We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good neighborhood type restaurant”
Review of Jonathan's Restaurant - CLOSED

Jonathan's Restaurant
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: American, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: American bar and grill featuring an open flame charcoal grill. Steaks steaks, kabobs, baby back ribs, grilled fish, and burgers. Generous selection of seafood to choose from. Fresh garden salad bar.
Moneta, Virginia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good neighborhood type restaurant”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Tuesday after 4:00pm, hamburgers are half price...making this a reasonably priced dinner! They have a nice buffet at lunch and on Sunday with lots of Chinese choices. I haven't been impressed with their wine choices but service is generally good and the staff is friendly!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becky15-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    30
    20
    16
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We visited late one evening. My husband had a pasta dish and I had General Tso's chicken. My husband's meal was okay, but mine was inedible. The chicken was coated with a hard, flavorless coating that was impossible to chew and had no flavor. The staff was friendly, and the service was prompt. The food was just disappointing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, VA
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, but did not get the buffet we were expecting”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We visited Jonathan's for dinner with another family. We had read good reviews and was expecting a buffet. Unfortunately they do not have the buffet for dinner. We ordered off the menu and the food was good. I got the crab cakes. I was expecting a remoulade sauce, but they did not come with anything. I could never get the waitress' attention so I just used my husband's leftover tartar sauce. Service was very slow. I don't believe that we ever got any drink refills. It was very odd that they seated us at a table right in front of the bathroom door! I have never seen that in a restaurant. There was very little room between the door and our chairs. When I was coming out of the bathroom I hit the waitress with the door when she was standing there taking orders. That was very embarrassing! While the food was OK, I doubt that we will be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4Deans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Extremely slow service but decent food if you're not in a hurry”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We visited Jonathans on a Sunday evening at 7:00pm during non-buffet hours. Got put on a wait list because the hostess was told that she couldn't seat any more tables because the kitchen got backed up by about an hour. Waited for 20 min to sit at a table that was available since we walked in the door. Ordered our meal and an appetizer immediately when we sat down. Took 30 minutes to get cheese fries deliveres to our table, then waited another 20 min for food. All in all, what should've taken no more than an hour, we were at the restaurant for an hour and 40 min

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dolphinb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Reasonable”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Jonathan's is a good family restaurant. They offer good value and pretty good food. The Sunday buffet is wonderful. Tuesday's are half price burgers (make a reservation!). Service is good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank drmpas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jonathan's Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing