We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun afternoon, but room for improvement”

CrossKeys Vineyards
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: CrossKeys Vineyards is a beautiful 125 acre estate with 35 acres of vineyards. This small batch, family run winery currently produces around 8,000 cases of 12 different wines per year that are estate grown, produced, and bottled. With the first vines planted in 2001 and our first harvest in 2006, the winery opened its doors in May of 2008. In late 2012, the CrossKeys Bistro, our onsite restaurant, was established. In addition CrossKeys hosts many events, both public and private, and of course lots of weddings.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I stumbled across this vineyard on my way back from Harrisonburg. The grounds are VERY impressive! I did a full tasting and enjoyed most of the wines. They did seem to be very understaffed. The poor guy doing the tastings was going between about 5 groups and had very little time to explain anything about the wine except what was already on the description sheet. There were also a large number of flies buzzing about in the tasting room. Cross Keys offer an impressive lunch menu (mainly sandwiches & fruit), but it took over 30 minutes to get my food. Fortunately, it was a GORGEOUS day to sit on the porch. The views were fantastic and I wasn't in a hurry to get anywhere. I think an increase in staff and a decrease in flies inside would greatly improve the experience.

Thank BeachLoversLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrossKeys V, Public Relations Manager at CrossKeys Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you for your feedback we greatly appreciate your time. This is our first season as a restaurant as well, so we apologize that there are still a few kinks to be worked out as a whole. We are currently doing our best to make the entire operation run as smoothly as possible and we appreciate your feedback on it to help us improve. As for the flies, we are a winery and vineyard surrounded by cattle farms and there is very little we can do about the fly epidemic. We have tried absolutely everything, if you have any suggestions we would be more than happy to try them out. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 157 of 199 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

We attended an outdoor wedding here, and the setting was absolutely beautiful. Everything went smoothly, the food was very good, the service attentive and capable, and the wines were tasty. The bride and groom were very happy and everyone had a good time, which is the most important thing. If you are planning a function here, there are a few things that might trouble older guests.

There were no ramps or other means of accessing the facility other than climbing the wide steps which have no handrails. There was a steep little make-do path with loose gravel connecting the back area with the front area that all the wedding guests were directed to use. It is a fall waiting to happen, especially in high heels. The parking lot is pitch black after dark; you literally cannot see your feet. The narrow road out of the grounds is not well-marked, and there are no lights. We made a wrong turn, and it was scary turning the car around and trying to navigate our way to the road.

But I had a blast!

1  Thank Perkypaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrossKeys V, Public Relations Manager at CrossKeys Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the recent wedding you attended. We did just install, within the last two weeks, lights in the parking lot. We appreciate your other feedback and will do our best to improve. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Wonderful place to stop on a late summer day. Wine tasting experience was very good. Staff is knowledgeable and friendly. The 2012 Joy White (Vidal Blanc), 2012 Joy Red (Chambourcin), & the 2011 Cab Franc all very enjoyable. For a good dessert wine, the 2011 Ali d'Oro (Vidal Blanc) is a winner. After tasting, try the cheese plate outside on the beautiful patio. The views of the mountains and the entire atmosphere is relaxing. A full tasting, 10 wines, is $8.

Thank 001Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrossKeys V, Public Relations Manager at CrossKeys Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your recent visit. Please let us know if there is every anything we can do for you and we hope you come and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at nearby Massanutten Resort for a week, and when our adult daughter visited us for a couple of days, we all went to Cross Keys for a tasting. It is a very scenic and attractive setting, and we all enjoyed the tasting. The wines were good and our server very pleasant and informative. We purchased a bottle of wine, Joy White, to take with us, and, after looking at the menu and the beautiful veranda, we decided to stay for lunch. That was a good decision as we enjoyed our meal, a glass of wine, and the gorgeous view. I had the Chef Special, a salad of greens, feta cheese, and juicy watermelon chunks topped with a piece of grilled salmon and a delicious dressing; my husband, the baked brie in filo dough with honey and walnuts, and our daughter, The Croissant. We were very pleased with our choices and with our pleasant experience at Cross Keys.

1  Thank JWK48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrossKeys V, Public Relations Manager at CrossKeys Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your recent visit. Let us know if there is ever anything we can do for you. We hope you come back to see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Always bring out of town company to the vineyard for a wine tasting and to enjoy the scenic view which is gorgeous. Find that they are a bit 'stand offish' not Southern friendly and their pricing is getting higher and higher for the value. When they first opened we visited more often because it didn't break the bank, now we find we must be ready to drop some $$$ for an afternoon visit.

Thank USArmyMom22846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrossKeys V, Public Relations Manager at CrossKeys Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are so happy you love bringing guests here. I just wanted to mention that we have not increased any of our wine, tasting, or tour prices since we opened in 2008. If you could let us know what it is that you think has increased we would greatly appreciate it so that we can address the issue. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CrossKeys Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to CrossKeys Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing