    we suggest that they not stay. We are inspected by five (5) different organizations - we are rated
    the highest for a bed and breakfast by AAA and we have certificates of satisfactory inspections.
    We have owned this inn for 21 years, and it is unique in its lodging that we include children and
    pets in our cottages.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed October 11, 2012

    Stayed here early October 2012 for four nights. We arrived early, so sat on the porch and watched the wonderful birdlife in the garden - red cardinals included. The house is charming, as are the hosts, Bob and Betty. Nothing was too much trouble and the breakfasts were delicious every morning, especially the home made apple cinnamon syrup! We stayed in the main house, in the Marigold room, where the shower room can only be described as "cosy". You have to remember however, that 1820's houses didn't originally come with indoor plumbing. Stay here for the charm of the house and gardens, the breakfasts and the warm, friendly welcome of the owners. There is plenty to do in the area including caverns, a covered bridge, Skyline Drive and some great small towns with individual shops and restaurants. One tip is to use the smaller country roads to see some great scenery and only use the Interstate if you need yo be somewhere in a hurry. Widow Kip's is a great place to unwind.

    Room Tip: All the rooms in the main house are lovely with antique furniture and beautiful quilts. The bathroom in Marigold is tiny but still functional.
    • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank k9nev
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews