We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Views!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monterey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laurel Point Retreat
Ranked #1 of 8 Monterey B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We spent a night at Jim and Lorraine's place on our way to drop our kids off at camp. We are a couple and 3 kids (ages 11, 9, 5). The location is stunning - the views from the patio are amazing - and the house and property are wonderful: Lorraine let the kids pick some veggies in the garden; Jim took us on a tour to see the cows/horse/donkey, and the other cute little rental houses on their property; and the kids loved playing with Jody the dog! The bedrooms were perfect for us: 1 room with a queen, separated but connected to another room with a full-size and queen-size bed and en suite bathroom. The breakfast the next morning was scrumptious, and our jog up the trail to the fire tower was tiring but fun! The B&B is kind of hard to find, so ask Jim for directions before you set out. Recommend it if you're traveling through the area!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifersquires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
18
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Jim and Lorraine are excellent host, they direct their attention to ensuring you have an enjoyable and relaxing experience at their home. Jodie, the canine trail guide, will ensure you have an enjoyable experience on each trail you may venture down. The views of the mountain landscape are simply spectacular, If you are looking for a relaxing get-away, Laurel Point Retreat is the one place to go.

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Our visit at Laurel Point this Autumn is an experience we will always treasure. Lorraine and Jim's warmth and friendliness made us feel right at home and immediately like family.The farm's breathtaking panoramas of fall foliage, period architecture and artisan craftsmanship created a timeless ambiance of hard work, skill, artistry and love of nature. Jim and Lorraine's spectacular restored log home and working farm, their handmade arts and crafts and antiques, Lorraine's absolutely delicious organic mountain homemade jams, apple butter, maple syrup, buckwheat pancakes, homemade breads and bagels, casseroles and phenomenal baked oatmeal, the warm fires, mountain lore and Jim's stories all wove a simpler yet earthy design of self-sufficiency and innate love of the mountains and their beauty. Our last morning there as we sat around the kitchen table sharing conversations about nature and life in general with everyone, we felt a thread of fellowship and connectiveness that has renewed us. Jim and Lorraine have indeed achieved through their hospitality and genuine kindness mountain magic at Laurel Point Retreat that cannot be paralleled--an inspiring and comforting experience of a lifetime.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rakkasan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We enjoyed a thoroughly good time at the Laurel Point retreat. The rebuild of the inn at the top of Jack Mountain is a treat to behold and the effort must have been amazing!
Lorraine and Jim are excellent hosts, they could not do enough to help us in any way they could.
Room very spacious and spotless. breakfast excellent, just try the buckwheat pancakes. Would recommend totally.
Peter s

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Instead of thinking of this wonderful hideaway as a B&B, call it a "boutique mountain lodge--without pretensions." How good is it? The main, expansive "cabin" has five rooms, plus there's a small cabin two-hundred feet off in the woods. During our stay, three of the couples present were return guests--and two of those were back for their third visit. What's so great? Start with one of the most beautiful views in the world (no exaggeration, since I've visited seventy countries and stayed in many a lovely spot). Perched just in the lee of one of Virginia's highest mountains, the main building is sited with a flawless panoramic view of a succession of mountain ridges stretching deep into West Virginia, and as the sun moves across the sky, the nuances of the landscape shift (sort of a leafy Grand Canyon). The deciduous trees are largely maples, so the color is spectacular. But there's more than just that world-class view: The hosts, Jim and Lorraine, are incredibly welcoming, patient and eager to please. The main "cabin" is a masterpiece of recreating a true pioneer cabin feel (but with a lot more space, good plumbing, and a splendid kitchen, where terrific country breakfasts are prepared). Even the house dog, Jody, was terrific, herding us along on our long hike from the cabin into the State Game Management area above four-thousand feet in elevation. More praise? My standard complaint about B&Bs is the wimpy coffee, but, here, even the coffee was bold and perfect for a chilly autumn morning. This is a place that just makes you happy to be there and to be alive. And you'll learn some unexpected things: Highlands Country, big and beautiful, has only about 2,300 inhabitants--astonishingly wild for the East Coast--yet has a great deal of history, including fascinating Civil War battlefields. Of course, in so rural an area, dining options are limited and the Laurel Point Retreat only serves breakfast (included in the rates), but two miles down the mountain, in Monterey, you can get an acceptable dinner in the old Highlands Inn Hotel (have reasonable expectations, and order the local trout or red meat--keep it simple) or in High's Cafe across the street, a family-style rural diner where you get big portions of rural-diner food. This isn't a foodie destination, but you'll do okay, if you're not a total snob. And the important thing is the transcendent beauty of the surrounding nature. Get out in it. You won't be able to avoid glorious exuberance. This realized-dream of Jim's and Lorraine's gets my highest possible recommendation.

Room Tip: Cabin in the woods in private and lovely, but most guests will prefer the main building, where most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

I was in Monterey, VA on business and at the recommendation of others stayed at Laurel Point instead of the local Inn. What a wonderful experience. Lorraine and Jim are the owners and just as nice and accommodating as anyone could hope for. The B&B is clean and well maintained and the breakfast was just wonderful. My colleague and I were asked each evening, what time we wanted breakfast and what we would like to eat. Lorraine bakes all of her breads fresh, makes wonderful jams, jellies and spreads and the eggs are fresh with no processing. The scenery is just wonderful; magnificent mountains that you can just sit on the patio and take in. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for the mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalind H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

My kids and I enjoyed a great time at Laurel Point Retreat. Jim and Lorraine were very welcoming and helped us feel right at home. The breakfast was incredibly good. The view is amazing. We had the best time ever.

Erica, Chris and Elianna.

Room Tip: Mountain View room was the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterey
23.7 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#1 of 1 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Buckhorn Inn
The Buckhorn Inn
#1 of 1 in Churchville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
23.4 mi away
Soaring Eagle Lodge
Soaring Eagle Lodge
#1 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Fort Lewis Lodge
Fort Lewis Lodge
#1 of 1 in Millboro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
23.8 mi away
Expedition Station
Expedition Station
#3 of 24 in Snowshoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
23.7 mi away
Allegheny Springs
Allegheny Springs
#4 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Point Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Point Retreat

Property: Laurel Point Retreat
Address: 414 Sounding Knob Road, Monterey, VA 24465
Location: United States > Virginia > Monterey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing