We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wake zone is great”
Review of Lakeview Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lakeview Restaurant
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: American
Description: Casual by the water dining. Indoor & Outdoor bars to enjoy the views and atmosphere rain or shine.
Restaurant details
Description: Casual by the water dining. Indoor & Outdoor bars to enjoy the views and atmosphere rain or shine.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wake zone is great”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We enjoy the fun atmosphere and food. Have been there numerous times and really enjoy the food and beer. Basically you are going for the atmosphere and expect bar food.

Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    15
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palmyra, Virginia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“My kind of casual kickback”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I like this place! Have been there twice now, once in cooler weather when the only option was indoor dining. Loved the kitschy decorations (lots of Shrek stuff/beachy stuff) and the wait staff was friendly. Menu is varied, and prices are good. Both times we were there for lunch and enjoyed our meal. Today we had the option of half a sandwich and a side salad. You could select from any cold sandwich and any of their several salads. It's a very good meal for a good price. And today we sat outside, enjoying the boats going by and sharing the porch with people and their pups. Just my kind of place for an afternoon getaway.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Went down hill”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were once regulars at Lakeview for many years and know the owners very well... We have not been at the restaurant for the past two years and then decided to take friends to dinner last night and was shocked how much the restaurant has gone down hill since we were last there! The menu once had a really nice choice of dinners and the food was really good but the food is now "bar food" and you have to have to be drunk to not notice how bad the food is.

I ordered the cod and French fries...at one time this was a really tasty dinner with big pieces of fresh cod that flaked and was beer battered, but now the cod is processed fish patties that I could buy from the supermarket but I could cook it better than they did and the French fries tasted freezer burned....it was horrible!

The waitress was even worse than the food...if that was possible! She took forever to serve us and even longer to refill our drinks. We had a party of 6 so the tip was automatically placed on the bill, which was never the case before...no wonder she sucked because she was getting a tip no matter what! The appetizer was served on a paper plate( what the heck ????) and the portions were much smaller than before as well...my husband ordered the cheese steak that was really good before but was on a smaller bun now and was just ok...not worth the price.

The restaurant upstairs has a screened in patio that was at one time a nice place to eat but now looks like a run down seedy redneck bar...i was waiting for the strippers to come dancing by.

Really a big disappointment and we were embarrassed that we took our friends there...never again! I will take them to Hardees before Lakeview!!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Thewilburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotsylvania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rude Rude Rude!”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Simply said everyone from the managment to select wait staff treated us very unproffessionally and rudely. After waiting for our carry out order to take with us we decided the treatment we recieved had warranted us refusing the food and demanding a refund, we had lost our appetite.
They refused to refund our money. We left the unopend food order with the wait staff and left. The next morning we called to speak to the owner / manager ? and after a conversation on the phone where he found it necassary to use foul language to express himself in a normal coversation, he concluded that our treatment and thus refusal to accept the food order did not constitute a refund. We are full time Lakers and will not be returning to the establishment.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Hickoryshade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere. Not so great food.”
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Stopped by for q weekday lunch. Ate outside at the No Wake Zone, because the resteraunt up stairs was too food and it was a beauty of a day. NWZ only had bottled water, where we were just getting two glasses of water upstairs when we decided to go downstairs-??? Anyway, I had the spinach salad. Bagged baby spinach from the Food Lion with a FEW cranberries and walnuts sprinkled on it. No Bacon, as the menu promised. Blue cheese was served in a separate cup (yay!) to add or not. $7.50...not a great value. Hubby's BLT was ok, but he wanted a fried egg on it and was told they don't do breakfast items. Probably a great spot on weekend nights, but other than eating by the water, NWZ doesn't have much to offer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bappraiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakeview Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing