We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great stay, great people!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Halesford Harbour Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Halesford Harbour Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moneta
Certificate of Excellence
Warrenton, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay, great people!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I can't say enough about hoe great our stay was. I was looking for a place that had a variety of needs to be filled. Senior friendly and that was youthful! Pet-friendly, with clean rooms! Lake access with a boat slip! And, kitchenette! Halesford Harbour Inn was that and more!

Micheal was wonderful on the phone & helped us feel no stress, as the beginning of our trip was a " Murphy's Law" morning! We arrived later than expected & Jennifer greeted us, gave us our, room info & the 411 on where to find what! She was great!

The rooms were clean, quiet, comfortable, the shower was ample with good water pressure. The Inn more than suited our needs, especially, after a long day on the water. Lake access was good, boat launch close, we put out boat trailer in a lot close to our room.

We will definitely be back! And, soon! We are looking forward to bringing more of our family and telling our friends about our "get-a-way"! Thank you Jennifer & Micheal for your genuine hospitality!! Missy thanks for helping us checking out!!

Since they are a smaller establishment, if you don't get an answer when making a reservation...leave a message! Someone WILL call you back!

Room Tip: Our next stay with family may be in the suite or in room #1 (it has a small deck), however, our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boricuaqtnva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
22
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chapmanville, WV
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We came to Smith Mountain Lake last year and were having too much fun to go home. Our condo rental was over, but we found Halesford Harbour on the internet so we could extend our vacation. The room was comfortable and made our last few days at Smith Mountain Lake even more fun. The place is very quaint and the updates are very nice. Loved the marina and staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wvmountaingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grundy, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Our family stayed here over the weekend. The rooms were clean, the staff was very friendly, the view if the lake is also good, and they are pet friendley! Great for fishermen and their families. We hope to get to go back to SML, and if we do I definitely want to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

My family stayed here for 2 weeks in April during a Fishing Tournament for my husband. Upon arrival one of the very helpful & friendly grounds keeper immediately showed us where to check in & took my husband for a tour of the park in his golf cart. Check in was fast & easy. The officer manager was very friendly & easy going. The housekeeper was very pleasant & works around your schedule. Our room was spotless, spacious & had a beautiful view of smith mountian lake. It was equipt with a full kitchen that was very convient. There's a boat ramp right on site so my husband was very happy! Jakes resturant is also on site with great food & prices! The sandy beaches & playground kept my 2 year old entertained. Over all we had a great stay at a reasonable price & we will return back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ykcin777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirtz, Virginia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at Halesford Harbour for a week in October 2012 while looking at real estate around SML. What a pretty location and convenient to our search. While not a luxury accommodation, it was very neat , clean and very well kept up. The staff was great and we enjoyed our stay there. There are boat rentals nearby and a restaurant that was open only on the weekend but it must be fabulous in the summertime, as it has a patio right out over the cove. For the money, we couldn’t have expected any better. We would have rated it 5* for us, but some people expect more in the way of luxury. It was the type of accomodation we look for, with the added benifit of being right on the water.

Room Tip: We did not select the room, but ours opened up on the lower level facing the lake. Every morning it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wizzard_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Level Contributor
121 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

The new owners of this older motel have done a fantastic job updating and cleaning up the property! The Inn has a beautiful wooded setting at the Lake's edge with brand new docks and a great staff. The rooms have large picture windows providing a lovely view of the lake. The rooms are very clean. If you have not been at this "motel" since the new owners put a lot of money and effort into the location, it is worth another look - it is nothing like the "dump" the place used to be before the change in ownership. It is clear that these people really care about the property and the service they provide. They go out of their way to remember you and engage in conversation without being obtrusive.

At the same time, if you are seeking a luxury hotel stay, this might not be the right place. They have updated an old motel as much as possible, but it is still a mature property, albeit very clean, newly painted, etc. No pool, fitness room, free breakfast, etc. - it's just not that kind of place. Nice new TVs and wifi are included in the rooms, which was appreciated, and everything worked well.The walls are thin (every time the neighbor unlocked his door, I though he was coming into my room!), the appliances are mostly older and the bathroom is very small with a very loud fan. The beds were extremely hard, the "beach" needs work, and outdoor seating was not particularly comfortable (how about a few lounge chairs in addition to the pretty metal benches?).

Particularly for boaters or fisherman, this is a great spot! Jake's is within easy walking distance, as is the boat rental (although it limits the best fishing time when the boats cannot be picked up until 9am). The hotel's dock is right in front of the rooms, providing easy access. Room amenities are adequate, and I was especially pleased to see a bed with two pillows rather than the typical hotel overkill of 6-10 pillows per bed! That may be reflective of the type of property this is - good, clean basic inn space for those who plan to spend most of their vacation out of doors. I will definitely stay here again when visiting SML.

Room Tip: I like the rooms on the lower level, as you can open the door and be lakeside. The upper rooms lead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BuddyRoanoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Thank you for a wonderful vacation! We made our first trip to Smith Mountain Lake July 14-18, 2012 and stayed at the Halesford Harbour Inn. What an absolutely awesome place and location! The rooms were very spacious, nicely decorated, clean, loved the full kitchen – it had everything you need, and what a beautiful view overlooking the lake. Everything was so convenient. We rented a pontoon boat two days and just walked down to the Halesford Harbour Boat Rentals right in the harbor. Steve and Tom are great! They will set you up. You can watch the safety video right at the office and they gave us a great map with all the markers to get around the lake. The first day we only were renting for half a day. We were having so much fun we called and asked if we could keep the boat out all day. No problem. The boat was so comfortable, worked perfectly, and we had a blast going all over the lake. Then you have a wonderful restaurant also in the harbor – Jake’s Place. We just walked right from the Inn down the hill and to the restaurant. Lots of seating outside and inside overlooking the lake. The restaurant has very good food and a wonderful staff. This is a great setup. We cannot wait to come back. We would highly recommend the Halesford Harbour Inn to anyone! Thanks again for making our vacation so perfect. Great job, great staff, great location.

Room Tip: All the rooms overlook the lake! You can't go wrong with any room you pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linden96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moneta
15.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake
17.2 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
20.3 mi away
Peaks of Otter Lodge
Peaks of Otter Lodge
#1 of 4 in Bedford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake
17.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
19.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halesford Harbour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halesford Harbour Inn

Property: Halesford Harbour Inn
Address: 1336 Campers Paradise Trl, Smith Mountain Lake, Moneta, VA 24121-5982
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Moneta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moneta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful Inn is located waterside on Smith Mountain Lake. Our rooms have a spectacular view and were updated with new plush top mattresses in January 2014. We offer boat slips and boat launch complimentary with Inn room rental. The on site marina offers boat and canoe rental.There is also a private beach area for our guests. Jake's Place Restaurant is adjacent to the Inn. We are located just 1 mile east of Hales Ford Bridge on VA 122. There are lots of family activities and restaurants located within 1 mile of the resort at Bridgewater Plaza. You will not find a more peaceful,relaxing and beautiful facility on Smith Mountain Lake! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Halesford Harbour Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing