We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful & serene area with as many or as few activities as you wish to be involved in.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smith Mountain Lake

Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Moneta
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
central Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful & serene area with as many or as few activities as you wish to be involved in.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Smith Mountain Lake in Central Virginia (Bedford / & Franklin Counties is an absolutely beautiful destination.
All water sports are available with numerous marinas & 2 Virginia State Parks.
Check out the SML Chamber of Commerce site for a variety of area interests & activities. (Also ...Bedford Chamber of Commerce)
Our favorite times are Fall (during Autumn Foliage display) & Spring awakening at the Lake. Summer...the lake gets busier!
Rentals overlooking the serene water are available ... we use "By The Lake Rentals", Moneta, VA.
The area is very close to the Bkue Ridge Parkway & numerous historic daytrips (D Day Memorial, Appomattox National Historical Park where the Nation was reunited after the Civil War, Booker T Washington birthplace, Poplar Forest which was Thomas Jefferson's "getaway" from his Monticello homeplace).
Numerous local wineries, potteries, galleries and orchards open their doors to visitors.
It is a beautiful area .. don't miss a trip to Smith Mountain Lake. Relax & soak in the tranquility. ♡♥♡

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank VA10Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    36
    4
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Linden, Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“SML is a Lake Paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I first went to Smith Mountain Lake near the Moneta, VA area in 2010. FYI - the lake has 500 miles of shoreline! We had been wanting to go for years. We are avid outdoors people, love nature, and love bass fishing. The area is remarkably beautiful, it is not overgrown with buildings, housing and industry and I hope and pray that never changes. There is so much to do, a beautiful state park nearby, dozens and dozens of marinas, great restaurants, and great places to stay. Our favorite place to stay is Halesford Habour Inn in Moneta. It is a nice small inn, there is a restaurant in the harbor, and also boat rental. Great, great location on the lake. We have now been down to the area at least 6 times in the past two years and would go more if we could. If you love the outdoors, a beautiful huge lake, nice people, and rolling beautiful mountains. Make a trip here. We love it so much that we would love to move there one day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linden96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, NC
Level Contributor
412 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Just love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Many years ago, we got a tour of the building of this lake... and always, always enjoy any opportunity to enjoy the views and water. We have had very good experiences renting condos here - and would highly recommend this unique mid-Virginia place!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“lovely views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Great views plenty of eating choices activities for the active etc etc .The drive there and back can be made by a very pretty circuit from either Roanoke (downtown worth a visit) or HI Express in Troutville who will print off directions for you.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MalcolmandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Smith Mountain Lake and Dam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

The lake is beautiful and the little park and visitor's center at the dam provide an overview of why the lake was built and how it is used to provide electricity today. Very educational for kids. It is a little bit of a drive, but the drive is pretty on country roads. If you are in to fishing, Smith Mountain and the adjoining Leesville lakes provide a lot of possibilities. Smith Mountain Lake and Dam are not far off of the Blue Ridge parkway and just a nice side trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Smith Mountain Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing