We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveler rating
45
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
1
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 46 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Instead of thinking of this wonderful hideaway as a B&B, call it a "boutique mountain lodge--without pretensions." How good is it? The main, expansive "cabin" has five rooms, plus there's a small cabin two-hundred feet off in the woods. During our stay, three of the couples present were return guests--and two of those were back for their third visit. What's so great? Start with one of the most beautiful views in the world (no exaggeration, since I've visited seventy countries and stayed in many a lovely spot). Perched just in the lee of one of Virginia's highest mountains, the main building is sited with a flawless panoramic view of a succession of mountain ridges stretching deep into West Virginia, and as the sun moves across the sky, the nuances of the landscape shift (sort of a leafy Grand Canyon). The deciduous trees are largely maples, so the color is spectacular. But there's more than just that world-class view: The hosts, Jim and Lorraine, are incredibly welcoming, patient and eager to please. The main "cabin" is a masterpiece of recreating a true pioneer cabin feel (but with a lot more space, good plumbing, and a splendid kitchen, where terrific country breakfasts are prepared). Even the house dog, Jody, was terrific, herding us along on our long hike from the cabin into the State Game Management area above four-thousand feet in elevation. More praise? My standard complaint about B&Bs is the wimpy coffee, but, here, even the coffee was bold and perfect for a chilly autumn morning. This is a place that just makes you happy to be there and to be alive. And you'll learn some unexpected things: Highlands Country, big and beautiful, has only about 2,300 inhabitants--astonishingly wild for the East Coast--yet has a great deal of history, including fascinating Civil War battlefields. Of course, in so rural an area, dining options are limited and the Laurel Point Retreat only serves breakfast (included in the rates), but two miles down the mountain, in Monterey, you can get an acceptable dinner in the old Highlands Inn Hotel (have reasonable expectations, and order the local trout or red meat--keep it simple) or in High's Cafe across the street, a family-style rural diner where you get big portions of rural-diner food. This isn't a foodie destination, but you'll do okay, if you're not a total snob. And the important thing is the transcendent beauty of the surrounding nature. Get out in it. You won't be able to avoid glorious exuberance. This realized-dream of Jim's and Lorraine's gets my highest possible recommendation.

Room Tip: Cabin in the woods in private and lovely, but most guests will prefer the main building, where most rooms have views. But there are no bad options.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I was in Monterey, VA on business and at the recommendation of others stayed at Laurel Point instead of the local Inn. What a wonderful experience. Lorraine and Jim are the owners and just as nice and accommodating as anyone could hope for. The B&B is clean and well maintained and the breakfast was just wonderful. My colleague and I were asked each evening, what time we wanted breakfast and what we would like to eat. Lorraine bakes all of her breads fresh, makes wonderful jams, jellies and spreads and the eggs are fresh with no processing. The scenery is just wonderful; magnificent mountains that you can just sit on the patio and take in. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for the mountain view.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosalind H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

My kids and I enjoyed a great time at Laurel Point Retreat. Jim and Lorraine were very welcoming and helped us feel right at home. The breakfast was incredibly good. The view is amazing. We had the best time ever.

Erica, Chris and Elianna.

Room Tip: Mountain View room was the best.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We knew as soon as we saw this beautiful place that it was worth the 80+ miles off our path going home. It is simply unforgettable! It was a very comfortable place very tastefully filled with Colonial antiques. Early American Magazine should do a story on this place! If you don't like that style period, no one with a brain can ever say the location and view are not one of the best on this planet! The owners were away when we stayed, but they had the most wonderful couple take care of the inn and we could not have asked for a better experience...what wonderful memories we all had from our trip there. It is a long way from Georgia, but we want to go back again. While we were there we met others who had returned. It's like the Grand Canyon...words and photos just don't give you the true picture...you need to see it to believe how beautiful it is! We stayed in the log room on a very hot day in July. Since I am the hot flash queen...I was worried that it would be too hot at night. They had fans going in the windows that we had to turn off because it got too cold. I am just mentioning this so that you know what to expect. If I was comfortable...anyone would be!

Room Tip: The log room is perfect for families and contrary to the description they give...it has a lovely view of the mountain range and the pasture with animals. The other room upstairs was facing a mountain range that was visible all the way to West Virginia. I loved our room and want to stay in it again! If you're a city person...know ahead...it is dark at night and oh so quiet! A little preview of heaven!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susiebell2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This B&B is a real gem. The first thing that hits you is the staggering view of the mountains of Virginia. But then you see what a gorgeous home this is. The hosts are a friendly warm couple who built this place from the ground up with all recycled materials and a whole lot of love. The room we stayed in (log room) was comfortable, clean and full of character. There are homemade quilts, antiques and charming spaces throughout the house, and the property is a working cattle farm. We loved it here, and wish we could have stayed longer. A retreat in every sense!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllDownTheLine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews