We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend - definitely do this!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montross
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Montross
Ranked #1 of 1 Montross B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful and relaxing weekend at the Inn at Montross. Usually these kinds of places are never as nice when you get there as the pictures and comments and line suggest, but in this case, it was all much better! Chef Cindy and her husband Ken make sure you feel completely comfortable and at home. The atmosphere is completely relzes and welcoming. You get to know your fellow "Inn-Mates" since the environment is so comfortable (if you want to that is.) The food was awesome. We thought we would eat one night at the Inn and one night somewhere else. But we just couldn't see why we would bother to not stay and enjoy the wonderful food after the first night. The rooms were very clean and very tastefully decorated. (most older inns are dirty and not well done in the name of being "historical" - not this place - it's clean!) It's a perfect location for enjoying the Northern Neck wineries and historical sites. We will definitely be going back to this one!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms seemed great. There was a sitting area in one space with games and books to e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 144 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

Chef Cindy and her team are fun, energetic and cook great food. Thursday night - Bistro night is one of my favorite meals in the area. Inexpensive, high quality, and always delicious. Who could ask for a better combination. I would highly recommend dinner at the Inn at Montross. I have always left feeling like a VIP customer.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WAndrewClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We've stayed at a number of B&Bs all over the country, but The Inn at Montross is one of our new favorites. Cindy, one of the owners and the chef for the Inn's breakfasts and dining room, welcomed us and is one of the most energetic, friendly people ever. Our breakfasts on Saturday and Sunday were wonderful and Cindy accommodated my husband's dietary limitations graciously and efficiently. We stayed for dinner one night and it was one of the bext dinners we've ever had. (See our review under "Restaurants.") The rooms are decorated beautifully and the common areas are lovely and stocked with books and games for the guests' enjoyment. Cindy's husband Ken provided welcome coupons for area wine tastings, which was a great bonus, and the inn even provided a private wine tasting for the guests on Saturday afternoon! We had a wonderful weekend and plan to come back!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, but the Stratford Room has a four poster canopy bed with toile fabric - ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbara1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The inn has been beautifully restored and nicely furnished. The public rooms are comfortable and the front porch is fantastic ... grab a glass of wine and just rock and relax!
Cindy and Ken are exemplary hosts and make every effort to accommodate their overnight guests. Cindy's food is outstanding. Overall, a really fine place to stay in an area that is loaded with wineries and historical sites. We plan to return.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side of the inn are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marji H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I booked the Stratford Rm, we were celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary. We had never gotten to go on a honeymoon, and we had never stayed at a B&B before. Booking the reservation was a breeze, Cindy made everything to easy to set up. When we got there the place was gorgeous! Seeing how I've never been to a B&B before this is the best way I can describe it...I was like going to stay at my Aunt & Uncles for the weekend. We really felt like we were home and Cindy and Ken were great! They told us about all the wineries and hot spots to check out. And the food at the Inn is beyond words! We already have decided that we are definatley going again. I recommend that you eat dinner there at least one night, definatley sign up for brunch on sunday, and John the bartender makes great mojitos and sangria!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We spent my better half's birthday weekend here and had a wonderfully relaxing time. Cindy and Ken told us to make ourselves at home, and we did. We had a nice little wine tasting with Ken, after a day touring Stafford Hall and nearyby wineries. And Cindy's food is just plain delicious - loved everything we ordered. We will certainly take them up on their offer to return in the quieter months and share a bottle of wine on the porch!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nav1go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Inn at Montross was more than we could have ever asked for in our first bed and breakfast stay. Upon our arrival we were instantly greeted by Cindy and Ken who made us feel welcome. Ken gave us passes and tips on what to do in the area including wine tastings, which all turned out to be a great time. 
I could go on and on about everything great that has happened during our stay, but I would like to highlight the food and hospitality. Saturday morning we thought we had the best breakfast we would ever eat, Cindy even came out and asked if we had any specifications for our homemade meal in the morning. We soon found out that we were wrong about the best breakfast when we had the Sunday brunch- which had fresh ingredients and items made to order.
Cindy and Ken went out of their way to make sure our stay was amazing. They stored our food and wine in their fridge, brought us all of our food to the porch where we wanted to sit and enjoy the serene atmosphere, and even brought candles to our table outside. This stay has been beyond any of our expectations and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrittaniaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montross
13.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tappahannock
9.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Warsaw
41 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Inn at Stratford Hall
The Inn at Stratford Hall
#1 of 1 in Stratford
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Washington & Lee Motel
Washington & Lee Motel
#1 of 1 in Montross
7 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Montross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Montross

Address: 21 Polk St, Montross, VA 22520-2771
Location: United States > Virginia > Montross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Montross
Price Range: $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1790's Colonial Bed and Breakfast with 5 Guestrooms. All guestrooms have private bath, queen size beds, free WIFI and climate control. The Inn has a lovely and favorably reviewed 60 seat restaurant where guest arrive at opening and remain until closing. The Inn makes memories! The first floor has an inviting fireside bar and comfortable seating to relax, read or engage with other guest.The Pub Downstairs has 10 draft lines full bar and 5 televisions to enjoy all your sports games and also live music from the local musicians on the weekends The Inn has 5 local neighborhood vineyards they entice you to visit as well as historic Stratford Hall Plantation and George Washington's Birthplace. So come get away and do as little as you like, sit on the rocking chair front porch with a glass of local wine, or go out and explore. We will see you here! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing