We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a good night spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mango's Bar and Grill

Mango's Bar and Grill
Ranked #29 of 48 Restaurants in Moneta
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Smith Mountain Lakes premier restaurant and music venue. We feature large selection of steak, seafood, salads, sandwiches and grilled items. We offer cafe & patio dining in a casual atmosphere. A lakeside restaurant with live entertainment Thursday through Saturday. Please check our website for band dates and times to plan your next visit while you are at Smith Mountain Lake.
Virginia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“This is a good night spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Has live bands, descent drinks and bar food. I haven't had anything to eat there but apps and they were just fine washed down with a cold beer. You go here for the atmosphere, not the food. they typically have live bands a great outdoor seating. Get there early to ensure you gave a table.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank forrill04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    19
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dont eat there!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

The service and food is terrible. I watched the bar tender take a water hose from behind the bar and sprayed a custumer because he complained about his food. She even ruined his cell phone! The Manager disnt do anything (see looked like she didnt even want to be there). The food is way overpriced and nasty (except the fried pickles). I do like sitting oitside and watching the bands play.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Miamifan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greensboro, nc
Level Contributor
80 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great steak and cheese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We visited on a sunny Saturday for lunch in September so we sat outside. The server was very friendly and prompt. He recommended the steak and cheese that turned out to be great. Also had a dam lager(local brew) that was just ok.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dtraveler29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway, Maine
Level Contributor
144 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Would not go Back!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

It was off season (September). There were 9 in our party. We went there for dinner mid-week. There was one waitress and we were okay with waiting as we were enjoying each other's company. Out of 9 of us, not one of us had a good meal. The food was very disappointing! One of the ladies asked for a glass of wine. She got the glass of wine and it was bad (literally had gone bad and tasted like vinegar). The waitress took it back and came back with a different glass of wine but noted "the bar tender said this was a new bottle and it so it should not have been bad." It was bad! It was disappointing that the comment was made and worse that they didn't take the time to smell or taste it to see that it had gone bad. We could have lived with the wine epidsode if the food had been good. Unfortunatley it was not..... They definately need to find a new cook. So, you are probably asking why I gave it a poor vs a terrible? Location - if you sit outside, you are overlooking the lake. Also they have a nice venue for entertainment. There was no entertainment the night we were there but I can see that it would be a fun place to go in the summer.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mainesilver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
213 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

A gal at the visitor's center said Mango's had the best burgers of all the restaurants there at Bridgewater Plaza, so went without hesitation.

Pros:
Awesome outdoor patio, albeit on the lower level, with an outdoor area to order drinks and such right there on the water, with misting water fan-blown over the area, very cool place to hang out, sorta reminds me of Margaritaville in the Keys.

Cons:
While the burgers were indeed good, I wouldn't call them exceptional. My beer was served in a can and though the can itself was extremely cold, the beer inside wasn't, as though was in ice for not long enough after starting out room temp. Service was pleasant but not as attentive as I'd like.

Overall it's not a bad place to go for a meal, but I liked the Pizza Pub better, and we'll surely try Moosie's next time over Mango's.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jboynsteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mango's Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Mango's Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing