We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveler rating
46
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews log cabin wonderful hosts homemade bagels next morning jim lorraine other guests
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 47 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed in the Mountain View Room for a night. This is definitely the best B&B that we've ever stayed in - in terms of quality, service, location and value. We were greeted by Jim the owner, who has been working in the farm as we drove up, and shortly after, Jodie the playful dog, who warmly greeted us. Lorraine, Jim's wife, led us to our room. The room was nicely furnished with antiques and handcrafted items, some were made Lorraine. The view was absolutely fabulous. You could see mountains after mountains on a clear day. No air cond is needed as it was cool enough at night simply by opening the window.

We enjoyed sitting on the lawn chairs outside the house just before the sunset. (The sun set behind the trees though). Not a big deal, as Jodie and the cat would try to get your attention and the horse and the friendly donkey were grazing nearby. Jim offered a tour to his highland cattle and vegetable garden. They grew all kinds of vegetables themselves. It was cloudy in the morning but I enjoyed sitting in the rocking chair by the window watching the clouds moving in and out of the mountains. I think it was therapeutic to watch the weather!

Breakfast was certainly another highlight. the homemade jam, homemade bread, delicious egg casserole, freshly squeezed juice, freshly grind coffee, fruit salad. We enjoyed breakfast as Jim shared his stories. Lorraine is definitely a great cook and potter. A lot of the pottery in the house was made by her. I highly recommend this place to anyone!

Our GPS (with an updated map this year) was spot on. Google and Bing Maps should able to get you there too, and there was a small sign on the main road at Sounding Knob Road, as well as at the entrance of their driveway.

Room Tip: The best view, no doubt, is the Mountain View Room where you can see endless mountain ranges in a distance.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kutepanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Laurel Point Bed and Breakfast is the best place we have ever stayed. We were three adults and three small children, and we stayed in the cabin. It was perfectly clean and comfortable, and the grounds were lovely. JIm and Loraine were very friendly and welcoming, especially with our children. Jim showed the kids the animals and allowed them to pick veggies in the garden for a salad. We also went on many walks with Jodie, their dog. Lorraine's cooking was delicious, and everything seemed to be made from scratch. Best breakfast we have ever had.

This place is a perfect retreat if you want to get away from everything and enjoy crisp mountain air and lovely views. Thanks for the great trip!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank KIm-In-Baltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We spent a night at Jim and Lorraine's place on our way to drop our kids off at camp. We are a couple and 3 kids (ages 11, 9, 5). The location is stunning - the views from the patio are amazing - and the house and property are wonderful: Lorraine let the kids pick some veggies in the garden; Jim took us on a tour to see the cows/horse/donkey, and the other cute little rental houses on their property; and the kids loved playing with Jody the dog! The bedrooms were perfect for us: 1 room with a queen, separated but connected to another room with a full-size and queen-size bed and en suite bathroom. The breakfast the next morning was scrumptious, and our jog up the trail to the fire tower was tiring but fun! The B&B is kind of hard to find, so ask Jim for directions before you set out. Recommend it if you're traveling through the area!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifersquires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Jim and Lorraine are excellent host, they direct their attention to ensuring you have an enjoyable and relaxing experience at their home. Jodie, the canine trail guide, will ensure you have an enjoyable experience on each trail you may venture down. The views of the mountain landscape are simply spectacular, If you are looking for a relaxing get-away, Laurel Point Retreat is the one place to go.

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Our visit at Laurel Point this Autumn is an experience we will always treasure. Lorraine and Jim's warmth and friendliness made us feel right at home and immediately like family.The farm's breathtaking panoramas of fall foliage, period architecture and artisan craftsmanship created a timeless ambiance of hard work, skill, artistry and love of nature. Jim and Lorraine's spectacular restored log home and working farm, their handmade arts and crafts and antiques, Lorraine's absolutely delicious organic mountain homemade jams, apple butter, maple syrup, buckwheat pancakes, homemade breads and bagels, casseroles and phenomenal baked oatmeal, the warm fires, mountain lore and Jim's stories all wove a simpler yet earthy design of self-sufficiency and innate love of the mountains and their beauty. Our last morning there as we sat around the kitchen table sharing conversations about nature and life in general with everyone, we felt a thread of fellowship and connectiveness that has renewed us. Jim and Lorraine have indeed achieved through their hospitality and genuine kindness mountain magic at Laurel Point Retreat that cannot be paralleled--an inspiring and comforting experience of a lifetime.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rakkasan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews